We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxury Villa with superb outside space and home...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Ferragudo, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
TPlongy
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Luxury Villa with superb outside space and home from home”
Reviewed 26 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed here for 12 nights in September, just two of us but we like the privacy large villas afford.
I agree with previous reviewer, the photographs really do not do the place justice. The outside space is absolutely stunning. The pool is huge and because the house is raised up on a hill it seems to get a lovely breezemost of the time. Absolute peace and quiet too, The entertainment area has great surround sound system, dart board, shady area, dining table - Felipe said he was hoping to put in a home cinema in there too at some point!!
What you can't see from the photos is that there is a massive rock wall formation which has an amazing pumped fountain and coy carp in it, its like being in a tropical rain forest whilst you are sunbathing. Pool has a seat in it too which is great and its lovely to have a foot friendly surround to the pool which is not slippy. The pool is also obviously HUGE!
There is additionally another garden room, not yet quite finished, which has a massive hdryotherapy pool in it, plus a massage table - so once that is finished that will be amazing.
Electric gates give easy and private access to the property.
Kitchen has everything you need, nespresso machine, american fridge with ice maker, juicer, blender etc etc so fully functional. It could maybe do with a little freshening up with more modern units but that is only aesthetic.
Inside we obviously only used one bedroom, the master, which was beautiful, black out blinds and double glazing meant utter peace at night, memory foam mattress was incredibly comfortable. Air con was great too. Silk rugs and paintings on the wall gave the impression of not staying in a holliday rental.
In terms of location, a walk down into the town took about 20 minutes, parts of it unpaved and unlit so not ideal at night, but would have thought a taxi would have been about 5 euros.
Carvoeiro is only about an 8 minute drive, Portimao about 10 minutes. You can walk down into Ferragudo and catch the boat ferry across to Portimao Marino if you wanted - water taxis seem to run frequently throughout the day and to about 11 pm at night.
Wi-fi available and worked out by the pool too.
Owner lives in private apartment tucked away so is on hand if needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The external pool area was amazing.
Liked least: For us, as a couple, it was owner living on site, though he was very pleasant, it would have been our preference to have the villa totally private.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare H
Evesham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations!”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

It is unusual to arrive at a villa and find that it is even better than the photos on the website. There were twelve in our party comprising of 6 adults, 5 teenagers and a 3 year old and the combination of a very generous pool/gardens, wi-fi and outdoor bbq and bar area ensured we were all entertained and never felt on top of one another. We were greeted on arrival by the owner Filipe, who was friendly, very engaging and throughout the holiday struck the right balance of making sure we had what we needed without being intrusive and positively encouraging us to enjoy his beautiful property which is furnished with spectacular pieces of art. The town centre of Ferrigudo is a lovely, unspoilt area with some nice restaurants and bars and the nearest beach was uncrowded. Supermarkets are accessible by a short car journey whilst a short 15 minute walk to the centre allows you to grab the essentials. Overall, our holiday was wonderful and all of our party would highly recommend a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgina...
England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 6 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Just would like to say what a fantastic 2 week holiday that we have all had our party was 6 adults and 5 children but we never felt that we was on top of each other the Vila was very big the pool was a very big wow factor for the children the walk to the restarants wasn't to bad and the beach was just 10 mins walk the big supermarket was a 10 mins taxi ride witch we didn't mind you don't really need car hire but to explore more we would next time Filipe the owner of the Vila was very nice and helpfull we can't wait to return next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and the aircom
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyPatr...
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A 5-star experience on our family holiday”
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

On our quest to find a villa for our family holiday in Portugal (with 3 children under 5 years), we were delighted to stumble upon Villa Costa do Sol on the internet, along with the lovely photos and description of the property. As seasoned holiday bookers, we were confident that the villa would be nice based on the profile, but had experience with places that did not match up to the the standard advertised. In Villa Costa do Sol, this is most definitely NOT the case, as it absolutely lived up to the photos on the profile and description of a premier property.

Upon our late night arrival to Villa Costa do Sol, we were greeted warmly by the owner, Filipe, and were delighted to see that not only was the property every bit as impressive as depicted in the photos, but that the interests of Filipe (including his extensive art collection, hidden outdoor bird sanctuary, and enthusiastic and warm nature) would be a welcomed source of exploration for us and our children that would enrich our experience throughout the week.

The house is quite simply beautiful. Outside, there is a large pool, beautifully manicured gardens, a gazebo which houses toys for the pool, a bbq area complete with a grill and pizza oven, a sheltered tiki bar with beautiful garden furniture- which is ideal of hosting a bbq. The tiki bar has a sound system, so be sure to bring your favourite CDs. There is a large green area, so if you have children, a football or frisbee should go in the suitcase with you! The outdoor pool area is an absolute pleasure to spend time. While there are many beautiful beaches a short drive from the house, with our young family, we chose to spend most of our time lounging by the pool, which we loved!

The house itself is an extremely large 6-bedroom property which was excessive for our small party and we were totally spoiled with space and comfort. It would be absolutely perfect as a house share with larger family or friends. The vaulted living room and kitchen (complete with the most luxurious of modern conveniences including a large American fridge/freezer, coffee maker, nespresso maker, dishwasher, microwave and cooker, etc. expected of such a fine house) is both spacious and extremely comfortable, fully air-conditioned, and great to escape the midday sun or lounge and watch a movie on the large flat-screen TV. It was wonderful to enjoy a family meal at the large dining table. It is tastefully finished with beautiful artwork throughout the house which reflects the personality and well-travelled sophistication of Filipe. The master bedroom was stunning and extremely spacious, complete with a lovely ensuite and shower room. What we found excellent was a baby room annex complete with a cot, which was perfect for our needs. The "red bedroom" again, was beautifully furnished and spacious. While it is not ensuite, it is serviced by the main communal bathroom. Both the "red room" and the master bedroom were fully air-conditioned and had black-out blinds. The third room on this floor was a nice room with two single beds and was ideal for the children. Downstairs were two large rooms with one ensuite. Upstairs on the top floor there is a very large ensuite bedroom overlooking the pool area, complete with balcony. The quality and decor of all the rooms was of a very high standard.

The house is located on the outskirts of a fishing village called Ferragudo and is a 15-minute walk and 3-minute drive into the village. We rented a car, and were glad we did for convenience and independence and would recommend it. Ferragudo is the perfect balance of a well-serviced, quaint fishing village which is managed to hold its traditional appeal without being spoilt by bulk tourism and commercialisation. A small town square with lovely restaurants, bars, ice creams shops, etc perfect for an evening meal and people watching. Small traditional-style streets filter off the main square comprising of many local bars and restaurants and again, are authentic and unspoilt by mass tourism. We enjoyed both the Italian restaurant and El Fim do Mundo, which is an exceptional steak house (book in advance). There were some nice fish restaurants overlooking the marina (Portimao was across the water- accessible by a water taxi costing 5 euro return should you wish to get a fix or a more touristy experience in Pria de Rocha. There were also a couple of large supermarkets (including Lidl) only a 5-minute drive away. Large shopping centres are only across the bridge in Portimao.

Rarely, having visited a number of properties around this world, would we want to return to holiday in the same place. In Villa Costa do Sol, we hope to return next year to enjoy another family holiday in wonderful surroundings in a very nice place. We had a wonderful time with our host, Filipe, who was so kind with his time and help in everything from aiding us to fixing a wheel puncture in our buggy to educating us on the art of Portuguese bull fighting,to local jazz events! It was of great comfort to us that Filipe was a medical doctor- especially travelling with 3 small children- should a medical emergency arise.He encouraged us to enjoy our stay and his beautiful home and couldn't have been more hospitable, and for that we are very grateful to him. Thank you, Filipe.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theslades...
Braunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Just returned from our second visit to villa costa do sol. Great villa, fabulous pool and outdoor space, peaceful location, walking distance to village and some great restaurants, short drive to lovely beaches (pintadinha is our favourite!). Filipe is a great host, makes you feel very welcome, and will help with any questions about the area, he can also arrange for Anna to come and do massages, i can highly recommend her. All in all a great place to stay we will be returning as soon as we can.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool and outdoor space
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katharina...
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in September 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing