We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Hotel Herberton
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Herberton
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Curtain Fig Motel(Yungaburra)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eden House Retreat(Yungaburra)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
2
10
5
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
10
5
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We're Cairns locals and we regularly venture to the Tablelands to escape the heat and/or the crowds. Herberton was our latest little venture and we had a really memorable time up there and at the Royal Hotel. The Royal Hotel cannot be judged against the swish, polished standards that reek of sameness yet that many travellers demand! When I award it 4 stars (in fact I'm tempted to go for 5) it's for the character of the place, the friendliness and sincerity of the staff and the very reasonable tariff and tasty food.
Our room was basic but immaculately clean and comfortable. It was great to sleep with our double doors opened onto the huge verandah that overlooks the main street (absolutely quiet and deserted at night) with no nervousness about security. The verandah is furnished with comfortable old sofas, a refrigerator and coffee & tea making facilities and we had it all to ourselves! Admittedly there are shared bathroom facilities, but who cares? We wanted a taste of yester year and revelled in it. For $70 per night for bed & breakfast we figure we've hit on a little gold mine and we'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Go for a room with doors opening on to the verandah
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank brucie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Decided to hook up with family from out of town, for a few drinks and dinner. The bar was small and short of room so sat outside undercover in the "garden bar". Catchin up was great and after a few drinks, we decided to order our meals. Hmmm....The chicken parma was so over cooked the wife had trouble cutting into it. My medium rare rump l ordered, was so over done, l took it home for my redclaw (lil crayfish). Feeling a little let down over our meals, we left the hotel to enjoy the rest of the night at home, which turned out great. We're quite happy to go back for drinks but l think we'll go elsewhere for food.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minimi68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

My wife & I live in Cairns and a couple times a year we like to head to the Tablelands. Herberton is our slice of the country and we have stayed at the Royal Hotel many times. Every experience has been a great one, we love the coolness of Herberton as its great to escape the Cairns tropical heat and humidity. Once a year we will stay in the winter month of August to experience the real chilly country air and enjoy the great fire places roaring out there heat,the Royal Hotel has two of them, the owner Paul is very friendly as are all his staff, the meals are top notch and very filling.The Hotel dates back to 1880 and really has that old country charm with all its beautiful timber floors and high tounge and groove walls.
We highly recommend staying there, its a really charming friendly country hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WR450F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

No its not modern, in fact far from it, but very clen tidy and neat, When all said and done its inan historic village, modern would look ridiculous.
No you dont get your own bathroom, there is one down the hall - old tongue and groove painted timber walls everywhere, metal ceilings - twelve foot up! creakign floor under the carpet, just imagine all who have trod there before.
No you dont get a TV in your room, but you can sit out on the traditional Queenslander first floor wide verandah and watch one in the cool of an evening after a hot day.
Your bed is comfortable, the water is hot in the shower, imagine yourself in the 1900's and its a very classy place! Now all this plus an included continental breakfast in the dining room for two of us for $70 - its really value.

Room Tip: None are bad depends if you want ot be at the front or back the place is extremely quiet at night.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChineseLaundry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012 via mobile

Basic clean rooms with shared bathrooms. Rooms cosy very clean and quite comfortable beds. Television roomi is on balcony overlooking street. Continental breakfast included in our room cost. Very friendly staff

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Solstice10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews