We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic Location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sainte Nathalene
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Ferme de le Tour
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We are an Aussie family of 5 who spent a wonderful 4 days at Le Ferme de la Tour. The accommodation was very comfortable and our 3 sons enjoyed the large expanse of lawn, sporting equipment and pool. We all enjoyed the local walks and the very rural setting. The owner and his wife were good hosts and we appreciated their speedy response to maintenance or other special requests. We have very fond memories of our time there and hope to come back one day.
Khim & Eugenie Harris

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2012

Just back home from a week here and we loved it. A really nice rural location with fantastic views over the countrside. I loved watching the views and the light change with the weather. And eating cherries off the tree...
Good facilities eg lovely pool, badminton etc, Inside was really nice with good quality furnishings and a well-equipped kitchen. I think the owners have done a really good job and made a lovely peaceful place to spend a quiet week or so. It's true there are people around but no-one bothered us and its nice to have someone to talk to if you're in the mood for company. Lots of helpful information in the booklet about places to visit etc
There are some great walks from the door. Our favourite walk was going to the nearby gardens at the Manoir d'Eyrignac (good restaurant/tea room too)
Sarlat market was a bit too touristy for us on the Saturday but the Wednesday food market was excellent and we enjoyed the town. And we came to love the area, very green, pretty houses, lots of walnut trees and beautiful villages. We were very sad to leave but felt much better after our week here. Not sure when we will be in this part of France again but would definitely recommed La Ferme to a freind.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 473Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2010

Thank you Chris and Kate for an excellent holiday, we felt very welcomeat your site. The quality of the accomodation impressed us. The wood burners made our cottage feel very cosy and homely. It is a very peaceful location with spectacular views across the valley at any time of the day. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weemanbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

We wouldn't have done this review were it not for noticing two adverse reviews when we logged in before contacting the owners in order to book a repeat visit in 2011.
I think it must be a case of horses for courses.
For our part we wanted a beautiful peaceful location where we could have a real holiday from the hustle and bustle of our home life and away from the modern impingements of cyberspace, tv, and canned entertainment..
For us La Ferme de la Torre proved to be the perfect retreat.
We loved the quality and care that has so obviously been put into conservation in the conversion of the old farm buildings into gites and the bonus for us was the old world charm of nearby Sarlat and the fantastic country walks radiating out from the site.
We'll return yearly.
John and Chris Clarke.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank friendofearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

We stayed at one of the gites of Ferme de la Tour and were also disappointed. Some additional examples: We specifically asked the owner by email before paying if the gite had wifi and he replied yes. What he didn't say was that wifi was only available on the outdoor terrace, not inside the gite. (There was one ill-placed, interior wired connection so there was some access.) While staying there, the owner went on vacation and turned off the gites' internet server - no internet at all! There was no soap in the bathroom (and there was no mention beforehand to bring your own). Guests were to bring their trash to the neighborhood barrels about 1 mile from the gite. The wood-burning stove leaked creosote and left an awful smell. If the gite was very inexpensive, the smaller oddities would be less annoying.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ellentravels00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2010

Judging from the advertisement, this holiday cottage (which sleeps 4 maximum in my opinion) had everything we needed. Upon arrival, the cottage was clean and comfortable. Luxurious is probably not the word; there were no extras like curtains in our bedroom although the rods existed, nor a reading light in the second bedroom, e.t.c. I didn’t see the inside seating for 6 and one of our outside garden chairs had been removed during the night.

Our cottage was attached to the same building as the owner’s home, an old farmhouse. This is not a problem within itself however the owners were omnipresent and there was very little privacy or freedom.

It is important to note that the list of do’s and don’ts in the guest book is very long and that future guests should carefully read through the contract beforehand. Occupants are under no circumstances to entertain friends on the premises without the owner’s permission which is to be sought in writing several days in advance .

We were disappointed with our stay here, mainly because of the owner’s attitude and poor customer relations and would not recommend this property, "

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fellotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank mathias160103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to La Ferme de le Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ferme de le Tour

Address: 24200 Sainte Nathalene, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda > Sainte Nathalene
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Sainte Nathalene
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
La Ferme De Le Tour Sarlat-La-Caneda, France - Sainte Nathalene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing