We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service and immaculate rooms”
Review of Grassington Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grassington Lodge
Ranked #1 of 20 Grassington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding service and immaculate rooms”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed for three nights 11th/14th August booked classic double and upgraded to studio.our jaws hit the floor.definitely the cleanest bed &breakfast we have stayed in.nothing is too much trouble for Diane or her staff, breakfast is lovely and first class service,we will be back

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robsmith62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeGLodge, Owner at Grassington Lodge, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
"We will we back" is what we like to hear! Thank you for your comments and I am glad you enjoyed The Suite.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    57
    16
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
422
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, UK
Level 6 Contributor
474 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We've just returned from our annual trip to Grassington Lodge and I'm happy to say it is still every bit as good as our previous eight visits! We stayed in our usual room - Vendale 1 - which has recently been redecorated to a fantastic standard, with one of the biggest and most comfortable beds we have slept in anywhere. The other key element for a B&B is the breakfast, which again was excellent, with high quality locally sourced ingredients. The secret to success for any hotel or B&B has to be consistency, which Diane and her team have clearly mastered so we look forward to returning again in 2015.

Room Tip: The Vendale rooms in the separate annex are great for a quieter stay with plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlanandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeGLodge, Owner at Grassington Lodge, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi Alan & Sally
Your 9th visit....have we all really aged 9 years since your first visit?? Thank you for your continued appreciation of what we offer and recognition that we maintain what we set out to do!
See you next year!
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This place is easy to recommend. It is right in the heart of a village with nice view over the valley. Rooms are well equipped, breakfast is generous and service is excellent. Parking is available by the house. Not the cheapest but good value for the money though.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Korkki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeGLodge, Owner at Grassington Lodge, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Glad that you appreciated that, although we are not the cheapest, we do offer good value for money! Thank you for your review and I hope you will come to stay again.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenbrook, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed at the Grassington Lodge on 29th and 30th July 2014. We can highly recommend this
wonderful B&B in the absolutely gorgeous village of Grassington. We did two of the many walks starting from the village one to Hebden and one to Linton, the scenery was breathtaking!!
The fabulous Yorkshire breakfasts set us up for the day, can't ever remember fried bread tasting so good!
Diane is wonderful, she ensures everyone is well looked after, in fact nothing is too much trouble.
The accommodation was very comfortable and quiet, just what we needed after a very busy time
In the North East.

Room Tip: All the rooms were quiet and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doreen1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeGLodge, Owner at Grassington Lodge, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
It seems we 'ticked the boxes' in terms of an enjoyable stay. Thank you for your favourable review and I hope you will return to us.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Our short stay in Grassington Lodge was quite splendid . We loved the nice touches ...the sherry before you went out to dinner and the chocolates when you came back. We needed to leave early and were offered a bacon sandwich . This was superbly delicious bacon encased in equally delicious bread .

Thank you especially to Florias who looked after us so courteously .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeGLodge, Owner at Grassington Lodge, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
My staff, as well as myself, are committed to good customer service and so I am happy we were able to offer you an early breakfast which you obviously enjoyed! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your review.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Very comfortable accommodation right in the centre of Grassington. Lovely cup of tea on arrival, fresh milk in the fridge and tea making facilities in the room. Spotlessly clean bathroom, although a bit snug! My 6'3" partner was a bit cramped, but not a problem as the rest was faultless. Comfy bed, crisp white bed linen, good TV, spacious area on dressing table, superb breakfast, only sorry we were only there for one night for a wedding.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SycamoreFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeGLodge, Owner at Grassington Lodge, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
The Dales seems to increasingly be a popular venue for weddings - which is hardly surprising! For many guests it is their first experience of this stunning area and we see a lot of re-visits so I hope you will wish to return too!
Many thanks for your review.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed here last month. First problem was the car park - It was full. There were obviously not enough spaces for the guests in the establishment. Got parked when someone else drove out.

Room

The place appeared clean on first inspection - however.. hairs on the shower floor and spider's webs on the windows did not fill with confidence. Room was smallish but I suppose there is a limitation in an older building. Floors very creaky and could do with checking, but again I would expect this in an old building to some extent.

Breakfast

You could smell the breakfast cooking right through the guesthouse. Self service of cereal which was loose and not packed. Toast served in basket instead of toast rack and there was a long delay between serving toast and tea and receiving cooked breakfast. There also seemed to be a limit of two small slices of toast and if you wanted more you had to ask for it which led to another delay. Eggs very "rubbery" and almost cold when served. Diane (the owner I think) was very pleasant but she needs to chase up the kitchen/serving staff to present things hot and on time. I think sometimes the foreign staff struggled to understand requests although they were very polite.

Overall

Unfortunately wi-fi was poor to terrible. This is Yorkshire, and I wouldn't expect it to be brilliant out in the Dales but don't rely on it. This place was good but not top notch for the prices being asked. Maybe I was unlucky or maybe I am not so easily pleased as some. For the price it was disappointing. I was, in view of the reviews, expecting better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grassington
0.1 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
117 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
792 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grassington House
Grassington House
#2 of 20 in Grassington
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassington Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassington Lodge

Property: Grassington Lodge
Address: 8 Wood Lane, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Grassington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grassington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grassington Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GUARANTEED LOWEST PRICES WHEN BOOKED ON OUR 'OFFICIAL SITE'- AND MORE AVAILABILITY THAN ON OTHER BOOKING SITES. Recent WINNERS of Channel 4 TV 'Four in a Bed' for 'Best Value for Money' B & B. Grassington Lodge - an award winning contemporary guest house, offering stylish and luxurious accommodation in a quiet setting 100 yards from the centre of Grassington. Guests will experience first class hospitality and a friendly service. 11 Double en-suite rooms and the 'ultimate in luxury' Suite (sleeps 2), some with 6' wide beds, flat screen TVs, DVD players and DVDs, Molton Brown toiletries, Egyptian cotton bedding, bathrobes and fluffy towels! Free WiFi/internet facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Grassington Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grassington Hotel Grassington
Grassington Lodge Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing