We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Self catering Apartment disappointing”
Review of Ashfield House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ashfield House
Ranked #5 of 20 Grassington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Self catering Apartment disappointing”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Ashfield House hotel was attractive - lovely garden. When we were shown to the apartment we were surprised to find the place looking old fashioned. The bed was not made neatly. However the apartment was very central and had everything we needed. It is in central Grassington - very easy road access to lots of great places to visit and a good range of shops/ galleries/ cafes. It has it's own parking. The down side of the position is the noise from the main road- huge tractors powered up the hill every night as late as 1am. The apartment felt basic and had cheap furnishings/ appliances. The TV was hard to use and didn't have the correct aspect ratio. It's very out dated. The mattress was not comfortable - buttons sticking in me. The waterproof under sheet was crispy and creased and very uncomfortable and hot so we removed it. We found the owner Joe friendly and he and Rosa were helpful. Joe's personality may not be to everyone's taste.

Room Tip: stay in the hotel not the apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atypicalpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    41
    14
    9
    4
See reviews for
20
194
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Joe, Elizabeth and Rosa came to our rescue as we had been let down with our wedding venue with 6 weeks to go. No words could ever thank them enough for their hard work and detail for our planned wedding. To give ten out of ten for food just would not do it justice. We'd like to thank Elizabeth for her had work in making the garden look amazing. The garden suite which we had for two days was out of this world. Only downside is that day went too quick. All out family and friends were truly amazed by it all. So the biggest thank you ever to joe, Elizabeth and the team. We will be back.

Corrine and Simon Fleming

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ratty1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Ashfield House is run by a great team of people, who make your stay with them so welcoming, that you know you will go back.... ..Booked a two day stay for my Birthday, as we love Grassington.. Joe and Elizabeth are really lovely people, seriously. The welcome, the attention to detail, the friendliness is impeccable. I have a vegan and gluten free diet, so when i made the booking, i spoke to Rosa, who took all my details, and nothing was a problem at all, my dietary requirements would be met....The room was lovely with a pretty view of the extremely well-kept gardens, nice clean white hot fluffy towels, dressing gowns and slippers, some gluten free biscuits for me with the tea and coffee making facilities... The meal at night was perfect, mine was beautiful and cooked to perfection. Served and presented well, and the waitress wearing white cotton gloves really made an impression with me. As it was my Birthday the weekend before, it was all noted in the booking, and i was presented with balloons, a lit candle in my sweet, a certificate and a present after my evening meal, how lovely, i was really touched...!! Breakfast was just the same, great service, a good choice of food, home made gluten free granola/muesli with a choice of almond or soya milk. Can't possibly say anything more than 'Thank you Joe, Elizabeth, Rosa and the girls, we loved meeting you, loved Ashfield House, and we will be back for sure'.... :) It really is as pretty as the picture, oldy-worldy, quaint and very clean.......So for all you lovers of The Dales, book into Ashfield House, Summers Fold, Main Street, Grassington, meet these wonderful people and have a lovely, relaxing stay....... :) :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the mini garden suite, it has a view of the very pretty garden, and two comfortable cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DustyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This was our second stay at Ashfield House with Joe & Elizabeth, this time over the May bank holiday. It was my birthday treat, as we both love the area as it has so much to offer and I wanted to be back somewhere that I had happy memories from. And I was not disappointed, as we had a most enjoyable time. Weather was good, Ashfield House & garden a delight & our room very comfy with super homemade cookies to go with the tea and coffee. Plus fresh milk delivered daily. None of those horrid little fiddly carton things. The house is full of character and location is in the heart of Grassington so you can walk to everything, but it is set back off the road so lovely and quiet. Evening meals are cooked using fresh local ingredients, some from the garden and we both loved our full English breakfasts, a bit too much. So many thanks Joe and Elizabeth for making it so special a birthday and hopefully we will stay with you again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed here for 3 days whilst I attended a wedding. The owners ate lovely people and nothing is too much trouble. They go out their way to make you feel welcome. They even ce to pick me up from the next village one evening when I got stuck with a taxi service. The hotel is clean and of high standard with a warm and cosy feel to it. It's in the heart of Grassington so a great location. Would highly recommend and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank helen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We spent a thoroughly enjoyable Easter weekend in Grassington. Ashfield house is in the centre of the village in a good location. Parking is a little tight, but Joe our host has it we'll organised. Joe and Elizabeth were wonderful hosts and made us feel very welcome. When we left it was like saying goodbye to old friends. We were greeted on arrival with home made cake, there were home made cookies in the room each day and we received an Easter egg on Easter Sunday. The bed was very comfortable, the room was very clean and the little touches made it homely. Joe and Elizabeth were both very helpful with recommendations on places to eat and places to visit. I would highly recommend this as a lovely, friendly, traditional place to stay, with lots of character.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julesA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed over Easter weekend with my son and his girlfriend; couldn't fault a thing in the place or the service. The hosts were excellent, nothing was too much trouble and they were genuinely interested in you having a good stay. Location is spot on being in the heart of the village. I gather TVs in rooms are being replaced this week although they did the limited job you'd need of a TV in a B&B for me. We were in room 6 (over looking the lovely garden) and managed to get the wifi signal but my son was in 7 at far end and couldn't - if I was being picky it would be nice to have wifi in all rooms given most people's desire to be connected but it is available in the ample downstairs public areas. Breakfast was excellent and the nice touches like fresh cookies in the rooms, cake on arrival, and even an Easter egg on the breakfast table definitely made a difference.

Highly recommend a stay here if you are after quality break.

Room Tip: Room 6 is over the garden. Room 7 doesn't have a view at all - faces wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spaggs-n-Wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grassington
0.0 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
117 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
116 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
2.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
793 reviews
18.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashfield House

Property: Ashfield House
Address: 3 Summers Fold, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Grassington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grassington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ashfield House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private guest accommodation with dining facilities where a ‘Long Weekend Break is not Long Enough.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ashfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashfield House Hotel Grassington
Ashfield Hotel Skipton
Ashfield House Grassington, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing