We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great setting, yummy food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilchoan House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilchoan
glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great setting, yummy food”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Off-the-beaten track country house, reasonably priced for what you get, owners/staff welcoming, restaurant/pub definitely worth a stop, home-made, delicious food, it was filled with locals too, which is always a good sign. Beautiful and quiet part of Scotland.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summer52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    41
    24
    14
    8
See reviews for
26
57
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Probably the best fish and chips I have had in a VERY long time, and that is saying something as we have travelled from st ives in Cornwall. I fully recommend the scampi and curry sauce.
Friendly and extremely efficient bar staff serving 2 bars, nearly 100 punters and serving the food.
Fantastic views to boot!
Go there!

Room Tip: Go on a Friday for the chippy night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark_Fletcher2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Not a very nice hotel if you are after a quiet break. We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of July, the first night we were awakened by drunks outside our door at 2am for about 20 minutes before getting up and asking them to be quiet, one of them a member of staff. The second night other drunks banging on our door and trying to get in at 2-45am. Breakfasts on both mornings were undercooked, pink in centre and cold. No lights working in bathroom and no hot water on the second morning. Meals on the Friday night were fish n chip choice, and on Saturday night, pizzas. The nearest Hotel for a proper meal was 6 miles further up the road. Beautiful scenery, and great clean beaches, shame about the Hotel. We and other customers complained to owner next morning and were offered compensation, some who were staying longer canceled further nights.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the top floor as most of the noise can be heard here and some staff have rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca D, General Manager at Kilchoan House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Once more we were really disappointed to read of your comments regarding your stay at the The Kilchoan Hotel nearly four weeks ago. We are grateful for your acknowledgment of compensation by us on departure to try and in some way make up for your inconvenience. Unfortunately, we had to deal with losing our chef on the busiest day of the year during all of the local gala celebrations and festivities. Since taking over we have been determined to prepare all of our food from fresh, seasonal ingredients which as I’m sure you will appreciate is not often the easiest way. We wish to remain true to our principles and philosophy on food. What is good news for us however is that in the four weeks since your disappointing stay we have been receiving good, positive feedback from the majority of our guests (some of whom have even posted on Trip Advisor).
We also experienced problems with our boiler during your stay as you have said and this problem has now been addressed.
We have a mission of what we want to achieve here at the hotel and as we acknowledged previously this has not been easy for us but we are determined that we will focus on the job that lies ahead and that The Kilchoan Hotel will provide the kind of highland hospitality and food that both tourists and locals look for.
Please see below my response of 31st July,
We were really sorry to read of your disappointing stay. As you can see from recent reviews, we are striving to improve all aspects of The Kilchoan since taking over, and take all your comments on board.
This was an exceptional weekend for us - one of the busiest of the year - which unfortunately coincided with the resignation of our chef, who found living somewhere as remote as Ardnamurchan quite difficult. We are quickly rectifying the situation and returning to our high standards of hospitality.
As you may know from previous visits, our menu normally ranges from the basics done properly - like excellent fish and chips to our new and hugely popular (entirely homemade) pizzas and special features like local seafood and game from the estate. We also really pride ourselves on generous and well-prepared breakfasts.
You sadly haven’t seen us at our best.
I do hope my having refunded the cost of accommodation at the time of your departure went part way to reparate these issues you experienced.
Rebecca Deboys
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kilchoan hotels

Larbert
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stopped in here for some refreshment whilst staying locally 20th July. Nice bar ales, lager, meals and pizza.
Welcomed my two deerhounds and provided water for them. The local laird has deerhounds and he passed by and we chatted. A really nice friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arrachogaidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

After reading some reviews on here I did not hold much hope for my overnight stay but I had a great trip. I arrived on the Thursday and was starving after a long trip (from Edinburgh) so ordered the fish and chips which I thought was lovely and great value for money. My partner had the burger and struggled to finish it much to his dismay as he loved it, apparently its common for people not to be able to finish it as its a massive portion. The staff were lovely and smiley and the locals were great fun - we planned an early night but ended up staying up with them until 1am. Our room was a lovely 4 poster bed with crisp white sheets (I have OCD so this was key for me) so I slept brilliantly. The next day I indulged in the full breakfast - the ideal remedy after our late night. Ok this may not be a boutique hotel but good food, friendly staff and a comfy bed all for a pretty reasonable rate are good enough for me. I hope to be passing through again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsmat2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed one night this last Friday. Seething with people inside and out after local pram race and continued to seeth most of the night as party noise went on till three in the morning, including partying staff members outside guest rooms. A good vet could have revived the breakfast and got it walking again - barely cooked and black pudding stone cold. Dogs in the dining room at breakfast too! Vomit on front door step as we checked out - yum yum!
Mobbed again inside and out on the Saturday night. Tried for a bar supper but it was pizza, pizza or pizza served in a box for £9 or so - said no thanks and went to the Sonachan Hotel. I am sorry to say that the best thing about the Kilchoan hotel is the road to Sonachan Hotel which was clean, welcoming and the food was great. Very disappointing as we have been staying at Kilchoan on and off over thirty years or so.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AilishTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca D, General Manager at Kilchoan House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
We were really sorry to read of your disappointing stay. As you can see from recent reviews, we are striving to improve all aspects of The Kilchoan since taking over, and take all your comments on board.
This was an exceptional weekend for us - one of the busiest of the year - which unfortunately coincided with the resignation of our chef, who found living somewhere as remote as Ardnamurchan quite difficult. We are quickly rectifying the situation and returning to our high standards of hospitality.
As you may know from previous visits, our menu normally ranges from the basics done properly - like excellent fish and chips to our new and hugely popular (entirely homemade) pizzas and special features like local seafood and game from the estate. We also really pride ourselves on generous and well-prepared breakfasts.
You sadly haven’t seen us at our best.
I do hope my having refunded the cost of accommodation at the time of your departure went part way to reparate these issues you experienced.

Rebecca Deboys
General Manager
31/07/2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We only ate here and at first were a little disappointed that there is a limited menu on a Friday due to it being Fish and Chip night. We didn't really fancy fish and chips until several people around us received their's. As they looked so good we just had to try some and were not disappointed. Sometimes there can be too many options on a menu!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaff_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilchoan
12.0 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
5.2 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
686 reviews
20.9 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Loch Shiel Hotel
Loch Shiel Hotel
#3 of 3 in Acharacle
70 reviews
19.4 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
17.2 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilchoan House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilchoan House Hotel

Property: Kilchoan House Hotel
Address: Acharacle, Argyll, PH36 4LH,, Kilchoan PH36 4LH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Ardnamurchan Peninsula > Kilchoan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilchoan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kilchoan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilchoan House Hotel Ardnamurchan Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing