We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food great - rest average”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sainte Nathalene
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Grottes de Roffy
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Food great - rest average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Hello

We went here on recommendation for the food. We were staying nearby in what we now know to be a better campsite. The bar is very 'British Pub' and the shop is very good with excellent food selections. The pool complex is simple and very exposed. The emplacements vary but are laid out in rows and some are lack privacy. The people who run it were lovely which compensated for some, not all, of the campers who were Brits who had a little bit of cash and therefore displayed the loud and intrusive habits of the 'boorish landowner down the rural pub'. They felt the bar was their personal property and made arrogant comments about anyone who tried to get past for a drink of their own. On reflection the presence of so many 4 X 4 of a certain make (Vor Sprung) should have been a sign. The restaurant made up for all of this. The food was excellent as was the service and the wine. A very good place to eat and a real surprise. Better than most restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Dont stay - just eat here. leave the site to the Audi drivers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRLOTBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    23
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
49
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed here at the end of June for a week with our 3 year old daughter and 3 month baby. Stayed with Eurocamp in a mobile home. Our first trip of this kind so rather nervous about what to expect, but exceptionally pleased with our choice!

Eurocamp were excellent. Their mobile homes were better equipped than those from the campsite themselves, mosquito nets on windows, oven on kitchen, fan, better quality outdoor furniture and BBQ.

We were advised to take a pitch near the facilities which turned out to be a great decision, especially with young ones. We also chose a mobile home with an outside deck which was great otherwise you'd be sitting out on uneven ground. The pitches themselves were all separated by hedges which afforded some privacy, they were regularly tended and kept neat. Very impressed.

The campsite itself was lovely. Very safe, not too big, great facilities, lovely pool complex and really pretty, rustic bar, restaurant area, tastefully renovated. Owners very hands on and friendly.

Would not hesitate to recommend this campsite. In fact we stayed a further week! We are already discussing going back next year!

One comment on timing...we arrived end June when it was quite as no schools had broken up. Early July big influx of Dutch followed by French as their schools broke up. Got really quite busy, although not too hectic, but once the UK schools break up I could imagine it losing its appeal as a small authentic site.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jersey2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandvoort
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Great mobil-home. Great campsite. Nice swimmingpool and a very good restaurant. The owners are friendly and want to help you. We stayed 3 weeks and it was very relaxing. In the surroundings is lot to see, like castles, caves and gardens

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinivlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed here for 2 weeks in August 2009 with our 3yr old. The bar/restaurant was fantastic - good position, relaxing, and the food excellent. Swimming pools great, very well maintained plots - hedges immediately cut & plots tidied when someone left. The shop was good - you had to order croissants etc which was fine. It was well stocked with 'essentials' & you could put a coold box 'thing' in the night before. The position of the campsite was great, and it was a great location. All in all - fantastic...except for....the showers. The individial sink blocks was fine, as were the washing facilities. The showers were just those old fashioned 'bowl' type showers where you were constantly showering in someone else's dirt when they became block with hair etc. Having been to 2 different sites over the last 2 years - albeit the bar & restaurant not as good, they've had those flat 'walk in' showers that have drained really well. This was our only complaint, and to be fair, may have already been upgraded.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Motson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte Nathalene
4.1 mi away
Hotel Albizia
Hotel Albizia
#13 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
4.2 mi away
Le Mas De Castel
Le Mas De Castel
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Camping Huttopia Sarlat
Camping Huttopia Sarlat
#14 of 43 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
8.6 mi away
Camping Les Charmes
Camping Les Charmes
#2 of 3 in Saint-Andre-d'Allas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
8.0 mi away
Castel Domaine de la Paille Basse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Grottes de Roffy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Grottes de Roffy

Property: Les Grottes de Roffy
Address: 24200 Sainte Nathalene, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda > Sainte Nathalene
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Sainte Nathalene
Also Known As:
Les Grottes De Roffy Sarlat-La-Caneda, France - Sainte Nathalene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing