We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One and only large hotel in Madalena”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Caravelas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Caravelas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madalena
Denderleeuw, Belgium
Level Contributor
137 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“One and only large hotel in Madalena”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel is the only large hotel in Madalena. So this hotel has lots of guests as I think mostly everybody stays here. Free wifi at the reception desk.
We had the suite for our honeymoon: a very large room with sitting area, large bathroom, nice views on the port. The suite is located at the 3rd floor at the corner, nice but regarding the weather conditions, you hear the wind very good. Other minus here was the noise of the aircos that were downstairs at the other side of the hotel. Sound goes up, straight to our room. At this moment people are making a new harbour at Madalena, right in front of the hotel. So you can have some extra noise in the day as well. But this should come to an end (working started Aug 2013).
Breakfast buffet was ok.
Service in the hotel was fine. We were on honeymoon and got a free bottle cava from the hotel staff + service to open our bed for the night :-)
The hotel has a free parking place and swimming pool outside. The water in the pool is cold and not nice with the weather conditions in Pico.
Near the reception desk there is a hair dresser. Quiet annoying noises of a hairdryer when you are at the reception.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantal_H79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    76
    80
    8
    1
See reviews for
25
82
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights while on a walking holiday in te Azores. Although it is quite a modern, ugly building, the rooms are are quite nice with views of the Harbour. The breakfast was good and the reception staff were very friendly. The ferry to Faial is only minuets way.

Room Tip: We had room 302, which had a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubaluyve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

A large, rather impersonal hotel next to the harbour and main bus stop in Madalena. The rooms are comfortable enough and fairly well-equipped; they have small balconies, though many face other rooms with only an oblique view of the port and the sea. I found the room very humid, more so than the other places I stayed in the Azores, maybe because it was at the back of a quadrangle without much external flow of air. When I visited (in October), the hotel's facilities were rather lacking e.g. no restaurant and hard to find anyone to get a drink in the bar, though the reception staff were very helpful. There's a good small restaurant right next to the hotel, but otherwise Madalena seems desperately short of places to eat after the daytime cafes close.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BHayes55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Conveniently situated by the Marina & Boat Ferry & short walk to restaurants & swim spots. Walk to Wine Co-op & SuperMarket. A comfortable swimming pool & great Breakfast included. Affordable Comfort.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank airjorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

At the time of my visit, new construction work is going on right outside the hotel, to improve the harbour, but, apart from the awkwardness of driving a car into the hotel parking, we hardly noticed the building work at all - a yappy dog in a nearby house was far more penetrating. Very convenient location for the ferry to Faial; not so convenient if you're arriving from Sao Jorge at Sao Roque (book a taxi ahead, is our advice!).

The hotel is bright and well-appointed, including a hairdresser in the foyer, and a Health and Wellness Centre - although we never saw anyone in there. Decent sized outdoor swimming pool.

Rooms are fine, and clean, with air conditioning; they even offer a turn-down service in the early evening. No WiFi, but free cable internet, with cable available free of charge from reception, and this is so much quicker than WiFi.

Good sized breakfast room, with extensive choice of hot and cold food. Pity there is no integral restaurant, as that would make a difference on a rainy evening. But there are many eateries within a few minutes' walking distance - check out the Parisiana; it's farther away from the centre, but worth the walk.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd- or 3rd-floor room with a view across to Faial; not all of them have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry_Marsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed here with a little trepidation having reading some reviews, but most were unfounded. The room was very new, spotless, and the views over the harbour were lovely. The breakfast buffet was great, plenty of variety, hot and cold dishes, meats, breads, jams, cereals. the staff were also very helpful. Only downside, which wasn't the hotels fault, is that building work is going on at the harbour to build a new terminal, but we didn't hear any noise. Lovely stay at a great hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony room overlooking the pool, nice to sit out in the evening which a nice long drink...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unique10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sint-Amands Belgie
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed here 4 nights., and arrived early in the morning. As check in time was normally 16:00 hours, we where very surprised in a positiv way that we already could have our room at 10 O'clock. It was a nice room, clean bathroom, overlooking a part of the harbour. Free Wi-fi in lounge,reception and bar. Breakfast with good choose of braed, cake, cornflakes, yoghurt,juice, coffee, tea, warm milk, fruit, eggs, bacon, beans, jam, cheese, ham enso on.In one word more than you uselly take at home.
We did not use the bar facillity as there is a nice bar/snackhouse just a few steps away.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Liliane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madalena
15.7 mi away
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
#1 of 2 in Lajes do Pico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel do Canal
Hotel do Canal
#1 of 5 in Horta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.0 mi away
PocinhoBay
PocinhoBay
#4 of 5 in Pico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Azoris Faial Garden Resort Hotel
5.5 mi away
Hotel Horta
Hotel Horta
#4 of 5 in Horta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hotel S. Jorge Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caravelas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravelas

Property: Hotel Caravelas
Address: Rua Conselheiro Terra Pinheiro 3, Madalena, Pico 9950-329, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Azores > Pico > Madalena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madalena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caravelas 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Caravelas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caravelas Pico, Azores - Madalena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing