We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place with local flair” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nonthaburi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thai House
Ranked #1 of 11 Nonthaburi B&B and Inns
Phoenix
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A place with local flair”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed at the Thai House for our first two nights in Bangkok per a recommendation of a friend. We were certainly not disappointed. The accommodations are genuinely Thai and the owner Pip and all of the family were also genuinely friendly and accommodating to our questions and requests. A pleasant surprise for us was being able to participate in the Loi Krathong event, a full moon event in November paying tribute to the goddess of Water. Pip and family had us make our own krathongs which is a decorative float made of banana leaves and flowers. We set our krathongs afloat in the canal making a wish as the floated downstream. Lanterns were let loose in the sky and fireworks were set off all evening until midnight. A magical affair to be a part of. Oh, and the food was amazing. We were not there for the cooking class but we had dinner both nights at the Thai house and Pip and her staff will not disappoint. Delish!!! They even made me a traditional Thai cake for my birthday. The family and staff at the Thai house certainly made us feel welcome to Thailand. Although we used this as our base for Bangkok it's a bit of a haul if all you want to do is see the touristy sights of Bangkok. I would recommend pairing it up one day with a cooking class!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dirtgirlphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
11
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

I went to visit Pip for a one day Thai cooking course. The trip to her house took about 1:15. Picked up from hotel to take a ferry boat. We were sailing towards a very remote area of Thailand that is hardly shown on the media. It was an eye opener. However, it was also AMAZING.

There were five of us in the cooking class and I can't wait to try the recipes at home. It is real Thai style home cooking. Pip (owner) was wonderful. Her English is very good and she is very funny and makes you feel at home.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerome_Simelane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I took a 2 day, 1 night cooking class at Thai house and we had a wonderful time. We were picked up at our hotel and transported by boat to Thai House. The boat ride was really fun and scenic.

The cooking classes were very informative, part hands on and part demonstration. I learned a lot and i think I can actually replicate the recipes at home! We ate what we cooked and there was also additional food at meal times. There was more than enough food at mealtimes. Class sizes are small, so you get a lot of attention. The first day, there were 4 of us and the second day, it was just my boyfriend and I, so we got a great deal of attention.

The market trip was fun and we had some time to explore on our own. We came back and had a tasty breakfast, including some fruit and desserts Pip, the owner, had bought at the market that day.

The service was excellent. She has a staff who make mealtimes seamless. The rooms were very clean and the natural cross breeze made air conditioning unnecessary. The property is beautiful and extremely peaceful.

Overall, I highly recommend a visit to Thai House, as you will learn a lot in the classes, eat wonderful food, enjoy excellent hospitality and a peaceful atmosphere for an extremely reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed with Pip and her lovely family as part of the 'tastes of Thailand' tour. Booked through Virgin and managed by Intrepid.
We had an excellent cooking lesson with the hostess, Pip. She showed us some authentic techniques and we made some lovely food (you have to eat what you cook) using home grown ingredients.
The house itself is a very authentic teak Thai house with several bedrooms. The rooms are basic for us 'soft' westeners, but clean with fans to regulate the temerature. There aren't any ensuites but the showers and toilets were good. This is a flavour of Thailand so don't expect memory foam mattresses and wi-fi!
We went to the local market and shown around, we felt like a member of the family rather than a paying guest :-)
You won't be disappointed if you stay here, email me if you want any more info

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2007

I found this thaihouse hotel from searching thaihouse in google . Not many westerner stay there but it was nice homestay . The Thai House homestay concept, developed by a Thai family that has been entertaining overseas guests for over 10 years Situated on 12 rai (4.8 acres) and surrounded by fruit trees, The Thai House is a traditional Thai house built with a golden teakwood structure in an architectural style that was popular around the Ayutthaya region in central Thailand some 150 years ago It was a nice night. We had the whole place -- a complex of three Thai houses and a huge veranda -- to ourselves. It was just us and the family who owns it, who stays downstairs.

They built the house on family land, and they take the traditional part to heart. They hired 25 Ayuthaya (one of the few places where people still know how to build traditional Thai houses) craftsmen to build the place of all teak in the traditional style. The mother told me that when they build the house 15 years ago, teak was still reasonably priced. Now, she said, they could not afford to build the house I loved the house but It was hot there no airconditioning only fan and no private bathroom and toilet It was good place for rehab , no interesting places nearby but there were activities like cooking , reading ,boat tour
we go back to Bangkok by boat provided by thaihouse -- a 22 kilometer trip. An elderly boatman showed up and motored us through the small canals leading away from the house. It was like a Thai version of Louisiana swamp country (at least as I've seen it in the movies). Houses on stilts with big porches lined the canals - some new, some, ramshakle and sinking back into the water

Then we transfered to a larger long-tail speedboat, with the usual V8-engine-driven prop on a swiveling mount. This second boatman took us down the Bangkoknoi Canal to the Chao Praya River, where we disembarked at the Ta Tien Pier.
I wish I could staythere more longer

  • Liked — Thai lifestyle
  • Disliked — no internet
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank pimmy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nonthaburi
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Maleewana Hotel & Resort
#3 of 18 in Nonthaburi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
The Park Bangyai
#6 of 21 in Nonthaburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn A Day
#5 of 606 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thai House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thai House

Property: Thai House
Address: 32/4 Moo 8, Tambol Bangmaung | Nonthaburi 11140, Nonthaburi, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Nonthaburi Province > Nonthaburi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Nonthaburi
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing