We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“aircon dripped water onto my mac laptop and refuse to pay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mida Hotel Ngamwongwan
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Nonthaburi
Arnhem, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“aircon dripped water onto my mac laptop and refuse to pay”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

BEWARE, this stay cost me an apple laptop.
1. Aircon on top of working table and electrical socket. Came back to hotel late, charge my laptop. First thing in the morning, switch of my laptop, I get an error message. Took my laptop and noticed the bottom is wet. Had to rush to conference that morning so next morning, I went to complaint.

They took my laptop for their IT department to check and later told me they took it to two shops (I don't believe this) and upon looking at the dent on my laptop, claimed because I dropped it. Later hotel staff acknowledged that the IT have not open the laptop to check the inside, even after being informed by me and seeing with their own eyes the dripping water on the desk. I was upset that they did not send it to an official Mac shop for the diagnosis because I was leaving the next day. They offered to take it there if I leave my laptop behind (yeah right).

Upon returning to my home, I took my macpro to the official mac shop and told me that the motherboard is burned and the only possible reason is water or lighting. They provided me with the image of burned motherboard and a letter saying it is damaged. They explained that if the hotel take this to Mac in Thailand, they will be able to confirm the diagnosis from the photo. But Mida Hotel, instead of going to mac in thailand to confirm this and compensate for my damaged laptop, asked for official letter from my mac service centre with explanation etc, saying they need to have it for insurance claim.

Am sure they will still try to put the blame on me or say that I do not give them a chance. Point is, insurance or no insurance, they damaged it and should compensate me. It is not necessary to wait for insurance claim to decide on that. Simpy making things difficult so that I give up or don't bother anymore.

Call me unlucky, but my question to you is, do you want to take the risk now that you know their dirty tricks?

2. toilet smelling like sewage and you can smell it from the bedroom

3. VERY SLOW internet unless you want internet with the bedroom door open. And you can only work with one device with one password provided.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeannieNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles T, General Manager at Mida Hotel Ngamwongwan, responded to this review, 16 February 2015
Dear JeannieNg,

I am very sorry to hear that you had trouble with your personal property when staying at our hotel .
The hotel did as best as we could to right the situation, for you The laptop was placed underneath the air-con system by you and not our staff.
We always ask people if they have any with their rooms at time of booking and there was no problems reported at that time or at any time during your stay at the hotel.
We are sorry that you had some problems with your stay, but we did everything we could to right the problems for you

Kind regards,

Charlie Tang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    5
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
2
3
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nonthaburi
5.3 mi away
Maleewana Hotel & Resort
Maleewana Hotel & Resort
#3 of 18 in Nonthaburi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
5.1 mi away
Buddy Oriental Riverside Pakkred
2.0 mi away
Richmond - the Stylish Convention Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Nonthaburi Palace Hotel
Nonthaburi Palace Hotel
#7 of 18 in Nonthaburi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mida's Hotel Uno
Mida's Hotel Uno
#9 of 18 in Nonthaburi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Wanda Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mida Hotel Ngamwongwan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mida Hotel Ngamwongwan

Property: Mida Hotel Ngamwongwan
Address: 29/67 Moo 9 Ngamwongwan Road | Bang Kraso subdistrict, Nonthaburi 11000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Nonthaburi Province > Nonthaburi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Nonthaburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mida Hotel Ngamwongwan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ideal location of Mida Hotel Ngamwongwan is suited within the fast growing area of Bangkok. It's a preferred location of our guests for business and leisure. Donmuang International Airport is only a short distance with easy access to expressways, shopping Malls and walking distance to BTS Sky-train which gives easy access the heart of Bangkok. 138 modern style accommodations with internet connectivity bring a stunning experience and pleasant stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mida Hotel Ngamwongwan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing