We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting worse, rip off internet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Richmond - the Stylish Convention Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Nonthaburi
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I have to stay in this hotel, noc choice as it is booked for me to do training for the Thai governemnt. Each stay gets worse with rip off internet charges, 150 Bt for 1 hour, and NO internet connection in the room. The only public are is the lobby and there is one stool and small desk for you to use. Really bad. Staff are OK, breakfast reasonable bu boring after a while, nothing to do in this location although the shopping mall up the road 1km has soe good and cheap restaurant.

Shower could be cleaner, mould near the wast hole, hair on the basin plug, etc

Also nothing I say will change this hotel at all! Its a convention hotel and doesn't rely on tourists, only business and Thai governments booking meeting rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DRMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

We've stayed at this hotel before, but this time we had to stay here for 6 nights. First impression is good, very polite and helpful bellboys, rapid checkin. The room though, is another story. The smell of mold is everywhere, the aircon is noisy. At the moment there is a lot of noise from the MBT construction site just outside the hotel, which will be finished in 2015 appx. We had a superior double room on 8th., and a twin room on 10th. Funny thing is, the twin room has bathtub, but the double room had only shower. Both rooms were old and dirty, with stains at sheets and towels. The shower leaked terribly, and has not been proper cleaned for ages. The breakfast buffet is reasonable, though very thai oriented. They have eggs prepared for your preference though. Waiters at breakfast buffet are very unprofessional and unattentive, they write down your room number, but they are too lazy to show you to a table and ask for coffee or tea preference. Every
morning we had to ask for the coffee and tea, ans afterwards we had to go hunt for sugar and
milk. Plates, bowls and cups were dirty and many of them had stains, it was really gross and we had to check everything thoroughly before using it. Last thing you want in Thailand, is diarrhea.

During our first evening, a lot of Chinese checked in, and the elevators got very busy. Apparantly you are allowed to smoke in the indoor hallways, which made both our room and the common areas very smelly, when all the Chinese were hanging around and smoking everywhere. I guess Chinese travelling in groups are very boastful by nature, as they were very noisy and never wanted to wait for us to get out of the elevator before they flocked inside it.
There are large shopping complexes close to the hotel, including lots of restaurants, but its almost silly to go there, cause you have to drive several kilometers in the opposite direction just to get to the right side of the busy mainroad running next to the hotel.

They have an outside lounge area which seems to be closed down for good, and a pool with water as cold as ice, as it is covered under roof.

All in all this was a very bas experience, and next time we will consider another hotel when we have to stay in the Nonthaburi area.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomasloewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Since Thailand known as country of smile, this is my very 1st time in Nonthaburi, Bangkok. The hotel is super stylish from the outside, the receptionist can't understand english, they didn't take any deposit, the room card was suppose to be insert slant rather than usual straight slot (i call room service for that to help!). Breakfast was simple, i can't eat much even the chef help me out cause of their non halal kitchen, so the chef personally cook the egg and some fish for me. The lift! small and yet so many floor!! have 3 of the lift, i have to wait to let one tour group to go up and my turn. Its near to some small shopping centre. Amazingly, this hotel don't have 13 floor, or all Thailand hotel is like that? Hmmm.... hehehe

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asyidah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I have visited this Hotel 4 times over the Last 5 years, Once a year Basically and this have progresively got worse, Last year I noticed the place and rooms were looking a bit shabby, This year it is worse again, I booked a deluxe and the room has torn wall paper all over the place and the sheets have marks on and a small tear, it cost 2500BHT a night so not really cheap and no free wifi which is a complete joke.

The service is still good but the room service is awful avoid the food if you can, I wont be coming back until they have had a refurbishment as I cant see them improving the place at all.

Room Tip: The Higher the floor the let the noise from the very and always busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

The sheets and towels were often stained. Internet is expensive and the connection is inconsistent, and network log-ins expire after 24 hours. The hotel restaurant is slow and the food is hit-or-miss.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I stayed in the Richmond for 3 nights in a Deluxe room, I dont know the cost my company paid for it I think 1800 Baht a night, The room was reasonably clean for Thai Standards and the bathroom was good, Aircon was good to. The Location is good if you are travelling, I ate room service twice and it was good although expensive.

Breakfast was ok although the choice is mainly Thai and then Toast and Egg or Pastries with super strong coffee.

The Staff were all good and no problems, I would stay again.

Room Tip: Get a Room High up the Views of Nonthaburi are good be it day or Night and it is a busy area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

It's a nice enough hotel but it does NOT cater for anybody except Thai nationals coming or training seminars.The rooms are nice enough but there are NO English TV channels, not even BBC or CNN, save for one English movie channel. The rest are Thai free to air with poor quality pictures or eg National Geographic overdubbed with Thai, and ditto Discovery and Animal Planet.

My room was a suite, really nice but would rather have a smaller room in a better hotel

Really slow check in on a Sat night, only 2 people on the reception trying to deal with crowds of people arriving on buses. Seemed really disorganized.

Plus RIP OFF internet - c'mon even the tiny 40/night hotels have free wii but the Richmond's price is 300/3hours (about $10) or 600/24 hours ($20) - c'mon that is ONE BIG RIP OFF and hence I have given only 1 star.

I think they rely on the fact that this hotel is Nonthaburi, outside of Bangkok and hence they feel no compeetition from eg Dusit Thani or Dusit Princes or Pathumwan Princess which all leave this hotel in the dust

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DRMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nonthaburi
2.0 mi away
Mida Hotel Ngamwongwan
Mida Hotel Ngamwongwan
#2 of 20 in Nonthaburi
30 reviews
3.7 mi away
Maleewana Hotel & Resort
Maleewana Hotel & Resort
#3 of 20 in Nonthaburi
11 reviews
4.3 mi away
Buddy Oriental Riverside Pakkred
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Nonthaburi Palace Hotel
Nonthaburi Palace Hotel
#5 of 20 in Nonthaburi
16 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Wanda Grand Hotel
5.0 mi away
Novotel Bangkok IMPACT
Novotel Bangkok IMPACT
#1 of 10 in Pak Kret
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond - the Stylish Convention Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond - the Stylish Convention Hotel

Address: 69/783-787 Rattanathibeth Rd, Nonthaburi 11000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Nonthaburi Province > Nonthaburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Nonthaburi
Price Range: £43 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond - the Stylish Convention Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Richmond - the Stylish Convention Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing