We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you could ask for ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilchoan House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilchoan
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Just a quick review - we stayed here whilst campervanning around Ardnamurchan and had a wonderful evening chatting in the bar with some locals and the owner/manager Cliff. Cliff was very helpful in finding a power cable to plug in our campervan outside (above and beyond the call of duty) and the rooms were very clean, dry and comfortable (along with a great shower!!). Breakfast was good (although vege option was the usual minus meat) and the price was OK, not cheap though. All in all me an my travelling companion were both very pleased!

Room Tip: Number One was loveley
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timothy_parkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
There are newer reviews for Kilchoan House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2011

This hotel was once quite grand, now you are greeted (if greeted is the right word) with an extractor fan and a garden overrun with weeds.
If there at peak times, you may also be greeted by a camp and caravan site in the grounds right beside the hotel, which is not what you expect to find in a hotel charging upwards of £70 a night.
The food was simply inedible, it may be a difficult place to get to, but the food they have in the freezer could at least have once been decent.
Bedrooms were adorned by plastic flowers of the kind found in gravewards and hallways smelt of overpowering plug in air freshners of the cheapest variety.
All in all, don't stay. Make a day trip over to the area from Mull, but don't pay to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clearlymagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

I booked a two night stay via the internet, only after booking did i find these reviews, which made me consider cancelling our stay. Luckily for me i decided to go and make my own descision, i could always find alternative accomodation if needed.
Our first impression was reasonable, we were given a room on the second floor which was spacious, clean as any previous hotel we had stayed in, and had stunning views. We unpacked and decided to go to the nearby Sonachan Hotel for our evening meal, big mistake, behind the bar was the most obnoxious, rude, young lad who was being extremely offhand to a foriegn tourist, up we got and retreated back to the Kilchoan, we had a perfectly acceptable meal and then retired to the atmospheric cosy bar, over a few drinks we had a chat with the landlord and other tourists.
The follwing day we sampled a full breakfast and again found it to be perfectly acceptable, the evening meal was a friday night fish supper in paper, which is a hotel speciality and was fantastic, evidenced by the place being full to bursting. Another night in the bar, our two little dogs were allowed in the bar with us, chatting to the locals and tourists confirmed to us that this was a great base to see the beautiful Ardnamurchan peninsular.
To be fair there are some negatives to the Hotel, the decor does look a little dated, although a large investment has obviously been made with new double glazing throughout the hotel, which keeps it warm and cosy, the tv was the smallest i had ever seen, although we enjoyed ourselves so much chatting in the bar we hardly had time to watch it, and a lot of the food was of the deep fried variety, having said that what we had we enjoyed and found it acceptable for the price.
This is a characterful hotel in a beautiful remote location, we had a great stay with our two Schnauzers,the owner and the staff were friendly and knowledgeable and the cost was what we would expect to pay. we also had the comfiest bed ever.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lordthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

We were thoroughly impressed by the hotel and staff. Our room was excellent., the food too. The owner is extremely helpful and has a good local knowledge. I think some of the reviews and totally unfair and wonder if they describing the some hotel and we stayed in !As to the person who criticized the kettle what did he expect to find, a cooker! Guest supplies were most generous
We look forward to our next stay.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank bookbham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Ardnamurchan is an amazing and incredidbly beautiful place but I'm not sure that even the pleasure of being there can be enough compensation for having to stay at somewhere so obviously over priced and generally quite poor as this place. There are a few positives -the land lord was pleasant, as was the chef/barmaid who sort of greeted us when we arrived. The bed was also really comfortable and the room was pretty clean. However, the whole place looks shabby and doesn't feel welcoming. The pub area is too small and poorly laid out, therefore it is very difficult to find a seat, then almost impossible to navigate your way to the toilet or bar once seated. The room we were in was directly above the bar and very noisy, particularly on friday night, when a music session seemed to start at about midnight. The food is also quite unpleasant and again, over priced. Even breakfast was at best described as unusual -educational though, as I never before realised that it was possible (though not desirable) to deep fry a mushroom.
I have stayed at the Sonachan Hotel before and the accomodation there is much better, although the food there also leaves something to be desired. I think that self catering is probaly the safest option next time we stay on the penninsula.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fussytraveller36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

This hotel, contrary to some of the comments i read prior to my arrival, is a great little place. There was a great cosy, family feel to it, with live music from locals ad tourists in the bar, and a nice sun-catching terrace out front for a relaxing pint during the day. The staff were very accomodating and with the attitude that nothing was too much trouble. Refreshing! Cliff's knowledge of the area was greatly appreciated as, despite being clearly busy, he went beyond the call of duty and expectation to help us in any way he could. Very well recieved indeed. The food was tasty, honest home-cooking. Well priced, and good portions. The bar was relaxed with a a real friendly vibe, and the selection of different top-row malts was a nice touch as well.

All in all, the place was everything and more than we expected. Some may say it is a bit rustic or too traditional, and this may be the case for some, however, as one comment has already stated, if you want a modern, clynical, run-of-the-mill, know-what-to-expect hotel complete with soundproof walls, 24 hour reception, concierge and room service then go to a 5 star city centre hotel and miss out on the beauty and welcome feel that this little place has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimmyC8886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

This hotel did not live up to the website description. It was extremely shabby and run down. The towels in the bathroom were thin, frayed and very small - in fact if I had towels like that at home I would be using them as dusters. The room info folder boasts that there are visitor books dating back to 1951, well it would seem that the hotel has not been decorated or refurbished since then. The room was not very clean either, with lots of dust behind the bedside cabinets (I was too afraid to check behind the bed.) It is also a very noisy place with loud music in the bar every night we were there. This place is really a pub with rooms, there is actually no reception, you just register at the bar.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotsquine7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilchoan
5.2 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
714 reviews
12.0 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
11.7 mi away
Loch Shiel Hotel
Loch Shiel Hotel
#2 of 2 in Acharacle
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
19.4 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
17.2 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilchoan House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilchoan House Hotel

Address: Acharacle, Argyll, PH36 4LH,, Kilchoan PH36 4LH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Ardnamurchan Peninsula > Kilchoan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilchoan
Price Range: £94 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kilchoan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilchoan House Hotel Ardnamurchan Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing