We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely site”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sainte Nathalene
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping La Palombiere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed here in august. Beautiful clean and safe site. Lovely pool areas but not enough sun loungers. Seems they were being reserved first thing in the morning with towels but weren't used until later in afternoon! Would return again. Had a great stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrismarkandelliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

We spent 2 weeks here in lovely accommodation with Keycamp. The quality of the accommodation and reps on site were excellent. The campsite is well equipped with everything that is needed. The campsite has several strong points as all the over reviews state (inc. the restaurant and evening entertainment), however there are several weaknesses that I feel the campsite need to address. The weaknesses include:

1. Swimming pool is overcrowded and can be dangerous at times. The main danger is the fact that there is no life-guard or supervisor on duty. There was some sort of pool guy walking about but he served no purpose. Children are left to run wild throughout the whole pool complex and especially on the slides (there is an accident waiting to happen here). Since you are allowed to bring in tires and inflatables then this poses another problem since it reduced the amount of room you have within the pool.

Some of the rules within the pool area state that diving was not permitted. This was not enforced at all! you can image the dangers this caused at extremely busy times within the pool area!

People were queuing to go into the pool area from the time it opened in order to put their towels on loungers in order to reserve them for the whole day. This happened to about 60% of the loungers, most of the day these loungers had not been touched. On previous stays at different campsites the pool supervisor would remove these towels if the loungers had not been used for a period of time. This is something that I think they should consider and adopt as part of their pool site rules!

2. On-site shop is way too small and very expensive. The shop did not add any value to the campsite. If you wanted anything you either have to travel in to the centre of Sarlat or go to a nearby campsite!

3. Electricity problems. During our stay we had several power cuts in our area of the campsite and on one occasion after a storm we were without electricity for a whole day.

4. Water problems. We were also without water for a whole day as well due to some plumbing problems in the local village.

Even though the campsite currently has many weaknesses we do feel that the strengths of the campsite outweigh the weaknesses. These weaknesses could easily be addressed by next season. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we do recommend this campsite as it is the best within the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamTam007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We spent two weeks on this site with Canvas holidays. This is our 6th camping holiday and our kids voted it the best yet.
The site is well maintained, not too big and quiet at night.
The pitches are all in amongst the trees which provided much welcome shelter from the sun and the 38C we had whilst we were there and also meant you didnt feel overlooked..
Kids loved the pools and the slides along with the activities laid on by Canvas such as Zorb balls, Walter Walkerz, kids clubs etc.
Different entertainment in the bar every night.
Wednesday night is a live band so go early if you want a table or to eat at the restaurant as this is definitely the busiest night.

We only ate in the restaurant on our last night. Food was really good and we were sorry we didnt try it earlier.

Shop quite basic but great supermarkets in Sarlat which is a lovely town.

Dordogne is really beautiful and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank CAD75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

Just returned from la palombiere following a week's stay with keycamp in a villagrande caravan with a/c & deck. Fantastic caravan, appeared to be fairly new & was in Lapin area of the park. Would recommend this area as it was circa mid park, far enough away from bar/restaurant areas & the noise but not a hike! Having said that its not a flat site so wouldn't recommend for very infirm. Site gorgeous, sheltered by trees & very pretty. Reps worked hard with entertainment, had 2 discos, kids talent show & an accordionist & singer whilst we were there & it passed the time pleasantly. This is a smallish camp & perhaps entertainment might be better at larger camps but as this is the first time I have had a holiday like this in France I am not able to compare. Our 2 boys aged 11 & 7 absolutely loved the pools, spending all their time in the lower pool with the slides. However a major drawback is that the pools are not attended/supervised & there was a lot of 'dangerous play' on the slides which took the edge off the enjoyment. People were going down several at a time & crashing into everyone & it scared my youngest as he is not the most confident of swimmers. Also they sell inflatable tyres in the shop which everyone buys to go down the slides on as they go extra fast! It seems to be an accident waiting to happen . Another couple of points is that service in the restaurant can be very slow at times (most of the times we ate in there) & waiting staff could be slightly more on the ball as I noticed that others who had sat down after us got served first. We waited over an hour for our dinner on the last night which isn't ideal when you have kids. Having said that the food was all relatively good & cheap compared to outside eateries. A good variety was on menu. Setting of camp is quite remote but that adds to the appeal as views from terrace are lovely. The shop is very basic & doesn't stock much in the way of food items. Nearby eurocamp roffy has a better shop if you don't want to go all the way into sarlat for supplies. Must do's: sarlat, dordoigne river trip. Husband adored caves of panirac. Word of advice, don't travel via Paris. Choose the longer route via rouens! Longer by distance but it avoids the Paris ring-round which is always painfully slow!!! Altogether a lovely holiday & we would probably return. The dordoigne is beautiful & lots to see, wish we had booked for 2 weeks!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orbital2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Just returned from a 12 night stay in La Palombiere. This was my first family camping holiday , we rented a Villa Grand through Key Camp. We really enjoyed our stay here, the campsite not too big and very quiet at night, did not have the feeling of being overy looked, had a nice pitch under trees with outside deck. Pools were lovely and very much appreciated with temperatures over 30 degrees. Staff on the site were all very pleasant and helpful. Locations is ideal for touring the region, The longest excurtion we went on was to the Cavern in Padirac and Rocamadeur which were well worth a visit, recommend a canoe trip on the Dordogne, we enjoyed so much we decided to do the Vesere from Les Eysies but this was dissapointing, staff were grumpy and quite rude and the trip down the river is nothing like the Dordogne so save your money for something else. We would certainly take a trip back to La Palombiere but would investigate option of AC in the mobile as it was not standard and it was very hot while we were there.

Room Tip: Could be an idea to request Mobile with AC,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank galwayfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Have read many reviews about this campsite we visited for 6 years on the run, we haven't been back for 4 years due to illness, bereavement and other deciding factors....and we are going back this year because our children, now 16 and 12, and ourselves desperately want to visit our little bit of France, we haven't had a holiday for 4 years and we asked the kids where they wanted to go and they said La Palombiere......we found Eric and Nadia very welcoming, on one occasion our son was very poorly, thanks to Nadia she phoned a local doctor, gave us directions and we were seen within half an hour, she couldn't have been more helpful. We always stayed with Canvas but this year we are taking our own tent.....the site was always immaculate, toilets, showers etc cleaned regularly, its a safe site and even if our children wandered we knew they were safe. We have had some fabulous holidays here and can't wait to return....children counting the days.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank warbyj45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We have recently returned froma week here, staying in a Keycamp mobile home. The whole place was spotless. The site was very quiet being only mid May. We ate several times at the restaurant which was of a very high standard. The pools looked great, but unfortuanatley the weather was too cold.You do need a car to get around. Sarlat is one of the nicest French towns we have been to,

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank roisin27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte Nathalene
3.4 mi away
Camping Huttopia Sarlat
Camping Huttopia Sarlat
#15 of 44 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
138 reviews
4.4 mi away
Village de chalets d'Argentouleau
Village de chalets d'Argentoulea...
#39 of 44 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
40 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant l'Escale
Hotel Restaurant l'Escale
#5 of 5 in Sainte Nathalene
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Le Moulin Pointu
Le Moulin Pointu
#3 of 5 in Sainte Nathalene
34 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Roche d'Esteil
La Roche d'Esteil
#1 of 5 in Sainte Nathalene
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping La Palombiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping La Palombiere

Address: Sarlat, 24200 Sainte Nathalene, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda > Sainte Nathalene
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Sainte Nathalene
Hotel Class:5 star — Camping La Palombiere 5*
Also Known As:
Camping La Palombiere Hotel Sainte Nathalene
Camping La Palombiere Sarlat-La-Caneda, France - Sainte Nathalene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing