We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rejuvenation for MIND.BODY.SOUL”
Review of Ayuryogashram

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thrissur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ayuryogashram
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Thrissur
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Just returned home after spending 21 days at Ayuryogashram. It was definitely a place to be if you're seeking for a sanctuary to rest your MIND.BODY.SOUL. The entire team (therapist, cleaners, kitchen staff, doctors, office staff, etc) was very caring and made my stay pleasant & comfortable. Everyone treats you with love & sincerity. The rooms are spacious, clean with cable TV and the food is yummy although I didn't know what I was eating most of the time ;)

The only drawback is that it gets kinda boring after a while, some activities such as classes on ayurveda, cooking classes, ping pong/ chess corner, weekly tour or something would have been nice. Also to add some fruits + change of different soups on the daily menu would have been nice.

If you're looking to rest with a peaceful and serene environment, go here but as other have highlighted...it is not a resort but it's like a typical homestay of Kerala.

Love the whole experience and treatment + the wonderful people I met over there! Till next time!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Adavid1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpknair, Owner at Ayuryogashram, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Mr. Anthony,

We are thankful to Mr. Anthony David from Malaysia for the very fair observations and frank opinion about the facilities and services that were available at Ayuryogashram during his recent visit . It will now be our concern to ensure that at least some if not all of his suggestions are taken up for implementation immediately,.Thanks once again.

For Ayuryogashram Pr Ltd,
Bindu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
There are newer reviews for Ayuryogashram
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

I had been to this place for a short ayurvedic treatment. My experience

a) Well appointed room with adequate facilities
b) Home made food - not extravagant but just the right thing to have when you are on a treatment
c) Good location away from the bustles of a city / town
d) Excellent and helpful staff (admin, doctors, therapists, kitchen and housekeeping) running the show.
e) reasonably priced; ideal place for a rejuvenation.

As mentioned by the others, do not go there with a resort in mind.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sriram79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

A word of Caution:
This location is not a hotel resort that provides American style luxury accommodation and Ayurveda style massages. It is a retreat that caters for the serious devotee of Ayurveda medicine and it provides a strict vegetarian food diet. It caters for around 15 people in total at any one time and is set in a rural location away from the beach and major tourist attractions.

Review: My wife and I recently spent 28 days having treatment at Ayuryogashram. Overall we were very happy with the quality of the care provided by the doctors and executed by the wonderful team of therapists.

The accommodation is basic but clean and comfortable.

The food is tasty but becomes a bit monotonous after 28 days particularly the same soup and dahl at dinner. For people wanting to loose weight a personal daily diet is prepared by the doctors and administered by the wonderful kitchen team.

Pay TV and WIFI are available at no extra cost. A big bonus when you are isolated!!

All the staff work hard to make you feel happy and at home and nothing is too much trouble.
We were quite sad to leave after having accomplished most of our health goals.

We have fond memories of Ayuryogashram.

My wife found the Yoga teacher unreliable and his English very poor.

I do have some suggested small improvements that would make one's stay more enjoyable and eliminate periods of boredom between treatments:

a) Maintain the gardens and plants for the enjoyment of the guests. Plant out the areas that remain bare near the office and the Yoga centre.

b) Upgrade the pool area with some shading and supply garden furniture with tables and umbrellas on the lawns for the residents to sit and chat before meals.

c) Air Condition the Gym area as it was too hot in the room to work out.

d) Clean/Paint walls in Dining Room and Kitchen containing the light switches.

Overall, The value/cost ratio is very good and the kindness of all the staff helps to overcome the few negatives that exist at Ayuryogashram. We would like to revisit our new friends at some future date.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DFD1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

I went for a short spa there on my way to kochi from Trichy.The place was so serene and away from the busy daily lives . Was there to try out ayurveda treatment for the body. The place was spacious and well laid out, even the room was very clean and comfortable to stay. The attending doctor was very informative and the mode of treatment to undergo for specific ailments. I am planning for a 3 weeks stay there for treatment with relatives who are also keen.The vegetarian food was very good in line with the treatment of ayurveda. The massage was mind blowing and was well execute be the physiotherapist who are well trained and experience.A sure place to stay for treatment for ayurveda and yoga.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vejayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Our 2nd time here - you go back to same place only if you were satisfied - so did we, again for 3 weeks and we just came back rejuvenated and definitely healthier as we had arrived.
A sympathetic atmosphere of an enlarged home stay focused on traditional ayurvedic treatments.
Under the supervision of an external "chief doctor", the 2 resident lady doctors keep you under control and the executive staff applies the treatments under their supervision. Not all treatments prescribed can always be pleasant though, but surely follow certain goals.
The kitchen offers a variety of purely vegetarian Indian dishes that, however, after a while, could result sometimes repetitive, specially the soups. It's not pure ayurvedic cooking, anyway, but a sort of a compromise for westerners , we guess.
Almost all staff was almost always smiling and accommodating and makes you feel at your ease.
The location is somewhat isolated which, however, benefits relaxation and cures.
Good relation between cost and value.

Thanks again to all of Ayuryogashram!

Room Tip: corner room n° 25 at the upper floor of the newer building seems to be the most spacious and most ae...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patsada_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I've spent two days here on the way to Kalamandalam Art School, and it was really my place! Simple but confortable, people were kind and treatments are great. Food is the best: simple, ayurvedic, tipically-indian style from Kerala. Best stop to calm your nerves along busy Indian roads!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Flaneur81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I´ve been to Ayuryogashram twice already and planning to return this year. It´s a very nice, silent and homelike place. The quality of the treatments is very good and the results is great. I realy like the familiar feeling and the food is very healthy and good. The ayurvedic doctors are polite and professional and the staff is very kindly. I like the atmosphere very much and to walk thrue the risfields, small village and to the rubberplantages. For me this is the perfekt ayervedic place to reload my battery, get rid of stress and pain. I also like the yogamaster and his yogatraining. I can varmly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Lovensjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thrissur
0.0 mi away
Kairali - The Ayurvedic Healing Village
0.0 mi away
Joys Palace
Joys Palace
#3 of 28 in Thrissur
333 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Garuda Hotel
The Garuda Hotel
#5 of 28 in Thrissur
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lulu International Convention Centre & Garden Hotels
0.0 mi away
Niya Regency
Niya Regency
#6 of 28 in Thrissur
129 reviews
0.0 mi away
Athreya Ayurvedic Centre
Athreya Ayurvedic Centre
#1 of 28 in Kottayam
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayuryogashram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayuryogashram

Address: Parlikad - P.O., Vadakanchery | TRISSUR DIST, Kerala India, Thrissur 680623, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thrissur District > Thrissur
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Thrissur
Price Range: £58 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ayuryogashram,is a Green leaf classified ayurvedic health resort functioning since Sept 2001 in a place called Parlikad, near Trissur the cultural capital of the state,a green valley with vast expanse of open paddy fields on two sides of the National highway and railway and rubber plantations and small hillocks bordering it. Spread across about 2.37 acres of land, the centre has tall trees,sprawling lawns,and a small swimming pool in between the quadrangle separating the two buildings in the campus, one providing for the drawing and living rooms, besides kitchen and dining facilities and treatment rooms, dispensary and additional living rooms, steam bath facilities etc in the other. We provide decent double bedded rooms with AC, TV, Phone, Fridge(in suite only) with common sit outs and attached bath rooms for the stay of our guests. Our F & B includes morning tea/coffee, breakfast, lunch,afternoon tea/coffee and dinner(all Kerala type veg cuisine) Additional facilities available are swinging chairs in the garden, Hammock(removed due to rains) ,and a parnasala type hall for yoga sessions,a small library with books on various subjects of interest, and a P C with broadband connection in the lounge for the common use of our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ayuryogashram Kerala/Thrissur, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing