We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2200 m above sea-level among the antilopes”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clarens
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Gate Highlands National Park Highlands Mountain Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Bern
Level Contributor
214 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“2200 m above sea-level among the antilopes”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Wooden chalets on the mountainside with view into the Leshoto mountains and towards the Drakensberge. It can get fresh, so you may want to use the fireplace in the house - the wood is ready. Fully equipped kitchen with fridge and water-boiler. Complet ensuite bathroom, plenty of space in the lounge and bedroom. Only 3 hours from Johannesburg International Airport - a perfect first or last nights stop on your trip. Different antilopes can be spotted from your chalet on this altitude - even more on a game drive down in the valley. Probably the best place to spot the rather shy Eland - the biggest antilope of all.

Room Tip: Chalet Nr. 5 is close to the parking lot - therefore easy if you have luggage to carry around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    28
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I spent three days with my family at Golden Gate Highlands. We were accomodated in Cabins 1 & 5. The first had a better view, though the other was a little more comfortable, even though it was meant to accomodate only 2/3 people, instead of 4. Cabin 1 had two suites, each with its one bathroom, while Cabin 5 had one bedroom and a sleeping couch in the living room.
The place is up on a mountain and has to be accessed by driving up through some steep narrow roads, We had two car rentals, each carrying several suitcases, which meant we were heavy. Our cars had a 1.5 engine, came almost short on their way up there. If possible, I recommend to those planning to visit to get a car with a bigger engine.
The place is super quite, with no internet connection. This makes it an ideal place to rest. We had bad weather, which meant we spent most of our time reading, napping, and sharing family time. Unfortunately, we had no opportunity to go hiking or explore much around. Fog and rain made it difficult, and even dangerous, to move around much.
Each cabin is very well equipped, with plates, bowls, cooking gadgets, etc.
Be prepared as this is a self-catered place, and the local grocery store (a 20 minute drive away, close to the Golden Gate Hotel) has little to offer. You better do some shopping beforehand.
I am very glad we got to stay here. It was on our way to Johannesburg from Knysna.
3 days up in the mountain... equals 10 in any other place. With no internet and a few tv channels, rest is 100% guaranteed.
Critique: very poor lightning in every cabin, all over. It made it difficult to cook and even read,

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank agusbicho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Honest truth is if we didn't win this in a travel expo I probably would never have visited this amazing little talked about ,mountainous park nestled on the southern side of the Drakensberg Mountains, The Golden Gate National Park. The scenes are breath taking and the drive to the hotel is almost like a journey in an adventure movie; just when you think you have seen the best of rocks and meanders, another one shoots up in front of you. We even got to see wild horses! BUT my real surprise was The Golden Gate Hotel itself; The location, the architecture, the size of the rooms, the view from the rooms facing the mountains, the staff and the meals were all of 5 star quality. And a short drive to Clarens town opens you to options of gift shops and pleasant restaurants. Loved it! One month later and I am already selling it to my clients who knew little about it.....

Room Tip: try the mountain facing rooms, amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

As we had just come down from Johannesburg, ans had never seen wildlife before this was a wonderfull experience.
The mountain retreat is really well hidden on a mountain, you do need a good car to get there, and some food as it is quite far from the hotel and city Clarance.
When we reached the gate we couldnt believe the little road that took us to the lodge, during our ride we saw wild animals, what was a fantastic experience for us.
The lodges are well hidden in the mountain, all made from wood, even the cars are hidden under wooden garages.
The lodges all have fantastic vieuws over the mountains. Privacy I think is very well thought of, as you feel and see noboby at all, even though we knew all the lodges were fully booked. We had a fabulous veranda, with a braai and inside was a fire place, loved it!!

We had only time to stay for two days, but if would live in this country I would spent all my holidays here, just amazing.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rvanenst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarens
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Clarens
Protea Hotel Clarens
#2 of 4 in Clarens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.0 mi away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Golden Gate Hotel
Golden Gate Hotel
#6 of 30 in Clarens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kiara Lodge
Kiara Lodge
#3 of 30 in Clarens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Clarens Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Gate Highlands National Park Highlands Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate Highlands National Park Highlands Mountain Retreat

Property: Golden Gate Highlands National Park Highlands Mountain Retreat
Address: Golden Gate Highlands National Park | Private Bag x3, Clarens 9707, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Clarens
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Clarens
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Gate Highlands National Park Highlands Mountain Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing