We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vitor's Village Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Casabela(Ferragudo)
US$243
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Santa Catarina(Praia da Rocha)(Great Value!)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Algarve Casino(Portimao)(Great Value!)
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel da Rocha(Praia da Rocha)(Great Value!)
US$95
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Jupiter Algarve Hotel(Praia da Rocha)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Vila Gaivota(Ferragudo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Oriental(Praia da Rocha)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (504)
Filter reviews
504 results
Traveller rating
244
198
42
14
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
198
42
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsskyline barvitor's villagefishing villagesnack barpurple restaurantmini marketminute walkpraia da rochaself cateringtaxi boatferragudo squareclub nauacross the rivershop on sitefim do mundoriver viewlocal beaches
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
201 - 206 of 504 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2012

After taking a look at Vitor's Village Resort on TripAdviser, it looked like a lovely place to stay. There were a few little things that weren't up to standards.

First, upon arrival, we were shown our apartment by pointing to it from reception, which is the other side to our apartment. There wasn't a clear and friendly introduction to our apartment, the receptionist just pointed at it. Also we were not offered to have our luggage taken to the apartment. This wasn't just the case of the receptionist being busy or forgotten protocol, we witnessed this on a few occasions whilst other guests were checking in.

The breakfast was very pleasant to wake up to after a short walk. A warning to future guests: I wouldn't recommend drinking the orange juice from the machine, even though it may taste nice. One morning it didn't taste right, though I passed it off as my taste buds being strange; I spent the next day in the bathroom.

The pool side cafe has a vast amount on it's menu, but it is a expensive for the quality of food; I would recommend taking a short walk into the local town where you can get lunch for less. There is one restaurant located in the square called "Portarade Restuarant" which is open pretty much all day, but I only suggest going there for lunch if you are prepared to wait over 1 hour for your meal. This happened twice.

Most restaurants in the local towns and Praia de Rocha all have very similar menus with similar prices.

Although this review may seemed like I just highlighted the negative points about this hotel, I would return and I found the hotel very pleasant with stunning views. The rooms are modern with comfortable beds and excellent maids.

Room Tip: Avoid ground level near the pool area as people walk past often. Rear facing 1st level apartments are a good choice.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We stayed at Vitor's for a one week break in late October and were very happy with the place. Extremely quiet at this time of year as you may expect but accommodation very nice, clean and facilities good. The resort was clearly winding down and few visitors which makes it difficult to judge in some respects but what we saw and used we were content with. Pool looked tantalising but it was too cold unfortunately! Didn't deter our six year old son but there weren't many adults brave enough! It is well placed for Ferragudo, just a hop down the hill to some nice restaurants. Pick of the bunch for us being Fim da Mundo - try the monkfish cataplana - magnificent!

Room Tip: Ground floor room suffered from the usual chair-dragging noise etc of the upstairs occupants. Annoying but probably unavoidable really.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheMacPackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Firstly just to say that this hotel does not have room amenities you would expect for a four star hotel. No fridge and everything as basic as could be.

We booked a room with a river view and paid a substantial premium for this. What you get is a view onto a street with houses opposite the river in the background and/or the houses obscuring the view of the river - not something I would expect to pay extra for. When this was raised with the hotel manager, he said - "you can see the river". I will upload pictures.

Additionally, we booked a room that was clearly marked double, with booking.com. The hotel/website appeared to change their policy since we booked and we were allocted twins. When we asked to change, the staff reacted very unhelpfully and said it couldn't be done esp as there was no hotel manager available until the next day. The next day they did - after more unhelpfulness- change our room but told us to switch as soon as possible, offered us no help and still insisted it was nothing to do with them - despite the fact that we showed them our voucher which said double room.

Staff generally were unhelpful, everything was too much trouble - we forgot our room number (it's not on the key card) at breakfast and were sent back to find it despite the fact that when I returned with the number, they had a list with guests' names and room numbers. I've never been treated this way in any hotel let alone a 4*, in these situations generally staff try to help and check your name and cross reference not treat you like a potential thief and send you back to your room to prove who you are.

Just also to say that Ferragudo very piqturesque but is pretty touristy - go to Portimao if you want to stay a proper portugese town that doesn't just exist for tourism.

Room Tip: Don't stay in this hotel, they're crooks
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ceff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We booked Vitor Village off the back of many of the good reviews on here and we were not dissapointed. The apartment was a generous size and cleaned very regularly...i agree that the bathrooms are a liitle on the small side and the clothing storage could have been more as others have mentioned but that i think is being hyper critical. The staff were excellent and always available to help. The general feel and atmosphere of the place was good and a decent mixture of all nationalities. Pool/s were nice and always got a sunbed at whatever time we decided to go to the pool.

Ferragudo is a nice little village with about 15 odd Restaurants.....we didn't have a bad meal..although unsually you are advised to book some of them. The best was a place called Sueste which was a seafood restaurant. The restaurant on site is also good...shame it is not used more in the evening or the Skyline bar which was often empty....probabaly too much choice elsewhere. We were b&b and the breakfast was really good.

Shopping wise we went to Lidl as advised but to be honest it is a really long walk...even longer on the way back with bags of shopping for the odd few euros saving it was not worth it. We just went to the shop on site or the couple of smaller shops in the village. just as good and not as much hassle.

The hotel organised our 2 trips...the Dolphin watching was excellent.

We will definately be going back...which is always the telltale sign of a good holiday for us,

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vishy284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Just got back from a week in Vitor's Village staying in a one bedroom apartment. What a great holiday!! The Village is on the top of a hill so has fantastic views of Ferragudo harbour and village. Bit of a pull back up but the hill isn't too steep nor is it too far. Lots of greenery and flowers in the grounds of the resort which are well kept and maintained.

The apartment was very well equipped and we couldn't ask for more in the way of kitchen equipment. Just remember to take a dish cloth and some washing up liquid! Air con units in both the living room and the bedroom and very pleased that the maid didn't take my Boots Advantage card out of the power slot when she cleaned so the room was nice and cool when we returned:) Bathroom a tad on the small side and no storage space for toiletries but then again, why would all the family try to be in there at once? Mop and bucket and brush and dust pan provided as well as a very large airer on the balcony. Not many English channels on the TV but who goes on holiday to watch the telly? There was a USB port so you could always play DVDs through it if you have a laptop or player. Plenty of coat hangers in the wardrobe as well as an iron and board.

Facilities were good - we did breakfast one morning and there was plenty of choice and the food was top quality. On site shop does fresh bread but you have to be there early. Other stuff is expensive but there are local shops in the village where you can stock up from - a fantastic bakery to the right of the square and a little grocery shop at the bottom of the hill just to the left on the other side of the canal. We also did Lidl on the first day - a bit of a trek which took us 20 minutes one way but you can always get a taxi back or work out the bus times. There were 3 swimming pools, the lower of them being a quieter one. However, guests pay no regard to signs saying "No Ball Games" and they certainly cannot read when it comes to the age of children that can go in the jacuzzi. The age limit is 12 and one day there was a child in there who could barely walk :@

We didn't use the free bus service to the beach because we walked it - about 15 minutes away but well worth it as the beach is very clean and the facilities are great with restsaurants, water sports, toilets and cheap sun bed hire.

In the evening, we walked down to the village square which has about 7 restaurants. All much of a muchness in terms of choice and quality. We paid on average about 60 Euros for 3 adults for a 3 course meal, including drinks. There are a few bars on the back streets but there is no nightlife to speak of - go to Praia da Rocha for that: about 7 Euros one way in a taxi.

Only downside for me was the check in time. We arrived at 1230pm (ish) and were not able to check in to our accommodation until 2pm. We had a spot of lunch and a walk around but still felt longer than 1 1/2 hours.

Would recommend this holiday to anyone who is looking for a quiet relaxing break.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews