We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vitors Village offers Vintage Vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vitor's Village Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vitor's Village Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ferragudo
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Vitors Village offers Vintage Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2009

This was our second visit to Vitors Village and it is still a wonderful place to holiday with a young family. Great staff, nice peaceful location with plenty to do nearby and wonderfully stylish accommodation with lusciously landscaped gardens.

The hotel seems to have been taken over by a larger hotel chain since our last visit but thankfully without any unwelcome changes. The bar and restaurant are still a bit pricey but the quality of food cannot be faulted, but I personally can't see why many people would buy a glass of beer for 3.5 euros when you can get 6 at the E Le Clerc supermarket for 3 euros!

Anyway I will keep this brief as there are plenty of detailed reviews on here which are already positive and I really just wanted to reaffirm Vitors is still lovely.

Lastly please visit the TOC TOC restaurant/take away in Ferragudo village. It's a lovely family owned restaurant with great value fixed price 3 course lunches and the takeaway service was invaluable on an evening as we wouldn't dream of leaving our son with a babysitter or on his own in the room while we went for a meal nearby! My husband would pop down there while I was getting our son to sleep and he would return with an ENORMOUS grilled meat or fish kebab complete with lovely Algarve salad and rice or chips all for about 10 euros! TOC TOC offers great food at bargain prices but criminally I fear they are suffering with the recession as the property is up for sale in the local estate agents. I will be personally gutted if we return next year and find them closed. Good luck Sylvia and Co from "Mr David" and his family...

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FillyFogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    173
    31
    12
    4
See reviews for
186
181
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2009

My husband and I (late twenties) stayed for a week in the Flamingo apartments.

Here's a quick summary:

Resort
Loved: Still feels very new, high quality landscaping and public areas. Definitely a 4 star + resort.
Not suitable for: Bit 'clinical' in places. For example the Purple restaurant and the Skyline bar. (could also be interpreted as 'swish' and stylish).

Rooms
Loved: The layout was great, the rooms were well kept and felt new, large flat screen TV, good sized fridge and huge bed.
Not suitable for: Those who need lots of wardrobe space! Also the tv only has one English channel (BBC World News) and no DVD player either.

Location
Loved: Definitely not a tourist hub which suited us, you really feel as though you are seeing a part of the Algarve which has yet to be 'spoilt' by the influx of tourists. You can walk to Lidl and E'Leclerc in 15 mins (no shade tho!), the train station is just another 2 minutes further, Ferragudo village is 10 mins downhill, and the beaches can be reached via the courtesy bus. Overall felt like a great location as long as you are happy to make the effort.
Not suitable for: Those who like it all to be on your doorstep. Everywhere is a walk away, and definitely not a place for high heels. That said, you could stay in the resort and not leave for a few days, after all there is a mini shop and Purple restaurant.

Day trips
Loved: We did 2 days out. The first was a train to Lagos. Highly recommend this! Reception can give you details of how to get to the station, and the timetable. Buy tickets on board (a bargain! 6 euros for two people return!) Must see's are the Marina, Meia Praia beach (stretches on forever) and walking around the town and seeing the walls/fort. The second trip was to Portimao/Praia de Rocha, (either taxi/bus/train). Praia de Rocha is quite a walk from Portimao and not a lot to see on the way. If you go to Lagos then don't bother with Portimao.
Not suitable for: Beach lovers. The beaches are not 'at hand'. Beaches at Praia de Rocha and Lagos are lovely but you need to get there first. The 3 beaches on the courtesy bus are nice but quite small and therefore could get quite crowded.

Food
Loved: Ferragood (as mentioned in lots of reviews!) is good, not amazing, but good. Toc Toc is very good. Delice (Italian) is very good. Portarade, their steaks are fantastic. Sueste, their fish is cooked to perfection but be careful to ask the price first. Purple is ok.
Not suitable for: Those who want something great at lunchtime, most of the above are open only in the evenings.

Overall
Loved: Loved the quiet resort, the gentle strolls into the village each night, the ease of jumping on the train to Lagos or Portimao (no need for hiring a car), the 4 star feel of the place.
Not suitable for: Beach lovers or people who want nightime entertainment.

I personally loved the whole holiday and would recommend this to others! Hope you found this useful.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bookanothahol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
In transit
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2009

Apartments:
Stayed here early May for 10 days. Flew in with Aer Lingus and arranged for Vitors Village to collect us from the airport (€50). Dora on reception helped us a lot over email and was the most helpful when we were there. Complex is 1 year old now and still spotless. Clean, tidy, cleaning service 7 days while we were there. We had an infant and had no problems at all. Shop is ok, probably waiting for the season to start to be fully stocked. Room is great. Bathroom immaculate, kitchen very handy with grill in microwave, just no ovens yet. But everything else we needed to have breakfast, lunch and a couple of evening meals there. Apart from Dora, cleaning ladies and shop people, rest of staff need a bit of warming up, not very helpful but generally ok. Don't get caught by the bald barman as he hijacks your change by putting it straight onto the tip tray. Just put it in your pocket! Only item I could point out was when we got there we had an infant and lots of bags and had to leave one in reception while we dragged the rest to our room. No one offered to take it down for us even though there was about 4 people hanging about reception, and I had to come back for it 30 minutes later. Also, checking out the same. No one was available to bring up a bag but when I got there there, there were 6 staff hanging out. Btw, we had room GR101A. It had a nice balcony with a bit of shade in the morning, and sun for the rest of the day, it cost us €5 extra for the river view but it was nice cause it also got sunset. There may be better rooms but this one was nice. You can also get a travel cot for babies.

Eating & Drinking:
Purple - In hotel, food was grand, waiter was nice, tried hard, waitress the same.
Ferragood - excellent, friendly, acommodating. Find your way there. The best restaurant in Ferraguda (also Dora's cousin!) and no I'm not on comission. Flaming sausage, kebabs, and cold beer!
Porterade in the square - lovely, very friendly, acomodating, international food nice for a change. Good lamb curry and masala. Enjoyed it. Also got take away curries to bring back to apartment + desert one night for convenience.
Other places in the square also nice foor beer and coffees and crepes.
Little Italian down the alley just 50 steps off the square was lovely. Sat in and also take away pizzas. Bomba was nice.
Most disappointing in the square for us was the one up the alley a little right in the middle with two rows of tables in the square. Began with 'B' I think. O Barill? May just have been a bad night.
Nau - (I think this is the spelling). Not actually in Ferraguda but worth a mention. Walk up to the church, then down the main road leading south parallel to the beach. Come to a carpark and keep right back up the hill along the sand wall with the security cameras and past the fort. Down onto Praia Grande and along til the second last one. Has Superbock bean bags. Lovely to hang out at for ages. Very comfy and friendly. Tapas tasty! Worth the effort for a long lazy afternoon. (Or get the coach from the hotel to drive you, you lazy thing!).

And that's about it. Ferragudo is a nice little, as yet, unspoiled town, and for tourists it pretty much based around the square.

I'm afraid we didn't make it to Alvor or Praia Da Roche this time. Seemed like just too much effort! Walked to supermarkets 10 minutes down the road tho. The big one across from Lidl is great. You'll see them on the way to the hotel. If you get the house wine in Purple @ €9, memorise the label (it's red and yellow I think). You can get it in the super market for €3.50. And I'm not saying it because of the price, €9 is fine. I'm saying it will help you pick a tasty wine from the huge selection in the supermarket that's worth carrying back to your room! Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Plato66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2008

Back at home....we loved stay at vitor´s village in Ferragudo, in the south of Portugal. Nice location in a confortable modern Aparthotel. Apartments are very spacious, the rooms are furnished to a very high standart and cleaned every day, hand and bath towls were replaced everyday.The apartments are brand new and well equipped as were the public areas. The landscaping and building are top quality.The Aparthotel has 2 larges pool and smaller one, infant pool , in a great area. There a litle supermarket on the site with most essentials and prices are not much more then anothers compared a just kms from the resort. The restaurant, the name Purple, serve a very nice breakfast and dinner with a good quality and with good selection. Great place to have a nice dinner. The staff were genuily friendly and helpful. We enjoyed it. Overall I would say that Vitor´s Village is probably ones of the best resort 4 stars we have ever stayed.

  • Liked — the top quality and the tranquility
  • Disliked — nothing......
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank helen1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2008

Brand new resort in Ferragudo Village. We had a very confortable and modern apartment. Cleanning was very good, either in the apartment or public areas. Staff was very helpfull in general. Service and food at Purple restaurant was very good. The Skyline bar with good service and fantastic views overlooking Portimão and Praia da Rocha Marine, just needed some more entertainement. It was a very pleasant stay and we highly recommend this complex.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank londonnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2008

Have just come back from a wonderful week at Vitors Village.
The complex is brand new and is lovely. We were given an apartment with a huge living/dining area and massive balcony so loads of room tho the bathroom was on the small side. Everything is new and modern which is great. Everything that you need in the kitchen is there apart from dish cloth and washing up liquid and they only provided tea towels later in the week tho we had taken our own.
I would recommend that you take extra coat hangers as they were in short supply.
It is very clean and the linen is regularly changed.
Staff are friendly and helpful especially Carlos the minibus driver. They all speak very good English.
There is an excellent book and magazine library there.
There is still building work going on in the village which was only a problem if we had wanted to sit out on our balcony a lot. The noise couldn't be heard from the pool area or from inside our apartment.
We had a meal in the on site restaurant Purple which was delicious.
There was no problem getting a lounger by the pool or an umbrella.
The on site shop stocks milk, fresh baked bread etc and most items you would require and opens 8-8.

  • Liked — Everything was brand new
  • Disliked — Noise from building work when on balcony
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank HampshireJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2008

We stayed at Vitor's Village during the first two weeks in September. We had a ground floor one-bed apartment which was great for us and our 20-month old. We would definitely recommend Vitor's Village for families and couples looking for good quality accomodation in a quiet location.

As the property is new and I appreciated what little info I could find before we left I'll write as comprehensive a review as possible.

Accomodation - the apartments are spacious and well furnished. Very stylish, but rather lacking in storage for clothes. We managed for the three of us, but it would be difficult if we didn't travel light or if there were more of us. There is also no full-length hanging, which is a small, but important detail for those of us with dresses! There is a good hairdryer and an iron and ironing board in the room. There is a two-ring hob, kettle, toaster and microwave grill. Utensils, including a bottle opener, are provided, but there's no cheese grater (we cooked some pasta and it would have come in handy, but was no big deal).

Each of the one-storey blocks of accomodation has a name. Our room was in Garca which is close to the jaccuzi and proposed indoor pool. Other reviews have pointed out this isn't yet indoors and we hope they don't enclose it as this will cut down on the sunbathing space, which is already limited. Very few rooms have a pool view as the development is not laid out in a traditional courtyard style, but is spread amongst landscaped gardens and on a number of levels. If you want to make a request about room location I'd ask for one which doesn't face the road and that should guarantee you a good view. But to be fair, not many of the rooms have bad views.

The beds are huge and cots and high chairs can be provided. Linen is changed twice a week and towels about six times. The maids are around every day and are very efficient.

Faciities - there are two large pools, a jacuzzi (currently broken) and a children's pool. Sunbeds and umbrellas are provided and, while we had no problems getting sunbeds, I can see this may be an issue in high season. The snack bar serves basic food such as toasted sandwiches and pizzas. It is basic, of mediocre quality and not cheap, but good enough for a quick lunch if you haven't made it to the shops to buy something. However, the beer is expensive, so you'd be better getting a can from the shops to drink by the pool - or better still, going to one of the nearby supermarkets to stock up. The restaurant, Purple, is lovely and, while rather clinical, serves good food at reasonable prices. It is open for breakfast and dinner. The shop on site sells all of the basics you will need at only slightly inflated prices and the people who work there are very helpful.

Surrounding area - the lovely fishing village of Ferragudo is a short walk from Vitor's. Go down the hill out of the development and turn left to get to it. We did the walk in less than 10 mins with a pram. There are a number of restaurants on the square and harbour, with a few others scattered on side streets. You can get fresh fruit and veg, fish and meat if you need it from the shops in Ferragudo but there is no supermarket. There are also a number of art galleries which are nice to browse.

The nearest beach is lovely and is best accessed by going to the village square, taking the alley on the right-hand corner and then turning left after the Italian to climb up the hill. Follow this road past the church on your right. It then peaks and drops down out of the village. At the bottom of this road you will see the beach on your right and the car park in front of you. Go straight ahead through the car park and you will reach the steps to the nicest part of this beach, Praia Grande. There is a snack bar and playground here. Be careful though, as the wind can be very vicious! There are two other beaches nearby, but we didn't visit them. The hotel does run a courtesy bus three times each day which goes to all of the beaches if you don't want to walk.

Supermarkets - there is an E Leclerc and a Lidl just outside of Ferragudo. Turn right at the bottom of the hill out of the development and go straight ahead for about 15 minutes. You should see the buildings pretty quickly. If you want a taxi, E Leclerc will call one for you from the till. The prices are very good, especially compared to the shop and snack bar at Vitor's, and we stocked up regularly.

Restaurants - the choice locally is meat or fish. There is an Italian, which is very good, but most restaurants serve variations on the theme. Not ideal for vegetarians. Like many others, we loved the Ferragood and they were very accomodating of us and our, at times grumpy, toddler. The Ferragood is tucked away on a side street in Ferragudo, but easily found when you know where to look. Walk into the town and don't cross the road towards the square. Pass the playground on your right and the Ferragood is up the next street on your left. There is another restaurant on this road which is frequented by locals and is also nice, but everything here is heavily salted and laced with garlic. We also enjoyed eating at Le Delice, the Italian restaurant which can be found just off the main square if you take the right hand alley.

Places to go - we walked to Portimao in around 30 mins with a pram. We walked to the beach at Praia De Rocha in a further 20 minutes. Portimao is the nearest place with shops - clothing, leather and perfume, plus the usual tat shops. There are many snack bars and restaurants both here and on the beach at Praia De Rocha. We didn't go out into Portimao at night, but understand there is a lot more by way of nightlife, but also more touts. You won't find anyone trying to drag you into a restaurant in Ferragudo.

Transfers - we booked a taxi transfer which took around 45 minutes. This was well worth it with a tired child after an early start, but in hindsight we would have hired a car and picked it up from the airport. I think the private transfer was around £90 and you could probably hire a car for two weeks for £200, and would get much more value from it. This would also avoid you paying expensive taxi fares to places like Zoomarine, which can double the price of a day out there (22 euros per adult, plus 30 euros each way for a taxi, eek!). We understand the transfers by coach could take anywhere from an hour to two hours, which would not have suited us.
All in all we had a fab time at Vitor's and would love to return.

  • Liked — Good quality, well equipped clean and quiet, but able to walk to places of interest
  • Disliked — Karaoke on a Saturday night - no more Flying Without Wings, please!!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ImogensMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferragudo
1.7 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 78 in Portimao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Colina da Lapa
Colina da Lapa
#3 of 5 in Lagoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
2.8 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#2 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vitor's Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vitor's Village Resort

Property: Vitor's Village Resort
Address: Sitio da Passagem | Apartado 88, Ferragudo 8400-230, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Ferragudo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ferragudo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vitor's Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Vitor's Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vitor`s Village Hotel Ferragudo
Vitors Village Hotel
Vitors Village Ferragudo
Vitor's Village Resort Ferragudo, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing