We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kootenay Lakeview Spa Resort & Event Centre
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Balfour
Certificate of Excellence
Ajax
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular View”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The lodge is absolutely beautiful and I wish I had been able to be there longer. I watched the beautiful sunset then the amazing sunrise from my balcony. It was so tranquil and peaceful and a truly magical place. The room was very comfortable and clean, The staff was extremely friendly and took great care of me. I was only there for one short night and had to leave early in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    13
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
16
26
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We spent a couple nights here in July 2014 for a wedding. The staff were very friendly and the views were incredible. The facilities are good but you get the feeling that very little has changed in the place in a long time. If you arrive expecting posh, you'll be disappointed but if you're expecting rustic you'll probably be comfortable. The rooms are dated with only the basics and there was no wifi but I was able to get a good cellular signal during my entire stay. We stayed in room 104 which is actually down a level from the parking lot. That really sucked with an infant and stroller. The second floor is level with the parking lot and can be accessed without stairs and would be a much better choice. Room 104 is also the only room on the main floor that doesn't have stairs off the balcony in the back so we had to walk around the entire hotel just to get to the green space that our friends in the neighboring rooms could access with a couple steps. I would ask for any room other than 104 if I was to stay there again. Definitely the least desirable room in the building. Room keys are good old fashioned keys. It's annoying having only one key for two people in a room.

The surroundings are beautiful with lush greens and great views of the lake. With a packed scheduled we didn't get to explore the area as much as I'd like.

The lodge is decent with an acceptable continental breakfast in the morning. I get the feeling they host a lot of weddings as the tents next to the lodge are visible in every photo I've seen of the place. The staff were great for the wedding with some small town charm and good humor. I would encourage other friends to consider the venue.

Room Tip: Avoid room 104 if possible. It's down stairs from the parking lot and the only room on the botto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiscad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

A very nice find. The facilities were very clean. Friendly staff, coffee in the room, nice private decks for each room overlooking Kootenay Lake - wonderful therapy! And these is a shared BBQ should you be inclined to just hand out and do your own thing. Close to the Balfour Ferry and the local crafts, bakery, pub and cafes, not to mention about a five minute walk to the golf course. If you are in the area, and its only about 15 minutes from Ainsworth Hot Springs, we feel its THE place to stay.

Room Tip: If you need special arrangements or local information talk to Reg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawson Creek, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My husband and I had our wedding there in July and had the best experience! Reg was more than helpful during the planning process through phone calls and emails, and it all came together perfectly once we arrived. Stephanie did a fantastic job decorating the tents and tables and it was great not having to worry about anything once we got there. It's a gorgeous setting and private so it's just guests at the wedding there for the weekend but in a good location that is easy to get to and find.
The view from the rooms is amazing and a great way to wake up the day of your wedding; and the honeymoon suite is huge and was the perfect space for the girls and I to get ready.
The reception went off without a hitch thanks to their attention to detail and experience in hosting weddings; the food was amazing, the set up of the tents was perfect for the guest to mill about around the area and Reg kept the party going with his killer DJ skills. Midnight pizza was a huge hit and a must for weddings as well!
I couldn't have asked for anything better for my wedding day and I would highly, highly recommend having your wedding there! I'm sure we'll be back for weekend trips in the future :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cara U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Great area, great hotel. If you are looking for a lot of activity and night life, this is probably not the place for you but this is a great relaxing low key place to stay. Beautiful views of the mountains and the lake. Large well equipped room. Basic continental breakfast included. Was not busy season (after the long weekend in Sept.) so did not make reservation. Rate provided was below what I would have paid for online. Very accomodating and personable at check in. Has free mini golf on site. No pool or hot tub. Adjacent to Balfour golf course which is very nice and affordable. Both the golf and hotel are a much better deal than across the lake at Kokanee Springs.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlaneLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This is a beautiful place with an amazing view of the lake. We were there for a wedding. Prior to our arrival, we had many changes, Reg and Stephanie were unbelievably accommodating! They were the best hosts! It was great to finally meet them. Reg is the owner, Inn Keeper, host, organizer and master DJ--thanks for the Pitt Bull!

Room Tip: Choose one with a view of the lake. The rooms are fairly sound proof but if you are sensitive to so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edamommy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Our family stayed for three nights at the lodge. The adjoining rooms were comfortable with the king room having a fridge and seating area with pullout sofa. I think the 2nd and third floors have a better view of the lake but the property has lovely views of the mountains from each room's patio.
One reason we booked here was the restaurant was was advertised to be open from 4-9 pm and we were coming in after 6. Too bad it was only open on weekends even though the sign out front advertised pizza night on the Tuesday we arrived. Very strange. They have very few bookings during the week, even so there was no soap or shampoo in the rooms and housekeeping only came once during our stay. The continental breakfast was available and the coffee was great. Don't expect too much unless you are there for a weekend wedding or golf outing. August is supposed to be their big month with evening entertainment. Too bad were missed out.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mars06074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balfour
17.5 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
668 reviews
20.0 mi away
Kaslo Hotel
Kaslo Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kaslo
125 reviews
17.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 10 in Nelson
261 reviews
16.4 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
182 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ainsworth Motel
Ainsworth Motel
#1 of 3 in Ainsworth Hot Springs
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kootenay Lakeview Spa Resort & Event Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kootenay Lakeview Spa Resort & Event Centre

Property: Kootenay Lakeview Spa Resort & Event Centre
Address: 1285 Queens Bay Road, Balfour, British Columbia V0G 1C0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Balfour
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Balfour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kootenay Lakeview Spa Resort & Event Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful lakeside community of Queens Bay in Balfour British Columbia near Nelson, The Kootenay Lakeview Spa Resort & Event Centre's all-suite guest rooms all offer the most tremendous views of Kootenay Lake and the Purcell mountain range. Balfour is home to the longest and most scenic free ferry ride in British Columbia and is also known to have outstanding fishing, hiking and outdoor recreation. Kootenay Lakeview Spa Resort & Event Centre is the preferred accommodator of the Balfour 18-hole Championship Golf Course and offers complimentary golf to guests on our onsite Eagleview Executive golf course. The 58.45 pristine acres of resort grounds is located off Queens Bay road at the Balfour Ferry landing, in Nelson, near Ainsworth hotsprings, Kaslo and other popular tourist hotspots. We are the areas leader in weddings and events, creating unique experiences that will last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kootenay Lakeview Spa Resort & Event Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing