We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional!”
Review of Grassington Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grassington Lodge
Ranked #1 of 20 Grassington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional!”
Reviewed 22 October 2009

This is the second year that we have stayed at Grassington Lodge. I cannot praise too highly the standard of the accommodation and breakfast. Diane, who runs the guest house, is extremely welcoming and her only aim appears to be making sure everyone is happy and comfortable. She even provides a bottle of sherry for you to help yourself in the evening before going out to eat and chocolates in the hall when you return.

Breakfast is fantastic, with fruit, cereal and juices and a huge cooked breakfast or smoked salmon (my favourite) and lovely doorstep wedges of toast.

The room we stayed in was very comfortable. We had previously looked at the other rooms and ours wasn't the biggest, but we still chose it for the second year running! The bed was really comfortable and the whole room and ensuite shower room very clearn and fresh. A fridge was provided (not needed in October!). A tea/coffee tray is provided that includes filter coffee/pot and biscuits. There are even a couple of wine glasses in case you want to bring a bottle of wine back to your room after a long day's walking.

Grassington Lodge provides two lovely sitting rooms, one with a tv. There is a good choice of DVDs to borrow in your room (you have a DVD player in there).

There is also very good parking facilities.

Grassington itself is a delightful village. It is perfect for a long weekend break as you have several choices of places to eat. Our favourite being the Devonshire Hotel round the corner from Grassington Lodge. They do a two course meal between 6 and 7.30 for £8.50 which is very tasty and excellent value. After a glass of wine by the open fire what more could you want.

What are you waiting for?!

Likes: Everything
Dislikes: The WONDERFUL breakfast - you could put on a pound or two if you weren't careful! Seriously, NO dislikes.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HawaiiNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    57
    16
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
422
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2009

best small hotel we have ever stayed in .cant think of anything i would change,just hope we can get in next time we want to go.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glynis6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

Wonderful room, great breakfast, really friendly staff. We stayed there on the 1st night of a weeks walking hioliday and it was the best of the trip. Definately will go back

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HankEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2009

We stayed for four nights in vendale room one and it was superb. The bed was so comfortable. The two "lickle angels" were so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Promised much delivered more.
We are going back for Christmas and cannot wait.

Bob & Margaret Johnson fro Kent

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentNanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2009

This was our second visit in a month and once again was not dissapointed .Dianne is the perfect host and makes each visitor feel completly at home. If you are looking for somewere special this is the place to go. Coffee or tea on arrival sherry before dinner and the breakfast will last you all day.the rooms are gorgeous and very comfortable with good quality toilletries in the great bathrooms. To miss out on a stay here will be your loss!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LincolnshireBasset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

It's as hard to speak highly enough of Grassington Lodge as it is to find fault with it. My wife and I stayed there for a week on a nostalgia trip and everything - from Diane's welcome to the cleanliness and general good feel of the place to the complimentary sherry and chocolates in the evenings to the delicious breakfasts in the mornings - just worked together perfectly.

Diane is one of nature's ladies and she and her two helping "angels" spared no effort in making sure that our stay was as enjoyable as possible.

We stayed in one of the two 'Vendale' rooms which are in a converted stable a few steps away from the main house. The room was spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean as was the large ensuite bathroom. A note of caution - the ceiling slopes at the end of the room and the incautious traveller will soon accumulate a selection of lumps on the head to remind him of this. If I really had to find fault, it would be to say that for stays of more than a couple of days, an extra comfortable chair in the room would be handy.

If ever I am fortunate enough to return to this beautiiful corner of England, I would be certain to stay at Grassington Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tizer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2009

This is the 5th or 6th time we have stayed at the Lodge - as always it was great again. getting to know the staff better everytime we go. Diane (Owner), Anna & Hannah looked after us superbly. The standard of accomodation is fantastic as is the breakfast.

If you are looking for a place to stay in Grassington then this is the one.

We are due to go again over New Year and next Easter - wouldn't do that if it wasn't excellent.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPRWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grassington
0.1 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
117 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
793 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grassington House
Grassington House
#2 of 20 in Grassington
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassington Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassington Lodge

Property: Grassington Lodge
Address: 8 Wood Lane, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Grassington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grassington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grassington Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GUARANTEED LOWEST PRICES WHEN BOOKED ON OUR 'OFFICIAL SITE'- AND MORE AVAILABILITY THAN ON OTHER BOOKING SITES. Recent WINNERS of Channel 4 TV 'Four in a Bed' for 'Best Value for Money' B & B. Grassington Lodge - an award winning contemporary guest house, offering stylish and luxurious accommodation in a quiet setting 100 yards from the centre of Grassington. Guests will experience first class hospitality and a friendly service. 11 Double en-suite rooms and the 'ultimate in luxury' Suite (sleeps 2), some with 6' wide beds, flat screen TVs, DVD players and DVDs, Molton Brown toiletries, Egyptian cotton bedding, bathrobes and fluffy towels! Free WiFi/internet facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Grassington Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grassington Hotel Grassington
Grassington Lodge Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing