We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly appreciate this preserved history!”

Historic Village Herberton
Book In Advance
More Info
US$160.75*
and up
Historic Village Herberton Day Trip from Cairns Including Kuranda Village and...
More Info
US$315.05*
and up
Herberton Historical Village Day Trip from Cairns Including Kuranda and Barron...
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Herberton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A visit to the Historic Village Herberton is like stepping back in time. Showcasing Australia’s rich and diverse history this outdoor pioneer museum is testament to an era that is long gone.Open year round to visitors, the Village collects, preserves and displays fascinating historical exhibits from across Australia. The history of this museum is also closely tied with the township of Herberton and features many priceless antiques as well as buildings that have come from the town’s ancestors.The Village currently has over 50 original buildings that date from Herberton’s foundation years. Walking through the Village, visitors are given a sense of being in a real township complete with chemist, bottle collection, school, bank, grocer’s store, frock salon, toy shop, mechanic, jail and more.
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Truly appreciate this preserved history!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Today I just signed up to Tripadvisor! I visited this village yesterday and was amazed! There is so much to see and do (approximately 4+ hours spent visiting). The village truly depicts what it may have looked like over 100+ years ago, with individual buildings that display everything from chemists, schools, dentists, camera houses, supermarket, tool shops etc. (just to name a few). Visitors (like myself) will truly appreciate all of the items that have been preserved, restored & maintained on a regular basis. This attraction is a definite must see! I hope to revisit again, sometime in the near future!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank gracieloo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    63
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful step back in time”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Fabulous collection of antique items ranging from tractors to ladies' gowns. All displayed in original buildings that have been transported to the site. I particularly enjoyed the school rooms where I was able to do a little reminisce! We lunched at the tearoom and enjoyed delicious pot pies and coffee. The whole place is immaculate and the staff dedicated. A truly enjoyable day. Allow enough time..about 4 hours.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyPacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Make sure you don't fill up at the tea house and miss the damper”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was a great outing for our family. Reasonably priced we felt for the attraction. The displays were so well done- interesting and well presented - clean too which I think would be no mean feat. We saw the start up of the cars etc which was a hoot but couldn't find the blacksmith. We got there early and were glad when we saw how many cars were there when we departed. We had a magic morning tea at the tea house. Unfortunately we then went over the bridge and saw they had billy tea, stew and damper for sale. Would have rather had this. Nice to see the attempts at replanting when we went on the walk. Will be spectacular in the future with the number of juvenile grass trees we saw flowering already.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ray & Vee Australian history.”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We found Herbertpn most interesting. The printer was most informative and we were delighted to have personalised "wanted posters" printed for our three grandsons. A great place to visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vmaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Memorabilia Buffs Paradise”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Less than 100kms from Cairns, this has to be on the bucket list for those wanting to reminisce or see examples of Australia's country heritage. Comfortably laid out, it is easy to wander through at your own pace and watch demonstrations of working equipment. To do the attraction justice you need several hours and don't miss Bushie's damper and stew. Well worth the slightly windy drive.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LuboCoffsHarbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Historic Village Herberton also viewed

Herberton, Queensland
Atherton, Queensland
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Historic Village Herberton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing