We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“A Beautiful Retreat”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
Casa Cactus ~ Main House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa Cactus ~ Main House
Courtyard Downstairs Livingroom & Daybed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
28 reviews
Casa Cactus ~ Main House
Courtyard
Downstairs Livingroom & Daybed
Downstairs Kitchen
Welcome to Casa Cactus
Downstairs Living Room
Courtyard Moonlit Night
Upstairs Vista Suite Patio
Vista Suite Views
Vista Suite Queen Bed
Vista Suite Bathroom
Garden Doors
Vista Suite View of the Sea of Cortez
See you on the Beach!
Mucho Relaxation!!
Baja Sunset from Vista Suite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Cabo Pulmo, Los Cabos, Baja California

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
JoyStocke
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We have traveled extensively and stayed in guest houses in many villages throughout the world. Cheryl has created one of the best, anywhere. Cheryl spent many years traveling in Asia, specifically Bali, for her business and those influences can be found throughout Casa Cactus. Her eye for design is impeccable and the design of the house and gardens reflects an artistic gift. Since Cabo Pulmo is Cheryl's home for much of the year, she knows the area intimately and is a generous host and resource. Also, the little touches: coffee, a fully equipped kitchen, a glass of wine if you are in need, and many other details make one's stay a dream.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDC2013
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“stop thinking start booking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

we choose to visit Cabo Pulmo for the start of a longer holiday and could not have found a better place to stay. We spent the most amazing 3 nights in this beautiful casa, where every detail has been well considered. Renting the ground floor only we had the use of a well tooled kitchen, it's worth making a stop at the supermarket on the way here to stock up on food and drink as you are in the middle of no where, but that is the main reason to come. The casa is peaceful with beautiful views and surrounded by wildlife this is a gem that needs to be experienced. We would have happily stayed for longer and were sad to leave so soon, I cannot wait to return.

You'll arrive as a guest and leave as a friend, the hospitality is top class.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surfburne...
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect place to stay in Cabo Pulmo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

I have stayed at several places in Cabo Pulmo over the years, and Casa Cactus is definitely my favorite as well as the most beautiful. Cheryl has done an amazing job designing the perfect space for guests to relax and joy the peacefulness of the desert within a short walk of the beach.The outdoor courtyard is incredible with so many places to comfortably relax after a day out enjoying all of the activities available. Cheryl was such a warm host, it was hard to leave. I highly recommend staying here.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Beautiful, relaxing courtyard surrounded by a desert forest.
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiragogo
Monterey, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Surprize Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I really did not know what to expect in Cabo Pulmo. I was not interested in the crazy nightlife of Cabo San Lucas or the tourists...and what we found at Casa Cactus was beauty, peace, and serenity. Cheryl was the perfect hostess - providing us with ideas and direction, but leaving us alone, too. Her place is incredible. The design of the casitas is perfection...the artwork inspired by her many trips to Bali. The little village is like going back in time. You know how you visit certain places in the world and say to yourself..."if only I had come here 20 years ago"....well...this is 20 years ago. Absolutely clean, sandy streets just 2 blocks to the beach. A few palapa eateries right on the beach serving fresh fish tacos and margaritas. If you like snorkeling or diving - there is a dive center on the beach where you can arrange dive trips, fishing trips. The Casa has all the amenities; hot showers, all cooking facilities, queen size beds. She even provides a beach bag & beach towels, snorkels...boogie boards, beach chairs. This trip has inspired me to go back and read John Steinbeck's Sea of Cortez written in 1941 and even mentions Cabo Pulmo. This is a protected reef with much colorful sea life to see. I can't wait to go back.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Dec 2013
It was so much fun having all you ladies stay here at Casa Cactus. I don't think there was much that we left out on your weeks stay!!!! Everyday was fun filled! Looking forward to having you back again next year!!

PS...I just planted a lime tree so we won't run out of limes for our margaritas next time!!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana C
Big Sur, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Away from civilization...but with all the civilized amenities!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I love on a mountain in Big Sur California, and so don't like big city vacations. When we left the paved road and still had ten miles to go, I know I was on the right path. AND I am of a certain age and want to be comfortable! So, when I saw my beautifully tiled uber clean bathroom with a view to the sea and my cozy queen size bed and the rooftop verandah with views out over the countryside and the sea...I knew I was in the right spot. The walk to the beach is entirely on a sand road...the warm shower when you return is wonderful.

Details: I'd rent the whole Casa--one couple can stay in the upstairs that has its own entrance (my daughter and I stayed there) and another couple plus a friend can stay downstairs with a big private bedroom and a Thai day bed in the open air living area. The whole thing is surrounded by beautifully painted courtyard walls with open air windows built into the wall...and the birds are incredible.

And then there's Cheryl and her brother Matt (he happened to be there when we were there)...she is welcoming and has an incredible eye for detail. Here years in Bali have provided arched wooden doors to the courtyard and so much more. She has provided everything you can think of..and, important to me, the kitchen is outfitted really well with quality utensils and pans...do stop and shop before you come, cause the nearest real store s about 12 miles away!

Matt was a wealth of information about anything FISH related! And every day there was a fantastical fish story! We bought fish right off the boats and used the propane BBQ that was onsite...yeah! AND buy LOTS of limes, 2 bottles of tequila and 2 bottles of cointreau at the store for Margaritas.

9pm is considered Cabo Pulmo midnight...and after a day of sun and hiking, most of us were in bed by around 9pm.

--NOT expensive to fly to Cabo...NOT expensive for a group who pitches in on the stay and plan on about 400. to rent a car for the week for exploring.

I'm going back next year!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock...
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
“Private, Peaceful, Beautiful, & comfortable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Beautiful accomodation in a peaceful and picturesque setting. The beaches are beautiful, the diving and snorkling, and kayaking superb. We had a wonderful week, and would highly recommend it.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Privacy and Beauty
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
talbothal...
danville, California, USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“We LOVED Casa Cactus! Highly recommended when in Cabo Pulmo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We just spent 3 nights at Casa Cactus, in the downstairs one bedroom unit. The place is totally unique and beautifully designed. There's a queen bed in the bedroom and a nice sized bathroom with a glass block shower attached. You walk out the door of the bedroom and you are in an enclosed courtyard with complete privacy - there is outdoor seating next to the giant cacti that the house is built around, as well as covered seating - which is also outside, as is the very well stocked kitchen. We cooked most of our meals at Casa Cactus, and the kitchen had everything we needed.

Cheryl the owner has furnished the place with pieces from Mexico and Bali with original artwork and handicrafts perfectly placed throughout. It's one of the coolest places we have seen in Mexico, and we've stayed in a number of places (including our own condo).

It was very comfortable and cozy - we were there to dive, but one of the days we got rained out, and hung out at the casa all day reading, eating, playing scrabble and surfing the internet on her free WiFi.

Cheryl was a wonderful host and incredibly helpful, friendly and accommodating with recommendations on what to do, where to eat - whatever we needed.

We've stayed at other places in Cabo Pulmo but will definitely come back to Casa Cactus the next time we're in Cabo Pulmo.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The uniqueness and hospitality
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2013
Thank you Larry and Rachel. I totally enjoyed having you at Casa Cactus. You were the perfect guest!!!! Hope you come back to Cabo Pulmo soon again and do more diving. And don't forget the mountain biking, too. Cheryl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing