We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
One hour north of CABO! dive here!

Great guys to dive with, very professional, friendly, small pangas (boats), put this one on your... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
JohnM1640
,
Chicago's North Shore, Illinois
Fantastic!

We had a fabulous week of diving with Cabo Pulmo Diving. Scheduled 3 days ahead of time but ended... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Meander244380
Read all 75 reviews
  
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
61
3
0
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
3
0
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bull sharks sea life dive master dive shop marine park fish ocean dives max depth experienced divers protected area octopus three days open water san jose la paz pilu safety
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great guys to dive with, very professional, friendly, small pangas (boats), put this one on your dive bucket list!

Thank JohnM1640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a fabulous week of diving with Cabo Pulmo Diving. Scheduled 3 days ahead of time but ended up going out for 5 days straight- couldn't get enough! We had Luis all week for our captain and split the days with Manuela and Pilu as our dive masters/guides. Really felt we had THE best boat Captain and guides , so appreciated the extra effort Luis put in to make sure we saw it all, and both Pilu and Manuela were excellent, knowledgeable, and fun. The shop organization and location made everything easy. We were well briefed on sites with all minor issues/problems handled smoothly- definitely hope for a repeat trip with this great group.

1  Thank Meander244380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilu-y-Henri, Manager at Cabo Pulmo Diving, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much! I'll let Luis know how much you appreciate his efforts. Glad you enjoyed yourselves! We enjoyed you too!!!!!
See you next time, then. Looking forward to that.
All the best,
Pilu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

My husband and I found this little dive shop in Cabo Pulmo and are so glad we did. Pilu was awesome and very knowledgeable of the area. Sharks, mobula rays, huge schools of fish...a very memorable time. We would definitely recommend to anyone looking for the perfect scuba experience. Pattie and Rob - Green Bay, WI USA

1  Thank Pattie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilu-y-Henri, Manager at Cabo Pulmo Diving, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Thanks a lot, Pattie and Rob! Glad you had a good time, looking forward to diving with you both again, very soooon!!!!!! Pilu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

We went for a couple of dives with Pilu and it was great!!

A lot of marine life in a protected area. Many moray eels, very large schools of fish, etc.

Pilu was very helpful, accommodating and extremely experienced. We felt really safe. She will explain you really well how to get there. It’s really worth the travel, even for one day trip. If you stay longer the better!

She speaks English and Spanish.

Volveremos Pilu!!!

Thank Stay270130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilu-y-Henri, Manager at Cabo Pulmo Diving, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018
Google Translation

Muchisimas gracias! Un abrazo y hasta pronto!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

Beautiful and quiet place ro stay few days. The diving and snorkeling is great. But the see-lion colony is not the best to do. Better in LaPaz.

Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

We had 4 great dives with Pilu at Cabo Pulmo Diving! Bull sharks, schools of fish, turtles, eels, school on cownosed rays, gigatic fish...WOW!
My friend had e-mailed Pilu a few days before we planned on arriving in Cabo Pulmo. Pilu not only set up our dives, but gave us driving directions and booked us accomodations at Alicia's (very comfortable and nice bungalows). She was so helpful and kind!
Once we got to Cabo Pulmo, we had a fantastic time. The marine park and area is gorgeous and full of life. Pilu was a great guide who is obviously very passionate about sea life. We had a blast diving with her in Cabo Pulmo. She was informative, helpful, and fun!

1  Thank TravelGirlKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilu-y-Henri, Owner at Cabo Pulmo Diving, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Thank youuuuuuuuuuuu!!! I had a wonderful time with you both! You probably get people to be nice to you because you are so nice yourselves! Glad you had a good time and looking forward to your next visit!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

We were blown out of our third visit to Cabo Pulmo by the winter winds. Pilu was very accommodating and flexible and did her best to make sure we had the best chance of great diving. Our dives were limited to the south end of the park near the fishing camp. We didn't see much fish or coral. However, Cabo Pulmo is excellent diving when the wind isn't howling.

Thank WindowSeatWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

I had an amazing day of diving with Pilu in Cabo Pulmo. Pilu has a great, energetic personality. I was diving alone and my wife was going to hang out in Cabo Pulmo while we were out. Pilu made sure my wife felt safe and sent told her where to go while we were gone.

I appreciated that Pilu was honest about the conditions before I even came to Cabo Pulmo. She said the conditions (vis) were not ideal and that waves were going to be kicking up, and did not pressure me at all to dive. She was definitely not selling me anything.

When I arrived she got me geared up and I found out I was diving with 3 women who had been diving together, with Pilu, for 7 days. I thought I'd probably feel like a bit of a 5th wheel but that was totally the opposite. We were all a team on the boat and treated as equals.

Pilu gave great information about the site and made sure everyone knew what they were doing and what to expect. Above water and below she made sure everyone was doing well and feeling comfortable. She also showed the great respect she has for this sensitive region and stuck carefully to the strict rules that the government places on this amazing area.

Our first dive was with bull sharks (most of my friends think I'm lying about this) and it was amazing. Did not feel afraid even a bit. Pilu's confidence was contagious and we saw some amazing, beautiful sharks. We did a second dive at another reef and again, thought the vis was not ideal, there was tons of life and I had an amazing experience.

I highly recommend diving with Pilu. She's professional and fun.

Pilu, if you ever decide to come and dive the beautiful, cold waters of BC, I'd be honoured to show you around.

Thank Seagullplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017 via mobile

After reading many trip advisor reviews, I decided to dive with Piluy. Since I was on my own, she would be my dive buddy as well. I am and have always been afraid of sharks, but I love to face my fears and thus had a goal of experiencing the bull sharks in an up close and personal way. How lucky were we that we were able to spend the better part of 45 minutes with five to six 8-10 foot bull sharks who were continuously circling us. Never did I feel that we were in imminent danger, although they did seem to be tightening their circle around us and at times were less than 5 feet away. There was also an abundance of fish and marine life, however the visibility was unfortunately not very good on the day that we did our dives... and was reportedly much better a few days earlier – luck of the draw I guess. I will likely return to this spot and will most certainly plan to dive with Piluy. Not only is she very knowledgeable about the dive sites, but very passionate about what she does— which is awesome! Thank you Piluy for making our day so special!!! Also, I was staying near Cabo San Lucas and made the trip both ways on that day. It took two hours each way and was really an easy, scenic drive. I took the Highway 1 route. Next time, I will plan to dive several days and stay locally. Enjoy!

3  Thank juliannefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

I contacted Pilu at Cabo Pulmo Divers after researching dive centers on Trip Advisor. I explained I was a novice diver, having just completed my PADI Open Water Diver certification in Cabo last winter. Pilu wasn’t available this week, but recommended Manuela who contracts with them when Pilu is away. My wife (a non diver) and I wanted to spend 2 nights at Cabo Pulmo to avoid leaving San Jose at 6:00 am on our dive day or having to drive home after diving, and Pilu found us a great little cabana at a modest price at Alicia’s Cabanas. On our dive day, I was courteously assisted gearing up by the dive shop, and Manuela arrived as scheduled, explained the schedule and assisted all her Divers with checking out the equipment. After checking in with the Park Service, she told us our first dive would be Isolte, and island dive with depths to around 60 feet, and the second dive would be Pedregal, at depths of around 35 feet. I told Manuela that I was a novice diver and sometimes struggle to pressure in my ears when descending. She was very reassuring and patient. Our group included two very experienced divers, a moderately experienced couple, and me. On the first dive, I struggled somewhat achieving neutral buoyancy. Manuela stuck close by, and assisted me by adding some weight to my BCD under water. She pointed out fish, moray eels and other features during the dive. As she had briefed us, there were some strong currents at times during the dive. I was the weak link and we only had 35 minutes of bottom time. After a 45 minute surface interval, we descended for our second dive. Again, Manuela was very attentive, pointing out more eels, some groupers, and various fish and features. After around 15 minutes, at 35 feet, she made the shark sign, and soon we were observing 4 or 5 bull sharks, singly and in groups of 2 or 3. We were all excited to experience these sharks in their element, and one of the more experienced divers took lots of photos. After one great sequence, Manuela showed her enthusiasm by joining another diver with an underwater high five. I was a lot more comfortable in the second dive, as my skills started to return. These were my first two ocean dives since getting certified. I can’t say enough about how impressed I was at Manuela’s ability to shepherd 5 divers of very diverse levels of experience. Her confident professionalism was infectious and inspired confidence in me. The shark experience was incredible- they were clearly aware of us but not aggressive. I can’t wait to return to Cabo Pulmo again, and would definitely dive with Cabo Pulmo Divers and Manuela again. Thanks also to Pilu for arranging our great accommodations and recommending Pilu. A five star experience.

3  Thank Arthur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews