We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sir Henry's Guest Houses
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Protea Hotel Clarens(Clarens)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Thendele Hutted camp(uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Harrismith Inn(Harrismith)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
43
29
9
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
29
9
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houseb bthe ownercomplimentary sherrybe visiting againlovely guesthousebreakfast was deliciousfriendly servicewonderful stayenjoyed our staygardenfireplacewoodtownpatioweekendaccommodation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We had the most wonderful stay at Sir Henry's - from the moment I sent through the initial request for accommodation through to the delicious breakfast on departure we received only 5 star treatment. Immaculate attention to detail is given to everything at this B&B and I highly recommend it should you be visiting Clarens. Setting is magnificent, rooms tastefully decorated, breakfast devine. Thank you Casper we will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We stayed two nights. Very comfortable, well fitted and clean rooms, with excellent subtle touches.Superb breakfasts without being over the top. Very pretty, well kept gardens, but perhaps a reclining lounger would go well. The dog Bully, is as soft as the proverbial stuff, despite his size ! Within easy walking distance of the village on a dirt road. If you like live music, and I'm talking about R&B etc not rap etc, then Friends is the place - at 64 you couldn't prise me away...the steaks there are excellent both in quality and value. Clarens seems to be very safe and we had no qualms about walkking to/from the village during darkness. Highly recommended. For an excellent lunch on the R711 between Clarens /Fourisberg try the Oranje Guest Farm.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeCBansteadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

My husband and I stayed for two nights in April 2011. We had a lovely room, quite spacious, and incredibly quiet. The property is located on a cul-de-sac, so very tranquil. Just a very short car ride to the main square or a nice walk if not raining. The breakfasts were AMAZING...so diverse and filling...as others have mentioned it did last us all day! The owner (and chef) accommodated our vegetarian requests and was attentive and thoughtful to our needs. I can highly recommend this place. And don't be frightened by Bully...he is a big teddy bear!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAR001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

The Guest House is set amid beautiful, tranquil gardens. The rooms are large and well-appointed with guest robes, fireplace, etc. The place is within walking distance of downtown Clarens and set next to a stream and mountain. The manager formerly worked at the Savoy in London and is a fabulous chef. We had the most elegant breakfast ever, different from one day to the next. It is a lovely place for a romantic, relaxing getaway. We'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vohara9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

The rooms are comfortable, spacious and tastefully decorated in different themes. The setting is in the garden of the main property with views of the surrounding mountains. Located away from the centre of Clarens but within walking distance of restaurants. The breakfast is a feast and enough to last all day.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DomGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews