We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Farm Cottage”
Review of Bridge End Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grassington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bridge End Farm
Ranked #12 of 20 Grassington B&B and Inns
Reading
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Charming Farm Cottage”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Just spent 2 nights at Bridge End Farm, peaceful, lovely location on Wharfedale River Bank, on edge of Grassington. The owners were very welcoming, resident's lounge available and use of garden to enjoy.
Fantastic cooked breakfast around a long oak table.

Bedroom ensuite but a little small, but would return to use Kingfisher Suite.

Highly Recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MiartReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    13
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
37
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed for five nights (our second stay) in the Kingfisher suite which is adjoined to the main house and has its own kitchen area with a fridge, microwave and toaster. Breakfast in the main house was excellent. The garden is absolutely gorgeous -it backs on to the river and as we had good weather we were able to sit outside and enjoy the views. Robin and Beryl are excellent hosts and we will definitely return

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed in the Kingfisher suite, which has its own kitchen amenities. The mattress was a little soft, but even so we had good nights sleep & then a delicious breakfast, at a shared table, which was fun for sharing experiences. Unfortunately the weather was not good enough to enjoy the beautiful garden.

Room Tip: The kingfisher room offered plenty of space & your own entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sajackie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed at Bridge End with my son over the Bank Holiday weekend. We used it as a base for walking in the Dales. It is 5 to 10 minutes walk from the centre of Grassington with a garden that backs onto the river. The location is perfect for exploring Grassington and the Dales (near the village but far enough away to be very peaceful).
The B&B is quaint and very clean, the wi-fi excellent ( a must fro my 14 year old son and me!) and the breakfast great. Robin and Beryl are great hosts and full of advice on where to walk and other things to do.
It had been 15 years since I had been in the Dales and Bridge End made me fall in love with the area all over again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffs
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We made the right choice selecting this 16th century b&b . Good location for walking and a 10 minute walk up into town , it was perfect . Loved the character inside the house and Robin was a very helpful host . Serving up a very good breakfast and if you request can have evening meals as well . Will hopefully return to Grassington soon and we know where we will be staying....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Quintessentially British, this charming B&B may not be everyone's cup of tea but you certainly can't fault the effort that Robin and his wife go to to make you feel welcome and at home. As an old, characterful cottage it obviously has its fair share of creaking floors, interesting up-and-down stairways and anyone tall will need to walk around in a permanent stoop to prevent knocking yourself out on the beams however the rooms are clean, well prepared and comfortable albeit one of the singles had an extremely hard mattress! We had the luxury of booking out the whole house for a family birthday celebration and it was perfect in that we (3 generations of family with elderly grandparents and small children) could spread out and make the most of the rooms and the space offered. I'm not sure if I would be as keen to stay if it were just two of us as the communal area upstairs, although fabulous for a party or larger group, would be too cramped I feel and a bit obtrusive if there were a number of guests staying. Yes there are some extremely outdated and old fashioned elements to the house but they add to its 'olde worlde' feel and ambience. It is slightly disconcerting to have the owners come round and check the lights and curtains at midnight as we were convinced there was an intruder in the house but that's a minor issue. One of our family stayed in the Kingfisher Suite which gave them privacy and space plus the marvellously indulgent opportunity to lie in bed with a cuppa and listen to the nesting geese and watch the river meander by however we did have to request that the security lights outside the windows be turned off as they are extremely bright and prevented the smaller children from sleeping. All in all, with fabulous breakfasts and hosts who bent over backwards to accommodate us, if you are looking for modern comforts and clean lines with a sense of space then this isn't for you. If you want to immerse yourself in a quintessentially british cottage environment, slightly haphazard but lovingly put together, then you will thoroughly enjoy your stay. I can recommend the pubs in Grassington for food and ambience - just a short walk away.

Room Tip: If you like a large, comfy bed and are a couple travelling together I recommend the large double as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emsie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinBray, Owner at Bridge End Farm, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thanks very much for your review. We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our efforts to make the weekend a success. We are not used to catering for such a large group (I think that there were twelve of you including the non residents that you invited) and the guest lounge did seem packed, it is really only designed for a maximum of six and with that number I do think we have adequate space. Your issue with the security lights (which come on via a movement sensor) was exacerbated because of the comings and goings in the car park, including your non resident guests leaving and those going for a cigarette, however we will look at putting an additional blind on the door which would have helped in this case. This is only a problem in the children's sleeping area as the main bedroom in the suite is at the other side of the house. We do like to ensure the guard on the fire is in place and to switch the night lights on before going to bed and sorry if this disturbed you. Whether you prefer a soft or firm mattress is highly subjective and we do have some of our regulars who prefer the slightly firmer one.

Hopefully our web site does give a reasonably accurate description of what to expect, we do have some low beams and the very tall (I think one in your party was 6ft 4ins) do have to mind their head although to walk around in a permanent stoop is bit of an exaggeration. For those seeking more space then the Kingfisher suite is the better option.

Once again thanks for the review and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasbourg, France
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here twice, in October and during the festive period. The Kingfisher suite is excellent. Breakfasts around a large farmhouse kitchen table. Great helpful hosts and an idyllic location next to the river Wharfe. Wifi for those who cannot holiday without it. Facilities are clean, tidy and homely.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dalesman_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grassington
0.3 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
117 reviews
2.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
793 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grassington Lodge
Grassington Lodge
#1 of 20 in Grassington
578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashfield House
Ashfield House
#5 of 20 in Grassington
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge End Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge End Farm

Property: Bridge End Farm
Address: Bridge End Farm Linton FALLS | Threshfield, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Grassington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grassington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllic 17th century riverside cottage offering en-suite bed and breakfast accommodation close to Grassington village. Large garden, ample parking and a warm welcome await. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bridge End Farm Hotel Grassington
Bridge End Farm Grassington, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing