We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok...”
Review of A Casa do Ouvidor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A Casa do Ouvidor
Dusseldorf, Germany
2 reviews
“Ok...”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

The acomodation is ok but not the genuine house we were looking for.

The house has a nice view. The village is a bit dull and with no access to the sea. No decent restaurants within walking distance.

It is hard to get in touch with them by phone.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hikingnuts911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My husband and I so enjoyed our stay at Casa do Ouvidor. Lovely spot, terrific view, refreshing swimming pool, nicely decorated, and fully equipped kitchen with the things you need in the house with a comfortable bedroom, bed and bathroom ensuite. The owners couldn't have been more helpful and charming. But really life in Pico is truly the best.

Room Tip: Get the room with the view of the swimming pool and Sao George; the night sky and wind are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skigirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

"A Casa do Ouvidor" keeps only the walls and the bucolic spirit from the old ruins that were the origin of the name: rebuilt with total respect of traditional architecture, have all the comfort amenities we look today for a nice week in a beautiful island like Pico. Equipped with all machinery needed (from dish washer to clothes washer) and decorated with good taste and functional solutions, the common areas are beautifully designed with a big swimming pool, a hot Jacuzzi and even a barbecue area!
The service was friendly and nice, present when needed without imposing his/her presence, what gives you the "ownership" full sensation.
After climbing to Pico Mountain, arrive to the house and jump in the hot Jacuzzi...unforgettable!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdeliaBorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

At A Casa do Ouvidor we were received as if we were family!! The place is amazingly beautiful, cosy, clean and welcoming. All our breakfasts were taken with an astonishing view of the ocean, nature, and S. Jorge island.
The hosts thought about all the possible details that can make your stay unforgetable and they are super super nice and gentle. Pico is an amazing island to visit, with a lot to do: hicking, diving, whale watching, etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraMat306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horta, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

If you want a perfect place to rest and enjoy a wonderful view, swimming pool, jacuzzi, fireplace and a bed were you can “die happy”, this is that place.
The apartments have everything you need including some treats, in case you didn’t had time to buy a quick breakfast, and if you need something else that you can’t find, you’ll have the help of the owners, “Mr. Veríssimo”.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarioCLSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

What a lovely house! A view to die for (the whole island vista of Sao Jorge); well equipped (apart from no tin opener!); spacious; comfortable; modern; swimming pool. A really well thought out renovation. But what made it more special was the owner(s). A warm welcome and the use of their computer in the office at any time! They left it unlocked 24/7 - that's the Azores for you - so friendly and virtually no crime. It came in very useful too, as we downloaded some walks. Plus the owner (whose name I'm afraid I don't have) came by with a huge loaf of the speciality sweet bread, which was just divine! We travelled to four of the islands and Pico was our favourite. If we ever return, A Casa do Ouvidor will be where we stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ObeytheViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We were very reluctant to share this great find with the wider audience, but we have relied so much on the reviewers out there in the past that we could not keep it to ourselves ... We spent just a couple of days at the end of our week-long holiday in the Azores at this location, but we wish we could spend all of it there since it was absolutely superb. The location is great, just a few minutes from Sao Roque and in the middle of the country side (but still less than ten minutes away from Madalena by car). The view is simply incredible and with sun exposure from dawn to sunset. The three brand new houses of the compound are very spacious and very well decorated. The furnishing is really modern yet functional and not at all clashing with the age of the building. The best part are the owners though, who have done a great job in turning an old building into something out of Architectural Digest! Additionally they are extremely courteous and knowledgeable about the surroundings, and from the moment you walk in they will do their best to make you feel at home and accommodate any request you might have. If we go back to the Azores, we will definitely stay for a week!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Londonsense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sao Roque do Pico
6.9 mi away
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
#1 of 2 in Lajes do Pico
242 reviews
0.0 mi away
PocinhoBay
PocinhoBay
#1 of 1 in Monte
56 reviews
11.0 mi away
Alma do Pico
Alma do Pico
#1 of 7 in Madalena
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aldeia das Adegas
Aldeia das Adegas
#4 of 8 in Sao Roque do Pico
2 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pousada de Juventude
Pousada de Juventude
#2 of 8 in Sao Roque do Pico
27 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa do Comendador
Casa do Comendador
#2 of 4 in Sao Roque do Pico
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Casa do Ouvidor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Casa do Ouvidor

Property: A Casa do Ouvidor
Address: Estrada Regional - Sao Miguel Arcanjo, Sao Roque do Pico, Pico 9940-312, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Azores > Pico > Sao Roque do Pico
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sao Roque do Pico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — A Casa do Ouvidor 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A CASA DO OUVIDORWith a magnificent view over the island of S. Jorge that lies ahead, “A Casa de Ouvidor” offering you holidays in peace, comfort and well-being in an atmosphere of relaxation and stress free.We are a Green Key hotelIt results of the reconstruction of an eighteenth century house, adapted for Rural Tourism, in the form of Casa de Campo, with the installation of three independent units of accommodation type T 2, with living room, kitchen, and 2 rooms with bathroomAll rooms are equipped with air conditioning, direct telephone, internet, LCD, satellite TV and stereo system with DVD, small library, copyright furnishings, linens and Hypo-allergic tablecloths and everything else needed for a pleasant stay and economic as refrigerator, washing machines and dishwashers, hob, oven, microwave and Extractor as telescope and small household electric coffee maker, electric kettle, Toaster, Blender, chopper, citrus press, mixer, iron, hairdryer, etc.The subtlety of the building’s architecture, history and culture led to a restoration project that keeps its original lines, ensuring and respecting these values, as well as providing guests with a comfortable and welcoming environment. We want guests to feel at home.The Earth, Sea and Fire trilogy has always constrained the life of the Azoreans and particularly that of the islanders from Pico. Earth because it resulted from the effort of the settlers and their descendants who cleared it, making their daily bread to arise from the rock. The Sea, the wide Atlantic Ocean, full of mystery, is always present, and it both unites and separates us.Fire, father of the islands that arose from inside the Earth, is the heartbeat of the planet and a test to the people’s perseverance and determination. Casa do Ouvidor honours this trilogy by naming its three accommodation units after these elements.In green areas, the garden provides separate living areas, where different groups can coexist with some privacy, without however compromising the exceptional landscape that observes the House and garden. The swimming pool and the Jacuzzi provide a space to relax, enjoying the invigorating qualities of the water and allowing them to enjoy the essential elements of the well-being and health------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ Casa do Mar (Sea House) “Recovering from routine”Casa do Mar has a privileged view over São Jorge Island, providing you tranquillity, comfort and wellness. A relaxing environment, a place where you can escape from the routine and enjoy nature, right in the centre of the AzoresInspired by the Atlantic Ocean, this house is decorated with maritime motifs and blue shades, creating a tranquil, serene and romantic environment.- First Floor: two bedrooms with private bathrooms; a bedroom with a double bed and another one with twin beds, both having private bathrooms.- Ground Floor: living room with fire place, dining room, kitchen, bathroom and covered porch.Total Area: 197.96 m2.In green areas, the garden provides separate living areas, where different groups can coexist with some privacy, without however compromising the exceptional landscape that observes the House and garden. The swimming pool and the Jacuzzi provide a space to relax, enjoying the invigorating qualities of the water and allowing them to enjoy the essential elements of the well-being and healthCasa da Terra (Earth House) “Breathe Nature…”Casa da Terra has a privileged view over São Jorge Island, providing you tranquillity, comfort and wellness. A relaxing environment, a place where you can escape from the routine and enjoy nature, right in the centre of the AzoresThe green and brown shades dominate and provide quietness and peaceful moments. Perfect to regain and renew energies.- First Floor: two bedrooms with private bathrooms; a bedroom with a double bed and another one with twin beds.- Ground Floor: living room with fire place, kitchen and bathroom.- Total Area: 160.12 m2.In green areas, the garden provides separate living areas, where different groups can coexist with some privacy, without however compromising the exceptional landscape that observes the House and garden. The swimming pool and the Jacuzzi provide a space to relax, enjoying the invigorating qualities of the water and allowing them to enjoy the essential elements of the well-being and healthCasa do Fogo (Fire House) “Unravelling passions…”The house, with lovely red and pink shades, brings a sensation of comfort, well-being, tranquillity, sensuality and romance. This used to be a small house used to store farming tools.- The bedrooms, one double and one twin, have private bathrooms and are located on the ground floor.- First Floor: living room, kitchenette and a separate balcony.- Total Area: 130.57 m2.In green areas, the garden provides separate living areas, where different groups can coexist with some privacy, without however compromising the exceptional landscape that observes the House and garden. The swimming pool and the Jacuzzi provide a space to relax, enjoying the invigorating qualities of the water and allowing them to enjoy the essential elements of the well-being and healthHigh Quality Tourism Destination Thanks to its natural beauty, its dazzling landscape, Mountain, its cuisine, its festivities, its traditions and its people.Thanks to the contact with nature, the exuberant flora and fauna (whales, dolphins, the common Buzzard, the common Tern and the Cory's Shearwater), the adventure and the peacefulness.These are only some of the reasons why Pico is worth visiting!Pico Island is the second largest of the Azores, with a surface of 44 km2. It is 42 km long and 15 km wide. The island is named after its majestic volcanic mountain, Pico Mountain, which overpowers everything around it.To climb the 2351 m of Pico Mountain, the highest peak in Portugal, promises pure adventure and a great reward.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your A Casa do Ouvidor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Casa Do Ouvidor Pico/Sao Roque Do Pico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing