We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hard to find,but worth the diversion...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Bergerie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Bergerie
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aragon
Certificate of Excellence
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“hard to find,but worth the diversion...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Modern building in local style in remote away from it all village,perched on hilltop near Carcassonne.
Comfortable and well finished room, with private terrace,pool,views of village and country.
Dinner was one of the best on our trip,although the four course menu was too much for me,but our girls loved it..
A relaxing quiet retreat.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank speedjspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    47
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
43
77
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
113 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

We stayed here for one night, en-route betwen northern Spain and SE France. Finding Aragon can be a problem: after driving through Villegailhenc on the D118 we retraced our steps and spotted the tiny signpost and narrow street leading to the road for Aragon. Fortunately, the owners of La Bergerie have placed a multitude of signposts in Aragon to lead one round and around to their very pleasant hotel and restaurant. We had one of their cheapest rooms "Tournesol" (= Sunflower) - twin beds and a semi-private garden area for sitting out and overlooking the deep valley beyond. Very comfortable and good value we thought at 90 euros. We enjoyed the dinner: very professional service and excellent starters and desserts - but not quite as stunning main courses. The wine recommendation - the very local "Vin D'Est" - at about 25 euros was excellent! We didn't have breakfast.

Room Tip: Our room was quite fine for a one night stay - but it may be better to pay a bit more for a larger r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobfromKensington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is wonderful. Presentation of foods in the restaurant was very high level. I would deffenetly return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fettery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bize-Minervois, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

We did not stay there, only visited for lunch specifically because of the Michelin star. The setting is stunning though perseverance is required to find it. However my pork starter was quite salty and my rabbit main was inedible as it was so salty. I was offered an alternative but refused as the others would be inconvenienced and also I was not convinced an alternative would be an improvement after my pork. Both dishes had been over-reduced.
I am not an anti salt nut and eat out a lot!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank audetarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

Haven't stayed at the hotel, but have had lunch a number of times there and been very impressed. I found the service very polished and friendly, and the restaurant location is lovely. Each time it's been a real treat--wonderful presentation of the food; standard of food was very high. Like most restaurants in this part of France, there's not much catering to those with more limited diets/vegetarians etc though.
I would heartily recommend La Bergerie--far higher standard of food and especially of service than the other Michelin (bib gourmand) restaurant I went to a couple of days later: Auberge Cote Jardin in Conhilac where the food was merely middling, and the service was truly dire.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dogyoungone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

A beautiful room - comfortable bed - big bath - efficient air conditioning - friendly faces - pool with a view - pretty village - great walks - and wonderful, wonderful food.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ballydoogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

We did not stay at the hotel so cannot comment on that. However we did dine there. We were looking forward to the michelin starred cuisine in great surroundings, but left disappointed. I must confess to only speaking pretty pigeon french but that was no reason for them to completely forget to bring out my partner's main course from the 37 Euro menu before bringing a sorbet after the fish course. I thought this unusual but decided to trust the staff (michelin star etc) and presumed there to be a gastronomic explanation. There wasn't, just a quick appology and 7Euro knocked off the bill! We were too disapointed to argue and just paid up and left. The food that we did get was average, no more. The puddings were good, the sea bass good, but the cold lamb starter with broccoli cream was bland.
The setting was fantastic but this restaurant was not a patch on any of the michelin starred restaurants I have frequented in England.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
Thank aidstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aragon
6.5 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
6.4 mi away
Les Cabanes dans les Bois
Les Cabanes dans les Bois
#1 of 1 in Villalier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
7.4 mi away
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Le Domaine d'Auriac
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bergerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bergerie

Property: La Bergerie
Address: Allee Pech Marie, 11600 Aragon, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Aragon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aragon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Bergerie 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your La Bergerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing