We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Balfour Beach Inn & Motel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Kokanee Glacier Resort(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mermaid Lodge & Motel(Ainsworth Hot Springs)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Motel(Nelson)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hume Hotel & Spa(Nelson)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
2
4
0
5
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
4
0
5
12
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2010

The Balfour Beach Inn is a modest motel style accommodation. The rooms have a kitchenette though they are well within the average price for a room without. The restaurant and bar have a cozy local flair. The view of the lake from the deck is truly lovely, the entire setting is a great experience. If you are looking for a nice place to hang out and enjoy a few drinks in the evening, watch sports or listen to live music you will appreciate the lounge. There is also a marina and boat launch if that is what you are looking for. If you keep in mind the nature of this beach motel and aren't expecting a 4 or 5 star hotel the rooms are acceptable. Also because they have at least one bedroom if not two and a living room and kitchenette, they are a great value. Worth a look if you aren't too prissy.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shambalamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights in Feb on a ski tour, and found the staff to be sincere and friendly, This Hotel is a true gem for it has a good room, that steps out to fantastic scenery where wild life abounds, including Eagles, Osprey, Herons. The food in the restruant and in the Bar is excellent. The coffee shop was great in the morning for clearing the cobwebs, take a egg sandwich to go they were super. We were able to grab a few pizzas from the bar for a great late night snack. Can't wait to go back

Location could not be better you are two minutes off the ferry, from the east side of the Kootney lake, Nelson is 25 minutes away (Ski) , and the drive north to Kaslo and on to Revelstoke (ski) was very enjoyable, scenary and land scapes similar to the ones we enjoyed at the Balfour Beach Inn.

Great value for your dollar, has it all in one stop. Food, views, skiing and a good people.

Nolan

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nolan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2010

We booked a room here because we were attending a wedding at a nearby lodge which was already completely booked up for the weekend. The front enterance to our room was COVERED in cob webs and huge disgusting spiders.. it was clear that this room had not even been entered in atleast a month! Inside it smelled musty and like old cigarette smoke.. everything was very dirty and worn...the beds were hard and the bathroom had just as many spiders living it as the front door did. My nieces and nephews came running and screaming at the sight of the pool.. the water was green and brown in color. Unfortunately everyone from my family also booked here and all rooms were in the same condition. I slept in the car, and I think everyone had left the property by 5am because we all had not slept! Do not stay here.. the only nice part is the beautiful view of the water and the ferries going by.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missbctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2009

Sleeping rooms beyond being simply tired. Upon entering, room had musty odour, killed 19 cedar beetles, and plumbing/.appliances generally in poor repair and/or non-functional. Would definitely not recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllanMac2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

This is a tired out old motel charging $100.00 a night for $40.00 a night value. The carpets are filthy, the combo stove and refridgerator were rusted and not working ( no fridge ,1 element worked ) A second bar fridge was provided. The futon that serves as the second bed and front room couch was threadbare and worn out. There was no hot water the first morning we were there. There was a boil water advisory for the Balfour water district. A responsible and caring operator would have provided drinking water for their paying guests. At $100.00 a night a bottle or two of clean water should not be an outrageous expense for the operator. No phone , no clock, no iron, not much competition in the area allows substandard motels like this one to stay in operation. Go somewhere else and spend your holiday dollars !

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pontiactraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews