We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Yorkshire is best”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of BETTYS BOTHY

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Grassington, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
oldmother...
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Yorkshire.
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Yorkshire is best”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

If you are wanting to see Yorkshire at its best then there can be few places better to stay that Bettys Bothy in Hawkswick, and few better hosts than Penny & Roger (even if he is a Lincolnshire Yeller-belly). The Bothy is cosy, compact and comfortable, and if you have to watch your spending it is afordable. It is open plan with the living area, sleeping area nd kitchen area all flowing into one, with a wet-room off it. I thought it might be that I was getting special treetment as I as on my own, but no, it seems that all guests who go there get a breakfast basket provided for their first morning. Fee range eggs (hens and ducks) fresh fread, cereals and fruit juice and a small carton of milk - now let me ask you, how many self catering cottages do you get treatment like that? Answer: not many! Penny & Roger run HART (Hawkswick Animals aRe Therapy) and have hens, ducks, alpacas, pygmy goats, miniture donkeys, a rabbit, two cats (one with only 3 legs) and Major & Webster their two dogs. The Bothy is about 6 miles from Grassington, 25b minutes drive from Skipton and only 5 mins from Kilnsey Cragg. I saw Buzzards flying over the woods, three very shy Little Owls who do not like having their photo taken (but I got them) and on the first night I was there I saw a Dipper on the rocks/stones and bolders in the River Skirfare just two minutes walk from the front door. The next day following a night of rain the river was too high for them as the rocks where covered over with water. If you are a fan of Emmerdale you must turn right at the end of the snicket and head for Arncliffe, there you will find the "Falcon" public house that was the first "Woolpack" way back in the black andf white days of the show. One well behaved dog is allowed. On a night time I would just stand and listen to the silence. It is a very peacful place to stay and well worth staying there. 10 out of 10

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being at one with nature
Liked least: Having to come home!
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LLaoufir
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just the place to rest and relax”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were looking for somewhere peaceful where we could just relax for the night. Betty's Bothy turned out to be the perfect place to do this. Beautiful surroundings, cosy comfortable accomodation and the wonderful animals for company too. Penny and George made us feel very welcome and we hope to return one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara W
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning, idyllic and unbelievably perfect in every single way!!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

From the moment we booked our stay, Penny and her husband were absolute stars and helped us with anything and everything we could possibly need. We were warmly welcomed by my two new best friends-Major and Webster the dogs! As well as the donkeys, alpacas, hens, goats and a lovely big bunny!! The bothy was absolutely superb: spotless, in pristine condition and so cosy that we didn't want to leave. The kitchen is fully equipped, the shower room ideal, and the queen size bed was luxuriously comfortable. Waking up to a view of the beautiful hillside and lots of happy animals is simply amazing. There's plenty of beautiful walks around the area which we thoroughly enjoyed-thanks to Penny's map!!

We have had the most awesome weekend and will definitely be back! My only complaint...we didn't want to leave! Thank you to Penny and her husband, we'll see you again very soon :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemary...
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great weekend retreat to de-stress”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A lovely cosy retreat for a long weekend. It was lovely to see all the animals especially the Alpacas. Very clean and comfortable accommodation. Good walks straight from the door. Penny & Roger are very attentive hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location - what views
Liked least: Having to go home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallythor...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great base for walking the Dales”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed here a few weeks ago on a trip back to The Dales, visiting family.
Penny & Roger are fantastic hosts, full of local knowledge and provide a 'little bit of heaven ' in the Dales!
The Bothy is cosy, but met all our needs for a long w/e which we spent walking .
Penny & Roger are clearly devoted to the welfare of animals and they provide a wonderful home for their Alpacas, Mini Donkeys, Pygmy goats, various duck breeds and Hens, not forgetting their 2 dogs and cats!
This is a wonderful place to stay if you want to experience Dales life and hear the sounds of the countryside.. a truly peaceful, relaxing place to spend a few days.
We shall be back!! Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C
Brigg, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely little room with everything you need for your stay and with view to die for.”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Compact but cosy. Excellent en suite. I didn't use kitchen but it looked very appealing and all you need. Spotless and well situated for walking, cycling and visiting area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the animals
Liked least: Small narrow access, although I could have left my car in the village.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing