We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely experience”
Review of La Roche d'Esteil

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sainte Nathalene
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Roche d'Esteil
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely experience”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a perfect stay. Marc and Sandrine were wonderful hosts. We were lucky enough to have dinner one evening . It was a wonderful experience: the food was lovely and the atmosphere, hosted by Marc and Sandrine was great. Breakfasts, including freshly baked cakes were a treat. , The surroundings were gorgeous, very peaceful and tranquil only 6kms from Sarlat. Marc gave us plenty of advice on what to see in the area.
The rooms are tasteful and roomy.
I would definitely recommend La Roche d'Esteil .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    27
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
57
209
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

A gorgeous B&B in a great location. The property has been really nicely renovated by Marc & Sandrine, who were both charming hosts. We enjoyed 2 dinners with them and some very nice local wines, and we highly recommend this option if you are able. They provided lots of good recommendations, the rooms were very comfortable, and there is absolutely nothing to fault. We have no hesitation in recommending this as a brilliant place to base yourself in this area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJOandDMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

A truly beautiful, serene oasis tucked away in the quiet village of Ste. Nathalene not far from Sarlat . While the grounds are lovely and the rooms are very charming, cozy and beautifully decorated, it is Marc and Sandrine that make this B&B worth recommending to friends. The four of us (two couples) felt as if we were visiting with old friends and Marc even let me try my guidebook French at dinner. They were warm, charming, and knowledgeable about places to visit -- just couldn't have been nicer. We were extremely lucky to stay 3 nights and enjoyed the table d'hote on our first night there. The food was divine with several courses, all featuring local specialties. You know you've come to a special place when the owners serve you a gourmet, home cooked meal as if you were valued friends. The breakfasts are equally delicious with fresh breads, yogurt, cheese, fruit and a little something special each day. I can't say enough about this special place. I envy any of you who will stay here in the future and I will certainly revisit in my dreams!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bilderbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This was our second visit in four years. The property is well-maintained and immaculate. If you are fortunate to be there when the five course dinner is offered, you will not be disappointed. Marc and Sandrine, our hosts, make a great team. They both have a talent for making everyone feel welcome, conversing with charm and wit, and yet also attending to every detail to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDLEE_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Together with my wife, we spent 7 days in June in this wonderful place, and certainly will come back. The location, 6 Km from Sarlat is ideal, the site is beautiful, with all the facilities like a nice swimming pool and the dining room for the delicious breakfast and the delicious "Table d'Hôtes" meals that Sandrine prepared for the clients together with Marc her husband, the kindness and hospitality of Marc & Sandrine, everything contributed to a unforgettable holiday.Warmly recommended

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freudenburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We just return from la Roche d esteil, wonderful, very nice, rooms in retro French style equiped, delicious French breakfast with home made marmelade, helpful Marc and Sandrine,
Merci and see you next year. Jana

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jana t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

This is probably about a 4 1/2 star but, the owners are so nice and helpful, how could you give Sandrine and Marc anything but 5 stars.
We had the room upstairs above the dining area and there was a pleasant view over the acreage outside. It was spacious with en suite and good facilities. Our only complaint was that, in Australia we always get enough to make a cup of tea in the room. This wasn't possible here and we had to run up and down the stairs every time to get a small jug. Also, there's no soap provided. We were assured it is a French thing to bring your own but every other B&B I've stayed in 9 weeks in France supplied soap.
We had a meal here and it was absolutely lovely to dine in and soak up more of the atmosphere of the B&B. Parking is easy as there are multiple spaces provided about 40 metres from the rooms.
It's a convenient base to do Sarlat, Rocamadour, Le Roque-Gageac and other attractions in the Dordogne area.
Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iandsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte Nathalene
3.7 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
629 reviews
3.8 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
544 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
389 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#8 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
931 reviews
9.7 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Roche d'Esteil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Roche d'Esteil

Property: La Roche d'Esteil
Address: Lieu Dit la Croix D Esteil, 24200 Sainte Nathalene, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda > Sainte Nathalene
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sainte Nathalene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin and Karen welcome you, near Sarlat in Perigord, in their beds and breakfast. La Roche d'Esteil : 18th century Farm house set in 5 acres of woodland. Situated 4 miles from the charming medieval town of Sarlat, in the heart of the Dordogne valley. The house, entirely renovated in 2004, has retained all its original character .In the summer months, relax by the pool (for our guests safety the pool is surrounded by a fence) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Roche D'Esteil Sarlat-La-Caneda, France - Sainte Nathalene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing