We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family Get Together”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ellesmere

Ellesmere Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ellesmere Cottage
Garden View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
43 reviews
Ellesmere Cottage
Garden View
Dinning kitchen with seating for 10 people
Dinning Kitchen
Sitting Room
Lounge with dual fuel log burner
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master bedroom's en suite
Master bedroom's en suite shower
View of Grassington village from the master bedroom and bedroom 4
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3
House bathroom for bedrooms 2 and 3
House bathroom's separate shower
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 5
House bathroom for bedrooms 4 & 5
Patio area
Stables at the bottom of the garden with exclusive use for guests in the right hand store
Car parking for 1 car (though we have had 2 small cars parked here)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Grassington, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bowyer_11
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“ok for price but return of damage deposit is a nightmare”
Reviewed 2 February 2016 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The property feels a bit uncared for with odds and ends of tired furniture and equipment. There is some damp, as you would expect with a single glazed property of this age. Only 1 of the 3 toilets flushed properly. However, it is probably fairly priced, given its great location.
However, the main problem is the owner’s handling of the damage deposit. He does not offer to return it after your stay – you have to chase him, and how. We also tried contacting Holiday Lettings – who told us that the damage deposit is not covered by the payment protection. We asked for the deposit to be returned to our credit card, as is normal practice, but the owner refused. It is only when we threatened court action that he sent us a cheque. I also have a property on Holiday Lettings and I endeavour to return any funds due to holiday makers within 24 hours not the nearly 2 months it took here. It annoys me that owners like this bring, (the usually excellent), Holiday Lettings site into disrepute.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: difficulty getting security deposit returned
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2016
Thank you for your feedback - fortunately yours was a unique case as you refused to accept a cheque or online bank transfer- we were in discussions with you for over 2 months trying to find a way acceptable to you - in the end you backed down and a cheque was sent the same day. In 4 years of being with Holiday Lettings we have never withheld anyone's deposit - even minor damage such as broken glasses are ignored- You certainly were a unique guest !!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumof2_11
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Family Get Together”
Reviewed 16 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Had a lovely weekend, shame about the rain spoilt it for the dickensian weekend, perfect location and the single beds in the attic was so cosy did not want to get up! To say it was a big cottage i thought it was very warm unlike others we have stayed in, ideal for a family get together. I would highly recommend the Indian in the village - very nice. Good place to stay if you have dogs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire M
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage with plenty of charm, needs a little renovation”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I'd definitely go back as the cottage was great value and had everything we needed and was clean. There was a lot of damp in several of the rooms and the kitchen and living room were very dated and although it didn't affect our stay, after riding over 100 miles in the dales all we wanted was a lovely comfy sofa, but it was a bit old and no longer comfortable. The room we were 'left with' was in the attic and we kept hitting our heads on the beams and as such ended up sleeping in the kids room in small single beds. Not very romantic. It was the worst room though as the other two doubles were really lovely.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2015
Thanks Claire for your comments; I have to say your comments are totally out of sync with other feedback;

I can categorically state there is no damp anywhere!!! - so I find your comments outrageous and totally misleading!!!

I also don't understand your comments regarding the 'room you were left with' ? This is the additional 5th bedroom for guests with more than 8 people and we advise guests that there is restricted head room!!

Finally just to say the 'old sofa' was bought in the last 24 months!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen T
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cottage”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a brilliant stay at Ellesmere. There were three of us and we loved it.
I would say that it would accommodate 5 adults comfortably although there are enough beds for more people.
The great thing is the location, in the heart of Grassington which is such a picturesque village.
Another real bonus is the private parking space and the beautiful garden.
It also has Wifi and Sky etc so you have the best of both worlds. The bathrooms are adequate but not that modern.
Overall it is a great place to stay and I would not hesitate to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the old cottage atmosphere
Liked least: The showers could be a bit more modern but they are adequate
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate B
Stratford-upon-Avon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Potential to be one in a million”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Stayed for a glorious sunny Easter 2015. This is an old property and a bit bashed about. Not one for someone who wants luxury. BUT full of character, brilliant quiet location just off High Street and in wonderful Dales countryside plus allows a dog! With a bit of money spent on it, this would be one in a million.
When we arrived it was freezing and the boiler wasn't working. Paul the owner got a plumber there within 10 minutes and this was 6.30pm on Good Friday! That sort of helpfulness makes up for a lot.
Would stay again, great walks and loads of mountain biking straight from the door!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen1809
Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent house in great location”
Reviewed 9 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Had a wonderful weekend for the Dickenzian a Festival. The house was perfect for our family, all ages from 2-82 !! and dogs !! Will definitely book again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1pop
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely country stay”
Reviewed 29 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We went with our good friends who we travel often with, home and abroad. Our friend David found this cottage and liked the look of the village and cottage. To say it is a cottage is an understatement as it is huge. The best way to the cottage is from the Main Street,There are two parking places for cars on and next to the property. The owners of this building have thought of everything nothing has been left to chance. I found a book on the bookshelf about Ellesmere, written a very long time ago by a young relation of the previous owner. It took me all week to read it at my leisure but i enjoyed every minute reading it. There is also a book about the Grassington murderer which is very interesting . The village of Grassington is a popular tourist attraction for days out ,busy with hikers and day trippers. The pub on the high street is worth a mention with a quiz every Wednesday night. It costs a pound to enter,it's a very good quiz but you get a supper and entry in a prize draw it's starts at nine o'clock and is a good night out. There is a regular bus service into Skipton . Market days are Thursday Friday and Saturday. All in all I can thoroughly recommend the holiday let and the surrounding area.
Pop.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly feel of the place
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing