We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Mas Sarrat”
Review of Pagel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Catus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pagel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Myself, my husband and our then 2 year old spent a magical week in the brand newly renovated ( to highest standard!) Thyme Cottage. All dealings with our charming host Fiona in advance were a pleasure and when we got there, nothing was too much trouble. We won't forget Fionn's squeals of delight when we went into the house and found a range of fantastic age appropriate toys and our own delight at the lovely kitchen, master bedroom, stunning views over the valley and the trampoline, on which we had hours of fun with Fionn. The playbarn was a child's paradise and the chef at home service an adult's treat.

We got on well with the lovely family in the adjoining house and Fionn trailed around after their ( patient!) 4 year old. Goes without saying that we are booked in again for 2014 and we are counting down the days to meeting the goats, chickens, sunsets, trampoline and Fiona again!

Laura, Jaime and Fionn, Dublin

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

We have visited Pagel 3s time and are already booked in for our 4th visit next year which in itself speaks volumes. Pagel is a peaceful oasis where children of all ages can run free, dress up, play, make dens, catch lizards and have adventures while the parents collaboratively keep a watchful eye whilst enjoying some R & R themselves. The only real noise is the sound children having fun - what more could a parent want. No Kidz club, no morning aqua aerobics, or cheesey evening disco. All the fun is created by the children and parents and each stay for us has been different but thoroughly enjoyable.

Hidden away in the south of France, Mark and Lara have created a down to earth family holiday environment with optional extras to bring the luxury to the door of your gite. Nothing is too much for the wonderful team who attend on a daily basis. Manicure, pedicure, massage, chef for the night, babysitter, taxi to the local Michelin Star restaurant etc. These are all available at reasonable rates. If you want a sterile 5 star environment where all the entertainment is laid on thick, then this is not the place for you. This holiday is about like minded parents getting together and allowing our children to have fun. It allows are children to breathe and make up games without the need for "entertainer" or ipads.

Every year has been different, we came with pre-school children the first year in mid September and the trend was to go to the playbarn where the little ones had fun and e would wsit and read keeping a watchful eye. As children get older then their freedom is greater, whether a pirate adventure, looking for lizards, or girly gossips away from the parents. The swimming pool is gated so completely secure and enough sunbeds for all, an area wonderfully shady for the little ones and a perfect paddling pool for the pre-swimmers. All parents abide by the rule that no child is allowed in without an adult there. Again joint parental cooperation means you can pop back to your gites and know another parent will keep an eye on yours and vice versa.

As mentioned we have stayed three time in different gites. Upper wildwood is a large upper gites which we found surprisingly cool. It looked over the area where the pool was and as I had a young baby who napped frequently I found it useful to be able to sit on balcony and look over the pool and not miss magical moments between daddy and my older daughter. Precarious stone steps so better for confident walkers or babes in arms.

Our second visit found us at lower wildwood which we thought was perfect. Ground floor, we were happy to let our nearly 3 year old go wandering down to the play barn and be able to see her. Good space and again cool.

This year we got a last minute (by that I mean three months ahead – you have to book this place early!!) cancellation for Wisteria. I was slightly apprehensive about the size as I had never seen it before (you tend to end up snooping at all the gites during your stay). It is slightly more compact than the other gites but not noticeably so. The kitchen work space is about same and the twin room slightly more compact but to be honest shortly after breakfast our children were out having fun and playing briefly returning for lunch and tea dragging them in late at night after film night, pyjama party etc. I was unaware of any real noise above.

The location of Wisteria is idyllic with the most breathtaking views of the beautiful sunsets. It was unsurprising that we were the most popular gites for after dinner drinks and chat with the other parents. Great friendships have been formed at Pagel and we look forward to our visit next year and we may even book one of the Moomba lodges for the future (as mentioned we had a look peak this year as they are new).

Hoping to squeeze in a few more visits in the coming years.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bandsmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We have stayed at Pagel 4 times now and our holidays there have become part of our family's history! The gites are well set up, not only catering for children with equipment, but also lots of nice touches like pretty chandeliers, really nice pictures, books to borrow etc. the best thing about Pagel is the freedom the children have to run around the site and become a little gang over the course of the stay. They make plans together and whilst we were there this time families organised a mini talent competition, kids' "disco" and treasure hunt. So relaxing to be with like-minded families in beautiful, natural surroundings. We have seen cheaper similar accommodation in France, but I'm not sure the standard of accommodation, personal touches and lovely, properly-heated pool would be the same. No hesitation recommending Pagel! We've just visited our last time as our boys are at the top end of the range, being 10 and 7, although they we're fine this last stay.

Room Tip: With slightly older children we have always preferred the upper gites for better views and maybe als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We have stayed at Pagel now three times, twice in summer holidays, August 2013 and July 2012, and also in May 2013 half term. All three times we stayed in Goldilocks, with our two children, 5&4.

The site is outstanding, beautiful, well thought out and has everything a child, or parent could need! We prefer Goldilocks, as the only gite completely on its own, but not so far away that you feel left out. Views of the pool and some play areas also helps! It does get hot in summer months due to position, and being a log cabin!

The kids loved the pool, the pirate ship, trampolines, play barn but most of all the freedom to play safely, make friends and explore to their hearts content, with parents standing and watching from afar quite often!

We loved the relaxed vibe, friendly people and catering options!! Cook food in the freezer, honesty wine to select from, chef for a night, BBQ, English babysitters so we could go out for dinner, local markets, the lake and pedalos 5 minutes drive, a massage in the gite, the list goes on and on...

We didn't miss tv, which we feared we might, but enjoyed spending time as a family, pagel is magical, and I don't like telling people about it, it's already pretty full for 2014 I hear, so I need to get organised for 2015 I guess!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica_Ing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

As a family we have been to Pagel on 4 occassions and have booked again for 2015 (2014 was already fully booked).

We initially heard of Pagel from someone who had been and we were attracted by the provision of baby equipment, making it possible to travel to France via plane and not having to pay £100s in excess baggage for all the baby accessories required for day to day life (sterilisers, baby monitors, cots, push chairs, etc). By a stroke of luck there was free week in late September 2009 so we booked the week.

Pagel did not fail to deliver, we had a fantastic holiday, it made the holiday easy not having to take everything for our youngest (who was less than 1), we were very taken with the facilities and the ethos of the place. The children had an amazing holiday, especially our eldest daughter who was almost 4 at the time, and it was also a very relaxing holiday for us. The accommodation is nicely furnished, clean and spacious and the various play equipment around the site is enjoyed by all the children in residence. The swimming pool is lovely and is probably where we spend the majority of our holiday!

Pagel is situated in a beautiful part of France and should you be lucky enough to persuade the children to leave Pagel (we generally get two very sulky faces in the back of the car when we dare to go offsite and drag the children away from all their new friends) there are some great places locally to explore. Rocamadour and the monkey park is always a favourite trip of ours and there are some nice local markets to visit. There are some fantastic restaurants locally too although the BBQ night and chef for the night at Pagel mean you can enjoy some great food on site too.

After our initial holiday, we returned a year later for a week in 2010, two weeks in 2011 and a further week in 2013. We have found the place to have a different feel dependant on when you stay. Our first two holidays were out of the main school summer holiday times but we have also had holidays in peak summer season. We initially thought that Pagel's USP was the provision of toys, equipment etc for babies and young children and whilst that was fantastic for us when our children were small, we have subsequently found that as the children have got older (currently 7 & 4) the place really comes into its own. The Pagel site is nestled in a valley in beautiful grounds and the children have enjoyed a certain degree of freedom to explore, play and make new friends that is perhaps not available to them at other holiday locations and here in the UK. As parents, being on holiday is not always the relaxing experience that you hope for, but Pagel manages to cater not only for the children but adults too.

The Bishop's have created a fantastic place with ample equipment for all age ranges. The equipment is constantly updated as things obviously get broken or become tired due to the usage that they must get. The facilities have changed over the years and there is ample equipment for the number of children on site.

All in all Pagel is a magical place and fantastic family holidays await all those who are lucky enough to secure a booking here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed at Pagel last spring and I have to say it was a magical experience. Our children of 4 and 1 had a ball in the secure grounds and loved the freedom and all the fantastic touches the Pagel team put together for them. The children BBQ was delightful and a great way to bond the kids for the rest of the week. We also thoroughly enjoyed the chef for a night option which we shared with 2 other gites - a great way to enjoy the peace and tranquillity of Pagel at night. We also liked the Cook food on offer which made last minute dinners a breeze. The gite (Lower Wildwood) itself was beautifully decorated and fantastically appointed with toys, books, outfits and all we needed for the kids. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alistair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed in Goldilocks for a week in August 2013 with our 7 year old daughter, and 2 year old son. Our first visit to Pagel. Whilst still there we booked up again to return. In 20 years we have never revisited a holiday (before or after having children). We have also never booked so far in advance.

We took the ferry crossing to Dieppe, stayed in Rouen for 2 nights on route, and arrived at Pagel early evening. There is no denying it is a long drive but it is also a magical adventure.
Plenty of the other reviews highlight all the things to be found at Pagel, as does the website so I will not detail those, except to say everything has been thought of and the website is very accurate.

There is little point comparing Pagel to anything that it is not – a 5 star tour operator resort (with kids clubs), a holiday camp, a Disney theme park, and so on. There is a time and a place for all sorts of holidays, but the time for children to be children is both priceless and gone in a flash. This is what makes Pagel so special. Like anything, you might find it cheaper elsewhere but you won't find Pagel! The location is beautiful, peaceful and a lovely escape from the everyday.

Our 2 year old son still constantly talks about the big boat, the holiday house with a train set and the loud thunder storm. Our daughter talks about playing out until the sun went down, the friends made, the party they planned, and special times had.

We didn't feel the need to explore a great deal, we were far too relaxed drinking wine, reading books, listening to music.......but there is plenty to do outside of Pagel. We did venture out to the castle which is well worth a visit. We visited the market, local shops & supermarket and needed little else. The family barbeque night was superb.

I was a litle worried just before we left - is it all about the children? will we miss the beach? is it too far? what if we don't like the other guests? (!), will the children miss a kids club? will they make friends? Will we miss being catered for when we so really needed a break? I need not have bothered. It wasn't just about the children, it was about our family, and time needed to just 'be'. I totally forgot about the beach and it wasn't too far. We suggested to the children for the next visit we might fly instead of the boat - they were devastated! The other guests were all lovely, the children made wonderful friends in an instant. We bought fresh lovely food and ate in our own time at our pace. We didn't queue for anything or have to be anywhere at any particular time.

At first the only regret was that our daughter was 7 by the time we had a first visit. But now actually I'm glad because the other holiday's we had prior to Pagel have meant we can fully appreciate how relaxing a holiday with children can be, and how much fun.

Forever memories are those of children that you can't see - all you can hear echoing around are their giggles, their laughter and their freedom as they run around the open space of Pagel.

Room Tip: Loved Goldilocks, but all the gites and tents looked fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Pagel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pagel

Address: 46150 Catus, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Lot > Catus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Catus
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Through Pagel, and other locations, Mas Sarrat, we aim to provide unique baby, toddler and child friendly holiday locations focussed on families and booked only to families with young children. Our ethos is to provide small familial safe places which allow your children to run free and play amongst nature, making friends and exploring their own imaginations, moving from one play zone to another, from play barn to pirate ship to the Indian village, and on. To create a magical place that allows families to spend time together, create memories that last a lifetime and to have fun and laughter!Children have all the toys, play equipment and imaginative play areas but there are also treats for Mummy and Daddy too. We offer a ‘Chef for the Night’ service, a weekly BBQ, massages, manicures and pedicures, mid stay cleans, welcome baskets, wine, adult seating areas, shaded areas with sofas near the pool, English baby sitters and COOK food. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pagel France/Catus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing