We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good beer”
Review of Clarens Brewery

Clarens Brewery
Ranked #2 of 31 Restaurants in Clarens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$7
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: On-site micro brewery and distillery offering great craft beers, ciders and gin in fun,industrial setting. Food menu is mainly finger food - think platters of sausages, delicious hams and salami, cheese, local bakery bread.
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good beer”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Nothing better after a long drive than to hit a micro brewery. Really good blonde! And my gf enjoyed the apple cider.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adama34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    245
    66
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wilderness, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Craft beer”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The free tasting menu is excellent, and my non beer-drinking wife was tempted by the wheat beer.
A warm welcome, up-to-date decor and a wide range of delicious beers and reasonably priced menu all add up to a winning formula in this trendy little Free State gem.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank allan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Must visit”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Well a visit to Clarens would not be a visit if one doesn't like us spend great lazy afternoon at this fine Brewery. Great range of Beers and charming little snack Menu. Went back on Monday to to buy some to take home. Service despite being busy was also great.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Etisalat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberley, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always a winner”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Lovely little brewery. They offer tasters so that you may decide which your favourite beer or cider is. Their menu is a selection of wonderful German sausages, cheeses, breads, pickles and relishes. Well worth a visit!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a place!!!!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Upon arriving for our 3 day meet up with friends we came through to the brewery and we were greet by Mark and Aiden. What a great bunch of guys. The night before we left I felt obligated to stop by, gave a beer and say goodbye. Felt like home. Can't wait to go back

Helpful?
Thank Brad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clarens Brewery also viewed

 
Clarens, Free State
 

Been to Clarens Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing