We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT getaway!!!”
Review of Grassington Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grassington Lodge
Ranked #1 of 20 Grassington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“PERFECT getaway!!!”
Reviewed 9 August 2009

We have stayed here many times and its just the PERFECT place to stay in the dales, your made to feel so welcome from the minute you get there, your welcomed with tea and biscuits. The accommodation is just PERFECT you can want for nothing considering this is not a hotel !!!, Its great that you get fresh milk in your room for the tea making facilities. The breakfast again is PERFECT massive choice to eat its certainly a great start to the day. Anyone looking for a place to stay in the dales, I highly recommend Grassington Lodge you certainly won't be disappointed. we certainly will be returning

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    55
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
418
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bulkington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2009

Having read previous reviews, we were both hoping and expecting somewhere special. We were not disappointed. We received a very warm welcome from Diane, who showed us to our room and then offered us complimentary tea and cake. The breakfasts are fantastic and the rooms are so tastfully decorated. Grassington is a great location for touring the dales, quiet but not too remote. Overall we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2009

Stayed at this top class bed and breakfast last weekend and couldn't fault it. We stayed in room 7. Very comfortable king size bed. Bathrobes provided. Hairdryer, Binoculars, tea and coffee making facilities, fridge, two bottles of mineral water provided each day. Molton Brown products in bathroom. Large flat screen TV and DVD player in room and DVD library downstairs where you could borrow DVDs from.

Excellent location for local eating places and also for walking in the beautiful countryside.

Diane the pleasant owner will advise you about local walks and will even provide you with maps.

Lots of little extras which make this place special. Eg. Help yourself to sherry before going out to eat. Chocolates when you arrive back. Print out in reception of local weather forecast. Even insect repellent left out in reception.(wish we had used it)There was a problem with midges and we did get bitten.

Excellent breakfast and the whole place spotlessly clean.

No wonder it has won a gold award.

We will be back

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holly27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

Turning up at the last moment this was a lucky find. We were welcomed by Diane with tea & biscuits who showed us available rooms and allowed us to choose. The room was a little small (although we could have upgraded to a larger room) but decorated and fitted out to a very high standard. The room was comfortable, clean with excellent en suite facilities. The in-room DVD/TV and DVD library downstairs provided welcome entertainment. The delicious full Yorkshire breakfast provided a great start to the day. Highly recommended, we will return again in future years.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d_k_york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2009

This was the second time I have been fortunate enough to stay overnight in Grassington, and I'm pleased to say that Grassington Lodge met my expectations in every way. As an errant Yorkshireman, I always enjoy my brief stays in the Dales, and last night was no exception. The accomodation at the Lodge is first class and no less that I would have expected from a guest house with such a high recomendation. I chose Grassington Lodge after reading an AA review which put it in the top 50 B&Bs in the UK, and I was not disappointed. I had no problem parking in the Lodges good sized car park and the welcome I received was warm but not overbearing. My room was beautifully attired and offered all the facilities that a weary traveller might wish for and a good nights sleep was gratefully enjoyed in the large and particularly comfortable bed. In the morning I took advantage of the complementary internet access in the lounge prior to enjoying what can only be described as 'the finest cooked breakfast in Grassington!!' So, well done Diane and your staff, for making my all but too brief stay an enjoyable opportunity to sample the very best in Yorkshire hospitality, bravo!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2009

Based on reviews and awards received, I was expecting to be really impressed. Grassington Lodge is a nice accommodation but not as outstanding as described. We were in Room 9 and it is nicely decorated but fairly cramped so it was difficult to find space for 2 suitcases that would not result in us tripping over them. Also the shower made a loud whistling noise when used and most of the lighting in the bathroom was not working (owner indicating that the lighting needed a major repair not just a light bulb). Also the big thick duvet may have looked nice but it was very hot at night ... totally too heavy for the time of year and room temperature. The breakfast was also nice but not that much better than other places we have stayed. Diane was very chatty with guests who had been there before but not as outgoing with us. Also her charm seemed a little superficial. Overall, we had a nice stay but I would not rank it as high as others have.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WaynesvilleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginger93, Owner at Grassington Lodge, responded to this review, 17 June 2009
I am sorry that your stay with us did not meet up with expectations but assure you that we genuinely welcome customer feedback, such as yours, as well as the many favourable comments, to help us retain a balanced view on what we are offering. We try to be as honest as we can with our room descriptions by displaying a photograph of each room on our website or talking through the room during a telephone enquiry. I have often felt that being bestowed with such awards and high praise can only mean one thing.... high expectations from guests and that "the only way is down"!

The one faulty recessed spotlight fitting in the bathroom was awaiting an electrician was replaced promptly. I do take your point about the duvets having a higher tog rating but for 95% of the year these are adequate, given the unpredictable British climate. We do put an extra sheet under the duvet during infrequent hot weather so that modesty can be retained if the duvet is kicked off!

I sincerely hope my service to you was not affected by my chat with regular guests and it perhaps also reflects my reticence in chatting with guests who are only with us for one night for fear of being intrusive.

We are constantly praised for the quality of our freshly cooked breakfasts and always happy to consider any suggestions as to how these may be improved.

To reiterate, I am sorry we have not met up with your expectations and hope that it did not spoil your visit to the UK and that you returned to North Carolina with happy memories of the Yorkshire Dales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent england
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2009

We felt comfortable and couldn't fault this proffessionally run guest accomodation. Fantastic service from the minute we walked through the door till we left.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cozartKentEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grassington
0.1 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
110 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
787 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Grassington House
Grassington House
#2 of 20 in Grassington
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassington Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassington Lodge

Property: Grassington Lodge
Address: 8 Wood Lane, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Grassington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grassington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grassington Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GUARANTEED LOWEST PRICES WHEN BOOKED ON OUR 'OFFICIAL SITE'- AND MORE AVAILABILITY THAN ON OTHER BOOKING SITES. Recent WINNERS of Channel 4 TV 'Four in a Bed' for 'Best Value for Money' B & B. Grassington Lodge - an award winning contemporary guest house, offering stylish and luxurious accommodation in a quiet setting 100 yards from the centre of Grassington. Guests will experience first class hospitality and a friendly service. 11 Double en-suite rooms and the 'ultimate in luxury' Suite (sleeps 2), some with 6' wide beds, flat screen TVs, DVD players and DVDs, Molton Brown toiletries, Egyptian cotton bedding, bathrobes and fluffy towels! Free WiFi/internet facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Grassington Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grassington Hotel Grassington
Grassington Lodge Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing