We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food with great service”
Review of La Bergerie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Bergerie
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aragon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We recently had a family holiday in Aragon (9 adults, 2 children), staying in the village and driving each day to nearby towns and cities to eat and sight see. Unfortunately, we didn't eat at La Bergerie until the last week of our time in France. Once found however we didn't want to eat elsewhere. The food was superb, the service friendly and helpful and the choice of wine excellent. I cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

We went for lunch with friends on their recommendation, but did not stay in the hotel as we have a house in the region. Having stayed the previous few days in Provence, we felt that the food, wine and service here at La Bergerie was significantly better than anything we experienced in Provence during our stay.

What a lovely restaurant with a good menu and a delightful wine list!

Le Cochon as an 'entree' and the Cathar lamb as a main course were both stunning! The desserts are a picture on a plate.

The service was great - a big thank you! We will return when we can.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Langued0cienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

La Bergerie offers a tranquil and relaxed refuge after the hurly-burly of touristy Carcassone and/or an alternative base for exploring the Languedoc-Roussillon region. This hotel-restaurant (more a restaurant with rooms) is approached through vineyards which offer a visual appetizer for the treats in store. The much decorated (Michelin, Gault Millau and many others) Fabien Galibert and his equally youthful team offer an unfussy nouvelle cuisine characterized by fresh, quality local products and complemented by a wine list that offers a sitting tour of the region. In addition, the base four course dinner menu is offered at 40 € or 60 € including wine with the opportunity to sample a different wine with each course.
The rooms of La Bergerie are simply furnished and, at the lower price range, relatively small. They are, though, comfortable and south facing with most additionally offering a small garden in which to appreciate the quiet of the local countryside inlcuding, of course, the vineyards opposite. There is also an unheated small, outdoor swimming pool (for the hardy outside the high summer months). All in all, a Languedoc jewel offering quality at untypically reasonable prices. Viator Coloniae

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Viatorcoloniae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We visited La Bergerie for two nights during a tour of the area at the end of June. Our superior room on the ground floor was spotless. The little outside table was a lovely place to sit with a small hedge seperating us from our neighbours. We dined in the restaurant both evenings. The food was superb although the choice was limited and had we been staying a week might have had difficulty choosing things we hadn't tried. All the staff were very helpful explaining the choices and helping us select rather good wines to accompany our meals.
i dont agree that breakfast was disappointing. Our was delivered to our room each mornng by the chef! It was croisaants, rolls , coffee and jams (a typical french breakfast) but the rolls were warm and the coffee was plentiful. We sat outside in the fresh morning air and it was really lovely.
The area around is very pretty. The only draw back was the lack of drinks. a minibar with cold drinks or coffee and tea making facilities would be great. It was very hot when we were there and we were gasping!
Would definately recommend though, a lovely peaceful place where you can get fresh air and good food!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Berkshiremandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

During a recent break in Carcassone we dined here having booked in advance. Our expectations were already high but when I remember the whole experience I simply run out of superlatives! Quite simply it was superb and it will be safely tucked into my most treasured memories when a great meal shared with your nearest and dearest is unbeatable! We will be back!

Room Tip: Stayed at Le Relais de Ventenac nearby which was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin_Brazier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed here for 1 night en route to Spain. We had a lovely room with parking right outside which was very convenient for offloading luggage etc.
Very nice restaurant with friendly efficient staff. The food was superb and certainly worthy of its Michelin star.
The hotel is in a lovely quiet location and we would certainly like to return sometime.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SukySomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Very nice clean room, with comfy bed and lots of space - the bathroom too was modern with all facilities. Our dinner was superb, if expensive!! but well worth eating!!! Breakfast was disappointing, continental, and only average coffee. Would definitely go back, the village is gorgeous and lovely countryside.

Room Tip: Olivier room was very nice!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chutney123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aragon
6.5 mi away
Les Cabanes dans les Bois
Les Cabanes dans les Bois
#1 of 1 in Villalier
223 reviews
9.3 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
453 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
327 reviews
6.9 mi away
Pont Levis Hotel - Franck Putelat
6.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bergerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bergerie

Address: Allee Pech Marie, 11600 Aragon, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Aragon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aragon
Price Range: £70 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Bergerie 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your La Bergerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing