We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent refurbishment”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ellesmere

Ellesmere Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ellesmere Cottage
Garden View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
46 reviews
Ellesmere Cottage
Garden View
Dinning kitchen with seating for 10 people
Dinning Kitchen
Sitting Room
Lounge with dual fuel log burner
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master bedroom's en suite
Master bedroom's en suite shower
View of Grassington village from the master bedroom and bedroom 4
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3
House bathroom for bedrooms 2 and 3
House bathroom's separate shower
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 5
House bathroom for bedrooms 4 & 5
Patio area
Stables at the bottom of the garden with exclusive use for guests in the right hand store
Private car parking for up to 6 cars available in our 2 parking areas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Grassington, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jan D
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent refurbishment”
Reviewed 9 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We have stayed in this cottage for the last 3 years and always around the same time of year. We initially picked Grassington as our base in the dales as we are all avid walkers we simply love the area and the village as all the amenities we need shops restaurants pubs etc. We choose Ellesmere as when we first came our party consisted of 6 persons , it has a great location in the centre of the village and was competitively priced. After our second visit in 2016 we did consider looking for another cottage for 2017 as we felt the cottage interior was looking a little tired. However we heard via our contacts in the village that it had been refurbished so we booked again for 2017 and we pleased to say that they have done an excellent job. New kitchen which they have reconfigured with an island / breakfast bar, new downstairs toilet and utility room, new upstairs bathroom suite. All internal doors have been replaced, new central heating system installed, new carpets and bedroom furniture.
The only negative for us was that although it has a very modern and new interior when we first arrived we had to do a little cleaning as there was dust on a lot of surfaces and work tops. Having said that we always judge accommodation by asking " would we come back next year ? " our answer after this years visit is simply - definitely. In fact we have already booked again 2018 !!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2017
Thanks Jan for your comments and the cleanliness issue is noted and will be fed back to the cleaners !! hopefully all will be well for your next trip


Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iwan12017
Brecon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great house, great location..!”
Reviewed 5 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The house is perfectly located near the centre of the village. Plenty of off road parking for 4 cars (narrow access, but fine in a 4x4). House is large and really well equipped - large screen tv, underfloor heating, powerful showers, great private garden, patio bathed in sunshine. We'll be staying here again..!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne S
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Negative experience when trying to book”
Reviewed 10 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I contacted the owner about booking over New Year's Eve. I had no reply by email so called direct. They advised that the property was available but the minimum stay was 5 nights, it does not say as much in the terms I have read. I was still ok with this however and asked the cost, they could not tell me. The owner preferred instead for me to email again. I did so and was advised the dates were not available. I emailed regarding slightly different dates and have received no response. I also called them back, there has been no answer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2017
Thanks Suzanne for your feedback and sorry you hadn't read the info fully and her your frustration at missing out on such a great holiday opportunity .- I will feedback to trip advisor if there is any other way they can make it more obvious so others don't have the same issue - hope you managed to find something
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Holden33
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Beautiful House that was lacking TLC”
Reviewed 17 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Stayed here between Christmas and New Year.
The house was situated in a perfect spot in the centre of the village.
The house was big but I must say it was tired, lacking TLC and could have been cleaner.
The house was marketed has having more bathrooms than it actually had and a party of 10 would struggle with one en-suite and one bathroom.
Would suggest a refurb which would enhance the whole house.
Some Christmas decorations would not have gone amiss.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2017
thanks Diane - appreciate your comments and although the people before you age a 5 star feedback we do agree with the sentiments ! which is why we Ellesmere is currently undergoing a £100k full refurb- which will be finished by easter- a bit confused about your comments about number of bathrooms but can confirm there will be 2 full bathrooms plus an ensuite shower too and downstairs bathroom on completion of our renovation - hope you may return and enjoy the upgraded cottage ...many thanks Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen S
Quainton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 29 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Loved our time in this house for a family Xmas holiday. Comfortably accomodated all 10 of us. Plenty of space. Big kitchen and dining room and a cosy lounge. bedrooms were a bit chilly on top floor but not massive issue. This house is in a perfect location. So peaceful and private yet just yards away from the gorgeous village of grassington. Great for nipping into spar when we ran out of milk. Fantastic walks and adventures for those who want that yet just as enjoyable for those who just want to visit local shops , cafes etc. We all felt so sad to leave. Would definetely book again. For the price we paid we were very happy

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2016
Thanks helen for your nice comments - we are installing a. Ew heating system and putting in double glazing throughout so that should sort any issues on the top floor for when you return :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelebear
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, lovely garden”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The house is beautiful to look at, inside it is a little tired in places but it was spotlessly clean when we arrived and very comfortable. The fridge is a little small for such a large house since it can host up to 10 people but we managed. The rooms are all a decent size and worked really well for our party ranging from a 7 year old to a 68 year old.
Parking is a bit tight, there are two spaces, one in the drive next to the garden which is only suitable for a medium sized car, we parked a Ford Focus there and it was just about OK. The second space adjacent to the property is bigger and could fit a larger car.
The location couldn't be better off a quite lane but right in the heart of Grassington. We'd very happily book to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Tricky parking in the drive
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing