We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value hotel outside of Central Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Richmond - the Stylish Convention Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Nonthaburi
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Value hotel outside of Central Bangkok”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The hotel is not a Central bangkok hotel and doesn't pretend to be. It's an excellent hotel for meetings in the Nonthaburi North Bangkok area. 5-10 minutes to various government offices saving you the 1hr plus from downtown. If you're looking for the usual touristy Sukhumvit Hotel , go to touristy Sukhumvit.
The hotel is more Thai style run then international chain style.. The staff are friendly and helpful.
I had a street view room had little to no noise slept great.

Road Warrior30 is wrong.

Room Tip: Take it in stride, this is not an International Chain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The Big L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    32
    17
    10
    5
See reviews for
3
11
11
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
368 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

IF YOU MUST: This hotel is located in north Bangkok and often used by Thai gov't and popular with Chinese tourist groups. During protests, I stayed here 1 night to avoid downtown. This is clearly not a return visit, but if you must here's what you'll find.

Hotel is on busy highway but nothing walkable in terms of restaurants. It's a 16 story large business looking hotel. Staff English is marginal but good enough. Check-in required a 1000 baht deposit (in cash) despite paying the low room rate with a credit card.

The room is large enough and and reasonably modern, but cheap windows ensure road noise if you're facing the street. Overall fit n' finish suspect for virtually everything. Luckily the bed linens were clean and reasonable comfortable. Only 2 power outlets in room. Empty refrig, water boiler (but no mugs or inroom tea/coffee service). No iron in room (hotel didn't have one to lend either - so iron before you show up). Unlimited Internet in my rate and wifi was relatively speedy. AC blower is constant noisy and difficult to regulate so room was mostly cold.

The bathroom worked and wasn't too weird, bit of mold here and there but plenty of hot water and reasonably lit.

Morning breakfast was OK, coffee decent.

Summary - this is a Thai hotel run to Thai standards, you could make do for a night or 2 but I think any Westerner would long for more comfort after that.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roadwarrior30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nonthaburi hotels

Ratingen, Germany
Level Contributor
155 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The Richmond gets rather mixed reviews, many of them negative. I was accommodated there for three nights while attending an international music teachers' conference in Bangkok. It's true that there were few western tourists there, but I also wouldn't say it was a non-tourist location. There seemed to be quite large groups of Chinese tourists during my stay. It made the breakfast choices wide ranging and interesting! The room was clean & comfortable, with a very efficient air-con system (thank goodness) and a good shower. The staff were helpful, with a reasonable understanding of English. The price for the accommodation, including breakfast, was very reasonable indeed. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy-reise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra Australia
Level Contributor
325 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 433 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I have to stay in this hotel, noc choice as it is booked for me to do training for the Thai governemnt. Each stay gets worse with rip off internet charges, 150 Bt for 1 hour, and NO internet connection in the room. The only public are is the lobby and there is one stool and small desk for you to use. Really bad. Staff are OK, breakfast reasonable bu boring after a while, nothing to do in this location although the shopping mall up the road 1km has soe good and cheap restaurant.

Shower could be cleaner, mould near the wast hole, hair on the basin plug, etc

Also nothing I say will change this hotel at all! Its a convention hotel and doesn't rely on tourists, only business and Thai governments booking meeting rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DRMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillerod, Denmark
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We've stayed at this hotel before, but this time we had to stay here for 6 nights. First impression is good, very polite and helpful bellboys, rapid checkin. The room though, is another story. The smell of mold is everywhere, the aircon is noisy. At the moment there is a lot of noise from the MBT construction site just outside the hotel, which will be finished in 2015 appx. We had a superior double room on 8th., and a twin room on 10th. Funny thing is, the twin room has bathtub, but the double room had only shower. Both rooms were old and dirty, with stains at sheets and towels. The shower leaked terribly, and has not been proper cleaned for ages. The breakfast buffet is reasonable, though very thai oriented. They have eggs prepared for your preference though. Waiters at breakfast buffet are very unprofessional and unattentive, they write down your room number, but they are too lazy to show you to a table and ask for coffee or tea preference. Every
morning we had to ask for the coffee and tea, ans afterwards we had to go hunt for sugar and
milk. Plates, bowls and cups were dirty and many of them had stains, it was really gross and we had to check everything thoroughly before using it. Last thing you want in Thailand, is diarrhea.

During our first evening, a lot of Chinese checked in, and the elevators got very busy. Apparantly you are allowed to smoke in the indoor hallways, which made both our room and the common areas very smelly, when all the Chinese were hanging around and smoking everywhere. I guess Chinese travelling in groups are very boastful by nature, as they were very noisy and never wanted to wait for us to get out of the elevator before they flocked inside it.
There are large shopping complexes close to the hotel, including lots of restaurants, but its almost silly to go there, cause you have to drive several kilometers in the opposite direction just to get to the right side of the busy mainroad running next to the hotel.

They have an outside lounge area which seems to be closed down for good, and a pool with water as cold as ice, as it is covered under roof.

All in all this was a very bas experience, and next time we will consider another hotel when we have to stay in the Nonthaburi area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomasloewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Since Thailand known as country of smile, this is my very 1st time in Nonthaburi, Bangkok. The hotel is super stylish from the outside, the receptionist can't understand english, they didn't take any deposit, the room card was suppose to be insert slant rather than usual straight slot (i call room service for that to help!). Breakfast was simple, i can't eat much even the chef help me out cause of their non halal kitchen, so the chef personally cook the egg and some fish for me. The lift! small and yet so many floor!! have 3 of the lift, i have to wait to let one tour group to go up and my turn. Its near to some small shopping centre. Amazingly, this hotel don't have 13 floor, or all Thailand hotel is like that? Hmmm.... hehehe

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asyidah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I have visited this Hotel 4 times over the Last 5 years, Once a year Basically and this have progresively got worse, Last year I noticed the place and rooms were looking a bit shabby, This year it is worse again, I booked a deluxe and the room has torn wall paper all over the place and the sheets have marks on and a small tear, it cost 2500BHT a night so not really cheap and no free wifi which is a complete joke.

The service is still good but the room service is awful avoid the food if you can, I wont be coming back until they have had a refurbishment as I cant see them improving the place at all.

Room Tip: The Higher the floor the let the noise from the very and always busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nonthaburi
2.0 mi away
Mida Hotel Ngamwongwan
Mida Hotel Ngamwongwan
#2 of 18 in Nonthaburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
3.7 mi away
Maleewana Hotel & Resort
Maleewana Hotel & Resort
#3 of 18 in Nonthaburi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
4.3 mi away
Buddy Oriental Riverside Pakkred
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Nonthaburi Palace Hotel
Nonthaburi Palace Hotel
#7 of 18 in Nonthaburi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Wanda Grand Hotel
5.0 mi away
Novotel Bangkok IMPACT
Novotel Bangkok IMPACT
#1 of 10 in Pak Kret
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond - the Stylish Convention Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond - the Stylish Convention Hotel

Property: Richmond - the Stylish Convention Hotel
Address: 69/783-787 Rattanathibeth Rd, Nonthaburi 11000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Nonthaburi Province > Nonthaburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Nonthaburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond - the Stylish Convention Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Richmond - the Stylish Convention Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing