We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilchoan House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilchoan
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Very average.....”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Visited for dinner on a Sunday evening in October half term whilst we were staying in the local village for a few days. We went in at lunch time to book a table, as we had trouble finding somewhere to eat on the Saturday evening.
We were told there was no menu that evening, just a roast or a vegetarian option. The roast was enjoyed by all but I opted for the vegetarian option which turned out to be half a stuffed courgette!?!
When it came to pudding time we got told there was nothing left but they had some ice cream in the freezer!
Service was good and friendly but to be honest I felt the lack of choice of places to eat in the area had lead to a lack of any real effort being made to give us an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AWilliams1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca D, Manager at Kilchoan House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear AWilliams 1978,
Thank’s for taking the time to review your recent visit to the hotel.
We are sorry that not all components of your meal were as they should be and that the choice was limited. This is purely down to the quieter time of year (or so we thought) and wanting to avoid waste on freshly prepared food. We endeavour to provide a fresh vegetarian option at all times and are really sorry that the Stuffed cougette did not fit the bill on this occasion. We are sorry also that all we had left was ice-cream for dessert. We were very busy that day with a considerable amount of walk in business that took us by surprise. Nonetheless, it's no excuse especially as you had the ‘foresight’ to book a table earlier in the day. We will take this all on board and learn from this. I have passed on your feedback to our kitchen team as well as we strive to improve.Thank you also for your balanced remarks regarding the rest of the food and service.
We hope that we are able to welcome you back to the Kilchoan Hotel sometime in the future when we will certainly have more on offer than ice cream for dessert.
Your Sincerely
Rebecca Deboys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    41
    24
    14
    8
See reviews for
26
57
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We visited here for dinner one evening while staying nearby. The best fish and chips I've had in a long time. The fish was fresh out of the local waters that day and looking at the beautiful location of Kilchoan, that made it even more appetising. I reckon their missing a bit of a trick by not making a house special tartar sauce.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brachernet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Off the beaten track. A very welcoming Country House. Very welcoming by all the staff. Food was excellent best fish & chips ever !!! Everything fresh & homemade good choice from the menu.Fantastic views easy to find different areas of this very beautiful part of Scotland.The bar filled with locals @ night and was a very friendly atmosphere.Rooms were large and brilliant views from within. If you like peace & quiet go there, it is fantastic. Sad to leave.

Room Tip: Ask fot the four poster bedroom, the view from the room is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Off-the-beaten track country house, reasonably priced for what you get, owners/staff welcoming, restaurant/pub definitely worth a stop, home-made, delicious food, it was filled with locals too, which is always a good sign. Beautiful and quiet part of Scotland.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summer52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Probably the best fish and chips I have had in a VERY long time, and that is saying something as we have travelled from st ives in Cornwall. I fully recommend the scampi and curry sauce.
Friendly and extremely efficient bar staff serving 2 bars, nearly 100 punters and serving the food.
Fantastic views to boot!
Go there!

Room Tip: Go on a Friday for the chippy night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark_Fletcher2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Not a very nice hotel if you are after a quiet break. We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of July, the first night we were awakened by drunks outside our door at 2am for about 20 minutes before getting up and asking them to be quiet, one of them a member of staff. The second night other drunks banging on our door and trying to get in at 2-45am. Breakfasts on both mornings were undercooked, pink in centre and cold. No lights working in bathroom and no hot water on the second morning. Meals on the Friday night were fish n chip choice, and on Saturday night, pizzas. The nearest Hotel for a proper meal was 6 miles further up the road. Beautiful scenery, and great clean beaches, shame about the Hotel. We and other customers complained to owner next morning and were offered compensation, some who were staying longer canceled further nights.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the top floor as most of the noise can be heard here and some staff have rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca D, General Manager at Kilchoan House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Once more we were really disappointed to read of your comments regarding your stay at the The Kilchoan Hotel nearly four weeks ago. We are grateful for your acknowledgment of compensation by us on departure to try and in some way make up for your inconvenience. Unfortunately, we had to deal with losing our chef on the busiest day of the year during all of the local gala celebrations and festivities. Since taking over we have been determined to prepare all of our food from fresh, seasonal ingredients which as I’m sure you will appreciate is not often the easiest way. We wish to remain true to our principles and philosophy on food. What is good news for us however is that in the four weeks since your disappointing stay we have been receiving good, positive feedback from the majority of our guests (some of whom have even posted on Trip Advisor).
We also experienced problems with our boiler during your stay as you have said and this problem has now been addressed.
We have a mission of what we want to achieve here at the hotel and as we acknowledged previously this has not been easy for us but we are determined that we will focus on the job that lies ahead and that The Kilchoan Hotel will provide the kind of highland hospitality and food that both tourists and locals look for.
Please see below my response of 31st July,
We were really sorry to read of your disappointing stay. As you can see from recent reviews, we are striving to improve all aspects of The Kilchoan since taking over, and take all your comments on board.
This was an exceptional weekend for us - one of the busiest of the year - which unfortunately coincided with the resignation of our chef, who found living somewhere as remote as Ardnamurchan quite difficult. We are quickly rectifying the situation and returning to our high standards of hospitality.
As you may know from previous visits, our menu normally ranges from the basics done properly - like excellent fish and chips to our new and hugely popular (entirely homemade) pizzas and special features like local seafood and game from the estate. We also really pride ourselves on generous and well-prepared breakfasts.
You sadly haven’t seen us at our best.
I do hope my having refunded the cost of accommodation at the time of your departure went part way to reparate these issues you experienced.
Rebecca Deboys
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kilchoan hotels

Larbert
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stopped in here for some refreshment whilst staying locally 20th July. Nice bar ales, lager, meals and pizza.
Welcomed my two deerhounds and provided water for them. The local laird has deerhounds and he passed by and we chatted. A really nice friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arrachogaidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilchoan
12.0 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
5.2 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
686 reviews
20.9 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Loch Shiel Hotel
Loch Shiel Hotel
#3 of 3 in Acharacle
71 reviews
19.4 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
17.2 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilchoan House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilchoan House Hotel

Property: Kilchoan House Hotel
Address: Acharacle, Argyll, PH36 4LH,, Kilchoan PH36 4LH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Ardnamurchan Peninsula > Kilchoan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilchoan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kilchoan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilchoan House Hotel Ardnamurchan Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing