We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice campsite .... but”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sainte Nathalene
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Grottes de Roffy
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“nice campsite .... but”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Nice campsite, good size pitches, good shop, restaurant. Showers etc good but need brightening up. Staff helpful, friendly but ...... its a pity they dont practise what they preach. We were told when we arrived that the site was closed at 10.30pm and we would not be able to drive further than car park and that we must observe quite for other campers, not a problem. On more than three occasions we were woken after midnight by someone driving in. We looked next morning at the chain that blocked the entrance to find that it was impossible to lift it across because of the dirt etc that was on top of it. Also three or four times a week there were entertainers, not a problem we thought until they went on most times up to 11.30 sometimes after midnight. How families with young children coped I do not know. Would we come here again NO!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    24
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
52
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
romford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We arrived in early June to be greeted by a mature couple from eurocamp. They showed us to our mobile home, which was very nice indeed. The site had a small but we'll equipped shop, a bar(where we enjoyed good evenings) and a classy restaurant( absolutely lovely food ). The site had table tennis, tennis court, badminton and fun areas for the kids. But for us, what we enjoyed was the swimming pool area. We had good weather all week, so although the pools were cold, you soon got used to them, and it became a lovely area to sit and enjoy the stunning views of the local countryside. There's plenty of places to see in the area, especially sarlat. Overall, I'm glad we went, so much so, we will be going back every year! The owner of the site and his family of workers, and also, our eurocamp hosts, were very happy, polite and courteous people, who made our stay very enjoyable.Thank you.

Room Tip: Try to get an horizon or horizon midi, very well equipped
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JayAnn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We visited this site out of season (May), with dodgy weather (rained at least half the time), and had to drive eights hours to get there.

All of which should have made for a disappointing holiday. But instead, it was worth all the backside-aching boredom of such a long journey and a 3am start.

Because the campsite is the sort of classic site the likes of Eurocamp has built its reputation on by utilising. It's clean, relaxed, well maintained, beautiful, peaceful and with a really solid range of facilities for all the family.

And, in truth, it would have been easy for the offering to the few of us on the site to be reduced given the lack of crowds. Yet everything was open, everything accessible and the level of service of excellent quality.

The site itself is reasonably compact, with the front half boasting sites set on terraces, before it evens out as it leads towards the site's edges, tennis and badminton courts.

There is a pleasant bar area - with small seating inside and ample outside. - a games room, featuring pool table, air-hockey and a small selection of rather dated video game machines.

The obligatory table tennis tables are all present and correct, plus play areas.

The shop, which leads off the bar, is small but well stocked with all the essentials.

The swimming pool complex leads off the bar area, with views across the surrounding countryside. Now, the temperature of this water, during our visit, was so cold as to make the lungs contract and things you don't want shooting back up inside your body doing just that.

Chilly was to give it the benefit of the doubt. It was icy. But then the nights were pretty cold.

But what do you expect from an outside swimming pool in May when the weather is poor?

If you enjoy walks there are plenty to be had and nearby Sarlat is pretty. In fact the area is ripe for exploring. Beynac, Domme and Le Roque St Christophe are wonderful places to visit and even a short stay can allow you to really wallow in the culture and history of the area.

A word for Eurocamp - we stayed in one of their mobile homes and it was well equipped and with a gas heater, it was dead handy.

The couriers too, were excellent - a mature couple rather than the youthful buffoons they sometimes employ.

All in all, the site was a very high quality and we would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oakandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callac
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

This was among the worst 4-Star campsites we have stayed on in France (August 2012) based on thirty plus years experience. We arrived with friends in two caravans having booked pitches together several months beforehand to find that the pitches allocated were not together at all; pitches had little shade and there was a precipitous drop to the level below. Pitches were supposed to have water/drainage and electric hook-up, in fact the water was shared by adjacent pitches and was difficult to access being in the rear corner and on the edge of the drop mentioned above; the drain on our friend's pitch erupted one night with waste, including sewerage, from the statics opposite which took the site owners two days to sort having initially suggested that our friends had caused the blockage; our electric hook-up was not on the pitch at all, being near the toilet block some forty metres away, making it necessary to obtain an extension lead from reception and clamber across adjacent pitches and down slopes to gain access to the electric point; although the lower amenities block (closest for us) was serviced daily it was not cleaned thoroughly - a smear of Marmite left on the walls of two WC cubicles was still there a week later; showers were similarly not cleaned adequately and smelled and somewhat bizarrely the light switches are all inside the cubicles which fails French building regulations; there was only hot water first thing in the morning so by the time dishes were to be washed in the evening or you wanted a shower the water was always cold - complaints to reception did not achieve hot water! Access to the amenity block from our pitch was down a steep flight of steps which had no rail and at night was not lit making it dangerous; the swimming pool complex was very nice but lacked any form of shade and the water was always turbid and in August was very busy at all times; the bar and shop were good and the staff very pleasant and helpful; the restaurant was excellent though whilst we were there was somewhat marred by having to share what was a good meal with tens of thousands of flying ants rising from between the paving stones of the terrace. In all not a good experience which,for us, will not be repeated - we would have left after a couple of days but as soon as we arrived payment was demanded for the whole of the period booked, which sadly seems to be the norm these days.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick_BCallac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This will have been our 4th time we have visited the Grottes de Roffy, and yet again, it has been one of the best campsites we have visited in over 15 years of camping. We have been with Eurocamp in tents and Chalets and each time has been a wonderful stay. All the facilities are spotless, clean and so well maintained.The bar and outdoor area are so inviting, as is the superb restaurant..The shop has all that you need on a day to day stay, with large supermarkets 10-15 minutes drive away..
The pool area is great for children, but away from that, the pitches are large, very well maintained, and mostly quiet for that ever needed time for relaxing. The owners, and their family are like a second family, warm and welcoming..They couldn't do enough to help in our stay..Their help, and general attitude to the visitors is rare and can only be praised.
The town of Sarlat ( 10 mins drive ) is superb..Great restaurants and bars, best enjoyed in the long warm summer evenings and a twice weekly market is a must to visit..
We hope to visit again in the next 18 months, as this site really does make it a superb holiday.
If you love camping, or new to it, then this site is one of the best..
Give it a try....you will not be disappointed..
Thanks to everyone at Grottes de Roffy for making this another great camping holiday

Martin & Bernice

Room Tip: All Chalets are in great positions
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank metmancern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Hello

We went here on recommendation for the food. We were staying nearby in what we now know to be a better campsite. The bar is very 'British Pub' and the shop is very good with excellent food selections. The pool complex is simple and very exposed. The emplacements vary but are laid out in rows and some are lack privacy. The people who run it were lovely which compensated for some, not all, of the campers who were Brits who had a little bit of cash and therefore displayed the loud and intrusive habits of the 'boorish landowner down the rural pub'. They felt the bar was their personal property and made arrogant comments about anyone who tried to get past for a drink of their own. On reflection the presence of so many 4 X 4 of a certain make (Vor Sprung) should have been a sign. The restaurant made up for all of this. The food was excellent as was the service and the wine. A very good place to eat and a real surprise. Better than most restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Dont stay - just eat here. leave the site to the Audi drivers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRLOTBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed here at the end of June for a week with our 3 year old daughter and 3 month baby. Stayed with Eurocamp in a mobile home. Our first trip of this kind so rather nervous about what to expect, but exceptionally pleased with our choice!

Eurocamp were excellent. Their mobile homes were better equipped than those from the campsite themselves, mosquito nets on windows, oven on kitchen, fan, better quality outdoor furniture and BBQ.

We were advised to take a pitch near the facilities which turned out to be a great decision, especially with young ones. We also chose a mobile home with an outside deck which was great otherwise you'd be sitting out on uneven ground. The pitches themselves were all separated by hedges which afforded some privacy, they were regularly tended and kept neat. Very impressed.

The campsite itself was lovely. Very safe, not too big, great facilities, lovely pool complex and really pretty, rustic bar, restaurant area, tastefully renovated. Owners very hands on and friendly.

Would not hesitate to recommend this campsite. In fact we stayed a further week! We are already discussing going back next year!

One comment on timing...we arrived end June when it was quite as no schools had broken up. Early July big influx of Dutch followed by French as their schools broke up. Got really quite busy, although not too hectic, but once the UK schools break up I could imagine it losing its appeal as a small authentic site.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jersey2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte Nathalene
4.2 mi away
Le Mas De Castel
Le Mas De Castel
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
287 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
365 reviews
3.1 mi away
Camping Huttopia Sarlat
Camping Huttopia Sarlat
#14 of 43 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Camping Les Charmes
Camping Les Charmes
#2 of 3 in Saint-Andre-d'Allas
23 reviews
2.6 mi away
Camping Aqua Viva
Camping Aqua Viva
#3 of 3 in Carsac-Aillac
17 reviews
2.9 mi away
Residence-Club Odalys Les Coteaux de Sarlat
Residence-Club Odalys Les Coteau...
#7 of 43 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Grottes de Roffy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Grottes de Roffy

Property: Les Grottes de Roffy
Address: 24200 Sainte Nathalene, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda > Sainte Nathalene
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Sainte Nathalene
Also Known As:
Les Grottes De Roffy Sarlat-La-Caneda, France - Sainte Nathalene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing