We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Country Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Koendidda Country House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barnawartha
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We went to the Albury region for the Rutherglen Winery Walkabout and were lucky enough to score a room a Koendidda...WOW! The homestead and gardens are spectacular and you feel welcomed as soon as you walk through the door. Alan and Karen are the perfect hosts! Silver service, melt in your mouth lamb shanks...what more can you ask for? It was so peaceful getting away from the city and enjoying some downtime in such beautiful and historic surroundings. Thoroughly enjoyed our country getaway and cannot wait until we can get back to Koendidda!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
5  Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2013

Karen and Alan provided a wonderful and informative service from the moment of arrival. Their passion for what they do shows through in there service to their customers.
The dinner was a delightful and memorable experience with a combination of food, wine and good company with Alan sharing some of his personal beverage’s – what more could a host do!
Spend a night and enjoy a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Have dinner and spend some time exploring the history
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MT033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We spent the weekend at Koendiddar on the 23/24 March 2013, it's now under new ownership it was most relaxing in quite surroundings.Our bedroom was very clean & the bed most comfortable. The food was excellent & with dinner you can have 3 lovely courses & Allan has a very impressive & reasonably priced wine list.We also had 2 lovely breakfasts.
Allan & Karen are excellent hosts & know how to run a bed & breakfast establishment.We will definately be back.We have added swimming pool by mistake on ratings.
Ross & Christine.

Room Tip: All rooms are very clean & tidy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We had 2 nights at this delightful b & b. Beautiful property and the hosts Karen & Alan really look after you. Visited the Rutherglen wineries and nearby Beechworth that had all the lovely local produce & craft shops. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sparkle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

This was our fourth stay at Koendidda over the past few years and it continues to be a wonderful place to stay. This time we had the Humphrey Pooley suite with its own sitting room which was delightful and very spacious. The food was fabulous - a beautiful 3-course dinner one night and then lovely breakfasts each morning on the patio area. An added bonus were resident dogs, Mimi and Polly, who are just gorgeous and very happy to accompany you on a morning walk. Karen is a wonderful host and we had a great time meeting up with friends from Melbourne. The mid-week package is excellent value. We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bartonbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012 via mobile

When you travel a lot for business you try and stay in places that are a little different than the usual country motel. You know you have stayed somewhere really special when you want to return - with either the family or a group of friends in tow. Karen at Koendidda looked after myself and a business colleague so well we both agreed we'd return. The open fires, the wine list and the 3 courses on offer for dinner were outstanding. Brekky was as impressive. The rooms were also very comfortable and clean. Kept warm by radiator heating, the good o'l electric blanket and the reverse cycle a/c to tackle the extremes. Rod were also enormous in size and the bathrooms huge. You will be glad you stopped and stayed awhile at this wonderful hidden gem in Barnawartha.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RvanRaay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Spent a couple of nights at Koendidda in early 2012. We could not fault the accomodation or the meals we were provided. We had a meal in the formal dining room one night and a cold platter the following night in the Gardens. A very relaxing couple of days and and good location to base yourself from to visit the local townships such as Beechworth, Milawa and Myrtleford. Karen and Edward were gracious hosts and were very welcoming. A large breakfast on the patio each morning was also a plus. Will be back.

Room Tip: It was nice to get a room that overlooked the front balcony and magnificent gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeffp00le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Koendidda Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koendidda Country House

Address: 79 Pooleys Rd, Barnawartha, Victoria 3688, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Barnawartha
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barnawartha
Price Range: £137 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koendidda Country House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The finest historic boutique accommodation in the Albury / Wodonga area.Koendidda is seclusion at its very best, situated 5km from sleepy Barnawartha, set on 10 acres of magnificent established grounds, this is relaxation at its best. The feature of Koendidda is the grand old gold rush built triple brick mansion that has been very tastefully restored & furnished to reflect the elegance of that grand old era, with all modern necessities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Koendidda Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing