We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a free ride!”

Kootenay Lake Ferry
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Balfour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
211 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Take a free ride!”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We were surprised at the big rigs and giant motor homes rolling off the ferry as we waited to drive aboard. I had no idea either the lake or the ferry would be so large. We enjoyed the break from driving and savoring cool breezes as we cruised across the waters. Such a ride and for free! Wow!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChinaLake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    26
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Longest free ride”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

It was pretty fast. We expected long line ups. When you arrive there is a cafe and the lake you can dip in while you wait.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Edamommy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful Scenery!”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This ferry was an awesome break to driving the mountain roads. It is only a 30 min ride but it is well worth it! The scenery is stunning!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank the5brs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
185 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“It might be a car ferry but we felt like we are on a lake cruise.”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Riding the Kootenay Lake Ferry from Balfour to Crawford Lake primarily exists to ferry traffic across the lake so they can continue on the British Columbia Highway System. But additionally this is a free boat ride on a very scenic lake. Kootenay Lake is very scenic and you have plenty of time to get out of your vehicle, climb up to the upper deck, breathe the lake air and take in the lake scenery as you and your vehicle make their way across the lake. The trip takes about 45 minutes to cross, the crew is fast and efficient loading and unloading pedestrians and vehicles which they have down to a science. Ferry's leave frequently throughout the day and we were quite impressed with the operation of the BC Ferry system as well as the treat of riding the ferry across this beautiful lake.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BorealForestDweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, British Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Day trip to Crawford Bay to visit the Artisans”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The most beautiful crossing of the lake and it is free and on both side their are things to do while waiting for the ferry so no lengthy, boring time spent.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kootenay Lake Ferry also viewed

Ainsworth Hot Springs, Kootenay Rockies
Ainsworth Hot Springs, Kootenay Rockies
 
Ainsworth Hot Springs, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Kootenay Lake Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing