We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven in the Dales”
Review of Grassington Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grassington Lodge
Ranked #1 of 20 Grassington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Haven in the Dales”
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We have once again enjoyed a lovely few days at Grassington Lodge. This is our 4th visit here and we are never disappointed. We have stayed in various rooms. All are spotless,stylish and comfortable. The beds are hugh and extremely comfortable. The bathrooms/shower rooms are all modern and good quality. Thecomplimentary bottles of Molton Brown products are a lovely treat. The addeds extras here make a stay here very special e.g thick dressing gowns and good quality tea,coffee and biscuits in the room plus a good size fridge in every room.

Diane and her staff are always extremely welcoming and their aim is to please.This Saturday evening on arrival we were greeted in the lounge with a pot of fresh coffee and biscuits in front of a roaring 'real' fire.

Breakfast is always well presesnted. There is a good choice of fruit and cereal and plenty of hot drinks on offer. The full English breakfast or fish alternative is a must to set us up for one of the many beautiful walks in the surrounding area.

Grassington is a delightful welcoming village with many pubs and restaurants. Our favourite is Grassington House which is 2 mins walk away in the village square. This is fine dining in a relaxed atmosphere. Other good restaurants a short drive away are the Fountaine at Linton and the Angel at Hetton.

It was a struggle to drag ourselves away this morning. We can't wait for our next visit to recharge our batteries!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tabitha0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginger93, Owner at Grassington Lodge, responded to this review, 31 January 2011
What a great compliment it is to us that many guests, like yourselves, come back to us time and time again and take the time to write of their experience not only at Grassington Lodge but also of the area and Grassington's excellent pubs/restaurants! Thank you. Biased I may be but I agree that Grassington (and, dare I be immodest, Grassington Lodge) does offer a great 'Haven'!
Regards Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    57
    16
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
422
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2011

Despite the weather being awful ,we all had a great after Christmas treat in Grassington,lazily chatting together,eating and drinking in the cosy pubs and topped by staying in Grassington Lodge. We were welcomed by friendly staff and the rooms were beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean with great attention to detail. A great place to stay and we look forward to a return stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Clarke9558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginger93, Owner at Grassington Lodge, responded to this review, 22 January 2011
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review.....and of course for such favourable comments not just about Grassington Lodge but also about the village pubs (which I believe to be second to none!). Grassington does offer a real winter treat I feel, picture-postcard village with its friendly pubs and locals, real fires and good food. Hope to see you for another family get-together at some time in the not too distant future.
Kindest regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

We have just stayed 2 night at Grassington Lodge and must say its one of the best b & b's we have stayed in. The decor and quality of furnishings & fittings is second to none and the small additional touches such as bottles of chilled water in the fridge make such a difference. We stayed in a room in the annex which has a lovely 6ft bed and smart modern shower room. As that particular room is in the attic it doesnt have a window but it is quite light due to sky lights. We would certainly recommend a stay at Grassington Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pegasus023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginger93, Owner at Grassington Lodge, responded to this review, 18 January 2011
Thank you for your review on your stay and 'Best B & B' is certainly something to live up to!! The Vendale rooms in an annexe are extremely popular. In addition to showing your appreciation for what we provide, it is really useful that you included information about the fact that the Vendale rooms are in attic space and do not offer views and imply a sloping ceiling so perhaps not sutable for very tall guests. Hope to see you again at the Lodge in the not too distant future.
Kind regards Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Spent two great nights with friends to celebrate the New Year at Grassington Lodge and from the moment we arrived and met Alex I knew that everything was going to be just as described in the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor.
Nothing was too much trouble for Alex, or Diane who made a point of coming to greet us just after we had arrived on New Year's Eve. So many little touches that made a difference from the complimentary sherry to the nuts and chocolates in the lounge. The rooms are lovely many with six foot beds and the fridge with fresh milk and bottled water in the rooms is another touch appreciated by myself and my partner.

New Years Day breakfast was served until later for those of us who needed that extra hour in bed after the celebrations the night before.

Our friends have special dietary requirements, one being wheat intolerant and the other a vegetarian but Diane ensured that they had what they needed and even when our friend mentioned that she preferred tinned tomatoes (would you believe) for her breakfast Diane said that although she did not have any she would sort and 10 minutes later her breakfast arrived complete with tinned tomatoes. My friend was really impressed.

All in all we had a fantastic break in beautiful rooms, with beautifully cooked breakfasts and the most friendly and helpful people to take care of us.

Thanks for a very special New Year break and we will be visiting Grassington Lodge again soon.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilacorange4959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginger93, Owner at Grassington Lodge, responded to this review, 11 January 2011
It was also 'Simply Lovely' to receive such a wonderful review of your stay with us! Reviews are submitted anonymously but the 'tinned tomatoes' gave it away as to your identity!! I am now stocking tinned tomatoes so my quick dash to the local Spar will not be necessary in the future!! That is why reviews on this site are brilliant in helping us to listen to what our guests like!!
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about us and I hope to see you back in Grassington in the not too distant future (and hopefully at The Lodge)!! Watch out for us on the TV....Channel 4 'The Outsiders' (title subject to change)!
To any previous reviewers that I have not responded to I would like to say that it is a New Year resolution to respond to all reviews in the future....if you can find the time to write them I can certainly find the time to respond!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2010

We stayed at the Lodge for two nights for a walking weekend. We would thoroughly recommend it as a great centre as there are plenty of walks of varying distances starting from the Lodge and plenty more a short drive away.

We were made very welcome and the owner and her staff did all they could to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The room was very comfortable and as it was very cold when we arrived they produced an extra heater just to make sure we were warm enough.

The breakfast was superb with a good choice.

Sitting in the lounge after a long walk in front of the log fire was an added bonus. all in all we recommend this B&B and will definitely return.

Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravellingVs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

Grassington Lodge is the perfect getaway, and an ideal base for walking in the peaceful and beautiful scenery of the Yorkshire Dales. Many walks can begin at the door, without the necessity of getting in the car. The room was heavenly: decorated in the most beautiful taste. A restful environment, with touches of luxury that make one feel pampered. Breakfast was delicious, with egg dishes freshly cooked on order and served by the charming owner in person. Diane was endlessly helpful (for example arranging an immediate doctor's appointment when requested), and has a fund of local knowledge which she is very happy to share. On arrival one is welcomed with tea and biscuits in the tasteful decor of the guest lounge, where one can also enjoy a quiet glass of sherry before venturing out into the village for dinner in the evening. Grassington village offers interesting shops and some good eating options. The landscape surrounding the village is simply heavenly, enjoyed in balmy autumn sunshine. In conclusion, I can't wait to return to this beautiful area, and will definitely choose Grassington Lodge as my first choice of accommodation there. The only thing that could possibly improve the experience would be the addition of a sauna for relaxation of tired limbs after a day's walking!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barb_einhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2010

Enjoyed a two night stay at Grassington Lodge to celebrate my 50th birthday and it was just what we hoped for , comfortable and spotless everything you could want in your room even the wine glasses ! and a fridge .Perfect for the relaxing weekend we had planned good location in the centre of Grassington great cooked breakfast , the room was tastefully decorated , lovely light and bright breakfast room and two lounges downstairs also a choice of dvds to borrow and watch in your room. Plenty of nice pubs in and around the village and tea rooms. Skipton is only fifteen minutes by car and worth a trip to the Saturday market . Nice walks round and about .Diane was a wonderful hostess and we were met by Alex who welcomed us in. Thanks to all for a great weekend !

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fourstarlancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grassington
0.1 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
117 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
793 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grassington House
Grassington House
#2 of 20 in Grassington
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassington Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassington Lodge

Property: Grassington Lodge
Address: 8 Wood Lane, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Grassington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grassington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grassington Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GUARANTEED LOWEST PRICES WHEN BOOKED ON OUR 'OFFICIAL SITE'- AND MORE AVAILABILITY THAN ON OTHER BOOKING SITES. Recent WINNERS of Channel 4 TV 'Four in a Bed' for 'Best Value for Money' B & B. Grassington Lodge - an award winning contemporary guest house, offering stylish and luxurious accommodation in a quiet setting 100 yards from the centre of Grassington. Guests will experience first class hospitality and a friendly service. 11 Double en-suite rooms and the 'ultimate in luxury' Suite (sleeps 2), some with 6' wide beds, flat screen TVs, DVD players and DVDs, Molton Brown toiletries, Egyptian cotton bedding, bathrobes and fluffy towels! Free WiFi/internet facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Grassington Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grassington Hotel Grassington
Grassington Lodge Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing