We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful time with Eco”
Review of Eco Adventures

Eco Adventures
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Cabo Pulmo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We run daily snorkel and desert tours in and around Cabo Pulmo. Our shop is located right at the beach. Come and discover the unique reefs, hotspring and waterfalls aof this region.
Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful time with Eco”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We had a delightful snorkel trip with Eco Adventures, located on the beach in Cabo Pulmo, next to the La Palapa restaurant.

This small family run business is a must stop in Cabo Pulmo. The brothers who run the business are very friendly, comfortable with non Spanish speakers and grew up in this delightful village.

We had the privilege of being in Cabo Pulmo for several days, and booked a trip on a day that turned out to be quite windy. While other operators were going out into less than ideal conditions, Juan convinced us to wait a few days till conditions settled down, placing our comfort and enjoyment ahead of that days profit!

You will pass other snorkeling shops, some of which specialize in diving as well, and I am sure that they provide a great trip, but Eco Adventures should be your choice.

Whales, snorkeling with Sea Lions, and lots of fish on the various parts of the reef are your reward.

BTW, Cabo Pulmo is a laid back kind of place, where you are pretty much left alone by folks trying to solicit your business. The one exception to this was an employee of a competing business who followed us down the street, telling us to cancel with Eco, so he could take us out for "less" . It was a jarring interjection of the aggressive sales techniques you run into in Cabo San Lucas and other tourist areas. It was totally out of place in Cabo Pulmo and guaranteed that that shop would not receive our business regardless of price. Our negative impression of this individual was further reinforced since it was on the windy day mentioned above that he wanted to take us.


Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank gje5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tijuana, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Protected National Park where Marine Life Increases By 463%”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stopped in Eco Adventures Palapa which Juanito is owned, a very kind and honest gentleman whom provide a lot of knowledge about the place, since his family where the founders of this beautiful place, they achieve the preservation of the Coral Reef which increased the Marine Life by 463% reason why Cabo Pulmo is now a protected National Park.

You better stay at least one night to enjoy the sounds of the nature, most of the Bungalows host a simple open floor plan modern in style but rustic in nature and are Solar Powered.

Cabo Pulmo is a quiet village that has no salesmen or trinket sales on the beaches to bother you, no paragliders or noisy jetskis either; it's against Park Rules.

You can also have a long walk thru the woodland which is a great experience as well.

An of course the best experience is the Marine snorkel or diving, where you can see the coral reefs and the different marine species.

It was a such a wonderful experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Celeste D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great sea life tour”
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Went on a snorkeling tour with Eco Adventures-which was great fun. The tour is 45$ (bring cash) for 2.5h and you'll see around 4 snorkeling sites. Our captain Alejandro had the biggest smile always and showed us a great time. He selected the spots by visibility and the presence of large schools of fish. We did swim with sea lions in their natural environment and saw an amazing amount of wildlife.
Afterwards we had lunch at the little place right by the sea-great fresh seafood in a stunning setting. This was a great snorkeling experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing experience snorkeling with Sea Lions!!!”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Driving to Cabo Pulmo was a little bit of an adventure in itself (Took us 1.5 hrs from Cabo on Narrow winding roads/ cows and other animals on the road!) but we always felt very safe and comfortable driving. When we first arrived at the Parque Nacional Marino Cabo Pulmo (25,000 year old coral reef area) we tried out snorkeling on our own since we had our own equipment. It was Ok but not great at the locations close to the main area. (if you do this bring your own umbrellas/drinks etc) Also you do not have to purchase the park bracelet during off season.

Since we were not that impressed we decided to look into doing a boat trip. We were so lucky to have gone with Eco Adventures!!! The 2 brothers who seemed to run the place were amazing! (funny story but we did not have enough cash with us to pay for the tour since we planned to do our own thing and no body takes credit cards there....but they actually offered to let us pay what we were able to and then after our entire tour and day at the beach they met us at an ATM in the closest town to make the rest of the payment!!! That would never happen in the states!!!) They gave us a discount for having our own equipment but in retrospect it is probably much easier to just rent theirs!

The boat was nice and had a great cover on it to provide shade. We went to 4 different snorkel locations each offered something different and unique. (loved swimming w a huge school of fish!!! Saw lots of huge colorful angel fish and many other varieties) I liked that we were never rushed a bit!! The wonderful guide (one of the brothers but I can't recall his name!) was very laid back and seemed eager to make sure we saw the best of everything!

The last stop was the best...we went to an area that sometimes had sea lions...(he told us that this time of year they may have all moved on so they did not promise that we would see any) We were so lucky...on the rock were 6-7 huge sea lions! When we got in the water they all came in and swam with us!!! (we were told to stop and be quiet and that they are curious about us and always gentle...so we knew what to expect before we got out of the boat!) Sea Lions swam right below us..I could have almost touch them they were that close!!! They were so graceful and did seem to enjoy swimming around us....one stayed below me for a while and looked me right in the eye!! SO COOL!!

I also liked the fact that our guide picked up some trash that was floating on the water and was always reminded us to be careful not to touch anything since it may damage the reef.

Would highly recommend this tour group! Wonderful time!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kisskaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An honour to snorkel with one of Cabo Pulmo's founding families!”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I stumbled upon Juan's shop while asking for directions, and stayed for the snorkel tour. Along the way, I learned Juan's grandfather was one of Cabo Pulmo's pioneering families, and they are fighting hard to preserve the reef from the ravages of Big Development. Knowledgeable and friendly guides take you through the reefs that are their backyard. We saw scores upon scores of colourful fish, jumped into the middle of a swirling school of jacks, and came face-to-face with sea lions (lobo marinos) doing barrel rolls beneath us.

Its inaccessibility (down a long stretch of dirt road) is part of the charm. Next time, we'll skip Los Cabos entirely and really unwind in Cabo Pulmo!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabrina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eco Adventures also viewed

 
Cabo Pulmo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Eco Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing