We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hosts in traditional, quiet guesthouse”
Review of Yew Tree House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grassington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yew Tree House
Ranked #9 of 20 Grassington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Conveniently located within a couple of minutes walk from Grassington village centre and it’s pubs/eating places, this traditional style guesthouse is a good base for exploring the Yorkshire Dales. I’d recommend that you check for directions in advance on Google Street View or similar as the house is tucked down a narrow road at the edge of the village. It provides a peaceful setting but you're unlikely to drive-by unless you're lost. There is parking for a few cars on the driveway.

We were running later than scheduled for our arrival after exploring nearby Malham in almost tropical temperatures however Julie was on hand to meet us with some welcome iced lemon water. We had pre-booked the “Green Room” on the first floor level direct by phone at £84 B&B.

It was decorated in a light traditional fashion and with windows to the front and side it was bright and reasonably spacious. We were only staying one night and didn’t unpack our bags however there was adequate wardrobe and drawer space for a longer stay. Tea/coffee making facilities, a small flat screen television, radio/clock alarm and even a hot water bottle were provided - not that we needed the latter. We visited during an unusually hot spell of weather which made for an uncomfortably warm night for sleeping, not helped personally by a very soft mattress. Everyone of course has preferences in this regard and it may be ideal for others!

The ensuite had an electric shower in a compact cabinet - no bath. Lavender toiletries were provided.

Breakfast was served on the ground floor around a communal dining table and included a traditional bacon, eggs, sausage, selection together with a few options which could be pre-selected the night before - e.g. scrambled egg with salmon or smoked fish. Prepared fresh fruit was also available to accompany cereals and homemade jam for the toast. I found the scrambled egg with salmon a bit over salted but breakfast in general was pleasant in the company of fellow guests with Julie & Sandy as hosts joining the conversation.

In the evening we dined at The Foresters Arms in the village which provides a reasonable selection of pub meals.

Overall I’d say that this is a very pleasant looking traditional guesthouse with friendly hosts well located in a peaceful village for exploring the Dales. We enjoyed a hike across to Conistone Dib with lunch at nearby Kilnsey on our second day in the area. Guide maps and advice can be obtained from the helpful local Tourist Information Centre/Gift Shop (where parking is also available for £4 for the day after check-out). The guesthouse also has lots of information about the area in the residents lounge on the first floor if you’ve got the time to browse and see http://www.grassingtonweb.co.uk/walks/index.asp for many suggested trails.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rantin rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Yew Tree House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2013

We visited Yew Tree House a few weeks ago as a little treat for my Birthday. Myself and my Wife both ride motor cycles and I rang and spoke to Julie prior to travelling and she made sure that we were able to put our Bikes in their garage upon our arrival . Once again our hosts were what can only be discribed as wonderful. our room was perfect and spotless and we were greated with that lovely warm welcome that our hosts must becoming quite famous for. If you are looking for a peacful and friendly place to stay in grassington with lovely rooms , which is a short 2 minute walk from the village shops, cafes and pubs and is a great central location for lots of attractions....THEN LOOK NO FURTHER....and i f you are lucky you may be able to book one of the lovely rooms at Yew tree House.
As an added bonus you will also be able to partake of the AWARD winning breakfast which is well worth the visit on it's own.
This was our second visit but will most definatly not be our last.
Many Thanks for our wonderful but all too short stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally excellent and the quiet location at the top of the village has little or no tr...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RVandRueben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed here on our trip to the Dales and we were so surprised by the superior quality of this B&B - especially since we didn't book it ourselves. The decoration and cleanliness was faultless, our room was spacious and welcoming (we had the Blue room). Every detail has had so much care and attention put into it. It is also an Environmentally conscious B&B, and a firm supporter of local produce. You can see this evident throughout the B&B. Our hosts Julie and Andrew were very welcoming and warm, we received daily weather updates from Andrew for our walks in the Dales and wonderful breakfasts from Julie.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Satinder2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We had a great time staying at Yew Tree House. We were met with a yummy tray of tea and cake and made to feel at home straight away, The room was superbly decorated with everything you could need. Julie and Andrew worked so well as a team. The breakfast was delicious and their company was appreciated. They were also very accommodating to our 18 month old daughter. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SS_Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

This is my second stay at Yew Tree House and I can highly recommend it. Julie and Andrew are very welcoming and so hospitable. Lovely rooms and so peaceful, yet a few minutes walk into Grassington main square. Excellent breakfast and a lot of choice. Am looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Elaine and I arrived to a very warm welcome from Julie and Andrew, beautiful room and the softest bed we have ever been in. Lovely clean rooms with an excellent breakfast, only two things that were not perfect for us personally, booking in after 4.00pm and checking out for 10am, when only staying 1 night, seemed a bit of a rush especially as the place is so nice would have liked just that little more time.
Breakfasting with other couples is not really relaxing although we did enjoy the meal and the other guests were great, is just that position of not having a choice. 3 smaller tables for two is better than 1 table for six! However do not want to detract too much from the fact that it is a lovely venue and we were well looked after, thank you Julie and Andrew.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raygcoach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

This is the best b+b i have ever stayed in.If you like things perfect this is the place for you. Andrew and Julie are lovely. No doubt about it , 5 star .The location is brilliant too right in the heart of the village but really peaceful.

Room Tip: If you like a bath choose the cream room.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grassington
0.1 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
132 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grassington Lodge
Grassington Lodge
#1 of 20 in Grassington
585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashfield House
Ashfield House
#6 of 20 in Grassington
276 reviews
1.5 mi away
Orchard House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yew Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yew Tree House

Address: Yew Tree House Scar Street | Grassington, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Grassington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grassington
Price Range: £27 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yew Tree House is an excellent base for exploring the Dales on foot or by bicycle, car or public transport. We have ample parking and, whilst situated in a quiet location, we are two minutes walk from the main village square. We offer a warm welcome together with quality, spacious and comfortable accommodation. There are three bedrooms - one with a standard double bed, one with a king sized bed and one with a super-king bed that can alternatively be configured as a twin. Each bedroom is complete with an en-suite containing a walk in shower, hand basin and WC. One en-suite also has a full size enameled bath. All the bedrooms have generous tea/coffee making facilities, flat screen colour TVs with separate CD/DVD players, and iPod/iPhone bedside docking stations incorporating alarm clocks/FM radios. There is on-site car parking, and guests have use of a comfortable sitting room where there is a large display of local books and tourist information. We also offer a high speed WiFi network, available in all rooms and free of charge. Vegetarian, gluten and/or dairy free free breakfasts provided if required. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yew Tree House Grassington, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing