We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Through the vineyards” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Bergerie

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
La Bergerie
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aragon
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne
Level Contributor
159 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Through the vineyards”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

La Bergerie offers a tranquil and relaxed refuge after the hurly-burly of touristy Carcassone and/or an alternative base for exploring the Languedoc-Roussillon region. This hotel-restaurant (more a restaurant with rooms) is approached through vineyards which offer a visual appetizer for the treats in store. The much decorated (Michelin, Gault Millau and many others) Fabien Galibert and his equally youthful team offer an unfussy nouvelle cuisine characterized by fresh, quality local products and complemented by a wine list that offers a sitting tour of the region. In addition, the base four course dinner menu is offered at 40 € or 60 € including wine with the opportunity to sample a different wine with each course.
The rooms of La Bergerie are simply furnished and, at the lower price range, relatively small. They are, though, comfortable and south facing with most additionally offering a small garden in which to appreciate the quiet of the local countryside inlcuding, of course, the vineyards opposite. There is also an unheated small, outdoor swimming pool (for the hardy outside the high summer months). All in all, a Languedoc jewel offering quality at untypically reasonable prices. Viator Coloniae

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viatorcoloniae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    47
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
43
77
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We visited La Bergerie for two nights during a tour of the area at the end of June. Our superior room on the ground floor was spotless. The little outside table was a lovely place to sit with a small hedge seperating us from our neighbours. We dined in the restaurant both evenings. The food was superb although the choice was limited and had we been staying a week might have had difficulty choosing things we hadn't tried. All the staff were very helpful explaining the choices and helping us select rather good wines to accompany our meals.
i dont agree that breakfast was disappointing. Our was delivered to our room each mornng by the chef! It was croisaants, rolls , coffee and jams (a typical french breakfast) but the rolls were warm and the coffee was plentiful. We sat outside in the fresh morning air and it was really lovely.
The area around is very pretty. The only draw back was the lack of drinks. a minibar with cold drinks or coffee and tea making facilities would be great. It was very hot when we were there and we were gasping!
Would definately recommend though, a lovely peaceful place where you can get fresh air and good food!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Berkshiremandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

During a recent break in Carcassone we dined here having booked in advance. Our expectations were already high but when I remember the whole experience I simply run out of superlatives! Quite simply it was superb and it will be safely tucked into my most treasured memories when a great meal shared with your nearest and dearest is unbeatable! We will be back!

Room Tip: Stayed at Le Relais de Ventenac nearby which was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin_Brazier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
161 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed here for 1 night en route to Spain. We had a lovely room with parking right outside which was very convenient for offloading luggage etc.
Very nice restaurant with friendly efficient staff. The food was superb and certainly worthy of its Michelin star.
The hotel is in a lovely quiet location and we would certainly like to return sometime.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SukySomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Very nice clean room, with comfy bed and lots of space - the bathroom too was modern with all facilities. Our dinner was superb, if expensive!! but well worth eating!!! Breakfast was disappointing, continental, and only average coffee. Would definitely go back, the village is gorgeous and lovely countryside.

Room Tip: Olivier room was very nice!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chutney123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
410 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 723 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

We have lunched, had dinner and stayed here.
For some reason - we suspect, the presence of the head chef on his feet in the kitchen - the lunch was a far superior eating experience than the dinner.
Prices inspire considerations oif value. And lunch seemed to us to be far better value.
Let couples ensure they select different choices so that they can extend their experiences.
A nice place to overnight, but a 'chilly' breakfast atmosphere.
We will visit again to see if quality issues have been ironed out.
A nice placw

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 34210king
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

The good:
-the surrounding countryside is naturally beautiful and the people in the town are friendly
-great hiking and mountain biking trails
-quiet clean rooms
-most of the wait staff is happy, friendly, and prompt
-the menu logis for 60 euro allows you to sample 4 different wines from the region
-a couple of the desserts were delicious

The Bad:
-there is no WIFI in the bedrooms, you have to go the front entrance lounge to try to use the web and its slow and sometimes doesn't work at all
-rooms without shower stalls hard to get in and of the tub without slipping and its hard to shower off without watering everything down
-the magret de canard was tough
-the meals lack filling dishes so if you have been hiking or biking and are hungry you won't get enough nutrition from these meals, almost no fiber in the meals, no salads, few vegetables
-I'd bet that most if not all of the amuse-bouche are made elsewhere and brought into the restaurant, they don't appear to be recently made
-the breakfast is awful, just some coffee, tea, bread, and sugary juice, no yogurt, cheese, eggs, or meat, not a good way to start a busy day, they could learn a lot from the Dutch, Germans and Swiss on providing a healthy breakfast
-overall the leadership, hotel and restaurant are missing a sense of refinement and sophistication one would expect from the level of enterprise they aspire to be
-also not to be cheap, but watch you final addition, we were quoted one room price on the phone and ended up seeing another higher price at checkout

will not return

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hungryguyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aragon
6.5 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
6.4 mi away
Les Cabanes dans les Bois
Les Cabanes dans les Bois
#1 of 1 in Villalier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
7.4 mi away
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Le Domaine d'Auriac
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bergerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bergerie

Property: La Bergerie
Address: Allee Pech Marie, 11600 Aragon, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Aragon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aragon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Bergerie 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your La Bergerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing