We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY & FRIENDLY”
Review of Escondidinho

Escondidinho
Ranked #23 of 53 Restaurants in Ferragudo
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Northants
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“LOVELY & FRIENDLY”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Just back from our family holiday in Ferragudo, we arrived on our first day to rain & found this little gem hidden away on the beach so took shelter. We (my partner & two children) ordered food, myself the tuna steak with wine & onion sauce served with new potato's & salad, my partner had the sea bass & the chidren lasagne, we were not at all disappointed, delicious food!

With a starter of bread & olives, two beers, two coffees the meals & two fruit juices it came to 45euros which we thought fantastic value as the fish was amazing.

Old fashioned surroundings with live music twice a week, really friendly family & service.

We went a few times whilst there & always great service. Do go for the fish of the day!

Will be returning in August.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rovers_chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    26
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Jolly Boy's Golf Outing”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Fantastic beach bar/restaurant, best bloody Mary's for miles around, try the Sardines fabulous. Rui the host is a great character with some unbelievable stories, ask him about Preston Grasshoppers and the All Blacks !

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jnc c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very average food but atmosphere to die for!”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I have been going here for years - about 20+ to be honest! Over the years the food has been good to poor - but you cant beat the place or the atmosphere! On the beach, fun, laughter and more. Despite being a foody / food snob I will go back time after time! I have lived day dreams here had over the years good food but most of all I have enjoyed myself time after time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaca100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch on the beach.”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Very comfortable place on the beach, catching the sun till quite late. Friendly staff, good prices, lovely simple meals.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SanneRoemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston texas
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Beach bar. Good Food. Friendly Service”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

In my opinion The best beach bar in the area . situated on Praia Grande it is a really friendly and informal place . Run by Roui and his family it an incredibly relaxed place to sit and watch the sun go down . No frills but clean and you will feel welcome. food is good value and well prepared with fresh fish on the menu. Keeps busy even off season
Tuesdays and Fridays there's normally live music which often gets the regulars dancing on the beach
There used to be seating on the beach itself but now appears to be limited to the veranda

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jrmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Escondidinho also viewed

Ferragudo, Faro District
Ferragudo, Faro District
 
Ferragudo, Faro District
Ferragudo, Faro District
 
Ferragudo, Faro District
 

Been to Escondidinho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing