We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic experience in a one of a kind setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Encanto de Cabo Pulmo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cabo Pulmo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Encanto de Cabo Pulmo
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Fantastic experience in a one of a kind setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We had a wonderful time at El Encanto. It is unique and beautiful and only could have been designed and decorated by an artist. I felt very much looked after by the caretakers. And the cleanlinesss was impeccable. No bugs whatsoever. The location was perfect. While the property was very quiet, a 3 minute walk got me to all 6 local restaurants, (all very quiet and rustic), the beach with snorkeling reef, dive center/kayak horse rentals. Hiking trails started from our front door.

Room Tip: We were upstairs and watched grey whales every day from our deck. Also the bird watching was amazin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valthetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    3
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We just got back from a trip around Baja and absolutely loved our stay at El Encanto. We stayed in La Casita and we were in love with the property from the moment we walked in through the beautiful garden. Diane and Rob did an amazing job designing this property and they were very accommodating during our stay. The colors in the Casita are warm and inviting and each detail in the room was well thought out. It was a short (2 minute) walk from the Cabo Pulmo Dive Shop and the beach. We loved that Diane and Rob provide their guestss with beach towels, beach chairs, umbrellas, coolers and snorkel gear. It was hard to leave El Encanto and Cabo Pulmo, but we are already trying to plan a trip to return next year! I also highly recommend the Cabo Pulmo Dive Shop (blue building)-they were amazing! Antonio was our guide and he was exceptional!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LC3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon, and it was such a beautiful, evocative, memorable property, it was 90% of the reason our honeymoon was perfect. Beautifully decorated, funky, low-key, casual--if that's the kind of place you love, you will be happy here. The kitchen, the bathroom, the colors--gorgeous! Our photos of the property always evoke comments from people about the beautiful place where we were staying. Also, you should be comfortable with harmless lizards and bugs--which are an unescapable part of the natural landscape here. We never found them to be a bother. An unexpected bonus was that there were a stunning variety of birds around, landing in the trees outside our windows, flying about, so that we got some great bird photos as well.

We had the main rooms, with kitchen, bathroom, and living room, and this was the perfect space for a quiet weeklong stay. There were also two smaller rooms that didn't have kitchens, I'm pretty sure. Renting out the entire property for a slightly larger group would be nice, as well. For part of the week there was someone staying in the room above us, which was fine, but I think if the smaller downstairs room had been rented out too, it might have felt cramped or not so private. At any rate, We had such an amazing trip, we often talk about returning to stay here with friends or family.

Cabo Pulmo is a lovely, quiet community, definitely worth the drive out into the middle of nowhere if you are looking for a very disconnected, off the grid kind of vacation. I really can't say enough good things about the town and the property. It is not luxurious, and the local stores and not going to have Western, upscale food, so don't come looking for that. We spent the week relaxing, snorkeling, cooking great meals in the beautiful kitchen, hiking, etc. It was perfection.

Room Tip: The main room was our favorite, but the upstairs room would be lovely too and has a stunning view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieInNorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

The house is quite lovely but the insects inside were incredible. It would have been nice to have had the house sprayed. They were of many variations and were interesting but turning the lights on at night made them too active. One thing I insisted on having was internet service and it did not work inside the house. I was able to go next door where it did work until we had bad weather. After that it never worked again although ther e was internet service elsewhere which I paid for and was never offered a refund by the El Encanto.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scubamikeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bajarob, Owner at El Encanto de Cabo Pulmo, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Subsequent to this review we had the house sprayed, and have implemented regular spraying to prevent bug problems in the future.

We have a new internet service that works 24/7 without limit or restriction.

Contrary to this reviewer's comments, we did issue them a substantial cash credit, plus having to clean up an unmentionable mess (by their children) on our oriental carpets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

This place is lovely, the owners are really nice people and they just made us feel like home, we rented the second floor area completely for us, the terrace had beautiful views of the ocean and the seabreeze was quite charming... Hurray for encanto and it's details!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

This beautiful compound has 3 'rentable' areas. Because it was over Christmas vacation and there were two couples, we rented the whole compound, which was perfect! We stayed in the main house with the completely stocked, totally modern kitchen, living room, stereo, TV if you wanted it. Our frends stayed in the Vista room with the marvelous view, sunny deck, coffee maker. No one stayed in the casita, but we enjoyed the outdoor fireplace that is in front of the casita. The grounds are stunning, the yard art is whimisical and different. If you only rented one of the areas you would need to decide if you wanted to cook or not. And if you rent only one area there is limited privacy. Each area had it's own entrance, but you would not be able to control the noise factor of other people.

Cabo Pulmo is hard to get to (down a dirt road 6 km - after 20 km of rough pavement - about 90 minutes from the airport) and when you do there is not much there. But there are 3 or 4 good restaurants/bars, diving adventures, and a marine reserve for snorkeling. AND that is what makes the place so super - it is totally quiet at night, it is off the power grid so the stars are fabulous. I/we simply loved the place.

Our friends had been there twice before and we feel really priviledged to share their discovery. There are plans for big hotel projects and possibly a coastal road from San Jose del Cabo, hopefully that will take a long time to come. I would hate to see this Cabo paradise ruined by progress!

Room Tip: Take 6 people and rent the whole compound
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Quatro_Gatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

Very unique in it's styling, which adds to it's charm. It was v hot when we stayed, so if I had the choice again, I'd rent the house with the upstairs balcony with the cool breeze (this might also be a separate rentable section of the accomodation - not sure).

Email booking was easy, efficient and friendly.

Word of warning, I couldn't find a listing for Nancy's on Trip Advisor. It is a restaurant with good reviews in Lonely Planet. It was the worst place I've eaten at in a long time. We felt thoroughly ripped off and I feel it deserves a mention so that it doesn't taint your experiences of the fabulous Cabo Pulmo.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CVHarrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Pulmo
0.0 mi away
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique...
#18 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabo Vista Hotel
Cabo Vista Hotel
#7 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabo Pulmo Eco Palapa
Cabo Pulmo Eco Palapa
#2 of 3 in Cabo Pulmo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cabo Pulmo Sports Center Bungalows
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palmas de Cortez
Hotel Palmas de Cortez
#1 of 1 in Los Barriles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa del Faro
Villa del Faro
#1 of 1 in Los Frailes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Encanto de Cabo Pulmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Encanto de Cabo Pulmo

Property: El Encanto de Cabo Pulmo
Address: Conocido, Cabo Pulmo 23574, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo Pulmo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Cabo Pulmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artful, luxury view home with generous patios and private landscaped grounds. Three charming suites ideal for multiple couples or family gatherings. Suites available individually, or as a complete house. Close to beach, restaurants, dive center and other local services all in easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Encanto De Cabo Pulmo Hotel Cabo Pulmo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing