We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best”

Baan Rabiang Nam or River Tree House
Ranked #1 of 721 Restaurants in Nonthaburi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$12
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Cosy, charming and romantic riverside restaurant in a fantastic natural setting by the Chaopraya river offering a wide menu of delicious thai & seafood dishes at very reasonable prices.
Nantes, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

best food, best people, best location on the river. I love this place. Thanks a lot and see you next time

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fredverdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    104
    20
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The BEST in Bangkok”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

A nice way to enjoy a 40 minute trip by river boat (taxi). Once arrived at destination they can pick you up to take you to the restaurant as well as take you back to the boat. Ask for directions.

Unvelibably good, fresh and so flavourful dishes. The best I ever had in Bangkok with a beautiful setting to match. DO NOT miss it, you'll be happy to have tried it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Fernando C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent setting, very good food and good value”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Went up river on our last night in a Bangkok to River Tree House. Caught the yellow flag express river boat to Nonthaburi, then a taxi to Nonthaburi Soi 23. We did have a Thai language map which helped the taxi driver, although the restaurant is quite well shown on google maps which I could have used to direct him. We drove down the Soi to the little alley opposite a Wat that leads to the restaurant, then walked in. We could perhaps have caught the complimentary motorised transport provided by the restaurant at the start of the Soi, but we had driven in close enough to walk so we did.

There is a beautiful garden setting at the entrance to the restaurant which continues right through to the rivers edge. The restaurant was a but bigger than I had imagined and it's an attractive wooden building with a few different seating areas that has a beautiful open feel. We were seated in the open near the riverside, so the river life was right in front of us, although the activity was rapidly diminishing as dusk turned into darkness, very beautiful.

The menu is focused on seafood and we were happy to order grilled large prawns, pomelo salad with prawns and prawns with lemongrass salad. Sounds a bit boring but it wasn't . Followed that with fried mullet with green mango and steamed snapper with chilli, lime and garlic. Flavours were fantastic for all dishes. Oh, a few singhas thrown in for good measure. Service was very good and the bill was quite reasonable at B1860.

Only downside was getting a taxi on the main road that would take us back to Sukhumvit. It is obviously a fair way out of the way at night for local taxi drivers, but as usual in Thailand, money talks so we paid a bit over the odds for the taxi, but a minor glitch all things considered.

Definitely recommend this restaurant, a beautiful setting, great food and quite reasonably priced and would be delighted to try it again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mjshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sensational food and ambiance”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We traveled quite a long way to try thus restaurant that we keep hearing about. Wow it was worth it. Try to get there 5.30 ish to enjoy the views of the river. It was booked out when we got there and only waited for 10 mins. The service was amazing so was the food. One of the best restaurants in Bkk and very reasonably priced. Two people with a beer 500 baht.

Helpful?
1 Thank aliasjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai food in lovely riverside ambiance”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is as popular with Thais as it is with foreigners. Very inexpensive, good Thai food served in a very atmospheric restaurant set on the Chao Phraya river. Bring your Thai app or phrase book as not much English is spoken here but this place is a delight. Even the Tuk Tuk ride to the restaurant is a fun little trip although walking the Soi and seeing the neighborhood is also recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baan Rabiang Nam or River Tree House also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
Nonthaburi, Nonthaburi Province
 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Baan Rabiang Nam or River Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing