We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed opinions”
Review of Marazion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marazion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Marazion
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, England
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mixed opinions”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We spent four days here last week, the hotel was quite nice & our room was excellent, over looking Mount St Michael, however, we were left without hand towels one day & only one bath towel another day, the third day the toilet paper ran put (good job I had some with us) got a bit fed up asking for items to be provided!
The dIning room & bar staff were friendly & helpful but we weren't very impressed with the management, when I paid the bill when we left, which was over £600, I was barely given a thank you, no hope you enjoyed your visit etc.

The food available in the restaurant was quite good with a varied menu, however the breakfast available was a bit limited, I asked for two boiled eggs one morning, they were cooked perfectly but unfortunately served 15 mins apart!

Would I stay there again? Probably not.

Room Tip: Choose a room over looking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PKn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    105
    21
    8
    7
See reviews for
69
192
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Somerset Uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We returned in june for are 3 time at this hotel, as I have said above it just keeps getting better each time we visit. We have in the past stayed in rooms 4 and 2 both have good sea views, this time we had room 3 . Personally it was the best for me, perhaps not such a good sea view but the layout of the room suited us.
The staff were as good as ever, welcoming us back and taking care of all are needs, for all of are 6 nights we eat each evening in the hotel, the standard of service and quality of the food could not be faulted.
So pleased were we that we are now planning to return in september.
If you are looking for a hotel were service comes first look no further than the Marazion Hotel.

Room Tip: A sea view room is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 24642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deanshanger, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Called here for a meal as they were able to cater for my partner who has a gluten allergy, we both had the trio of fish which was one of the nicest meals I have had,followed by the the gooseberry crumble yum yum staff were really friendly and also had a cracking pint at a reasonable price would recommend a visit

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

My wife & I visited the area again this year. We found the Marazion Hotel and Coffee Lounge and excellent place to have our midday lunch. The coffee lounge is run by a very friendly and efficient lady called Sarah, who did everything to make our visit enjoyable. The coffee lounge offers up to 5 different soups, all made on site, which are absolutely delicious. Other items such as quiches are also available. The coffee lounge overlooks the town square, which in turn looks out to St Michael's Mount. We also took advantage of the main restaurant on two separate occasions for an evening meal. The menu is quite extensive, with specials available. I had fish on both occasions and was not disappointed. we were admirably looked after by Becky, whose bubbly demeanour added to our enjoyment over the evening. Excellent food and good value. A car park is available at the rear of the hotel. we shall certainly make use of these facilities when we hopefully return next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanroyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The Accommodation

Stephanie who owns this hotel is obviously very much attuned to the building and location as this has been sensitively designed throughout to modernise without losing natural features. We really loved it.

Creams, soft greens and exposed brick, with solid wood and brass combine to give a really natural feel to the public rooms. The coffee lounge has pieces from a ship wreck which form the counter and shelving and the ships’ wheels and portholes somehow blend this hotel with the very essence of Marazion and the sea.

This is also a place that hasn’t gone down the ‘cool’ route of endless polished floors and most areas are carpeted. The advantage? Yes, you can hear each other and there is no noise that disturbs those upstairs in the bedrooms. All the decor combines to give a relaxed and comfortable aura to the hotel

And then you are shown to your room. Well we had rooms 2,3 and 4 and they were all lovely. Room 2 is superb, in creams and white with a throw and cushions in the blue greens of the sea. A soft and cosy 6’ bed doesn’t dwarf this large and airy room and there is still space for two comfortable easy chairs, from which to take in the beautiful view of St Michael’s Mount.

The rooms have ample storage and lots of thoughtful extras even to a basket for recycling. The bathrooms are modern with electric showers and in room 2 there is a wonderful mosaic in the middle of the homey coloured tiles.

Room 3 is slightly smaller with twin beds and a large modern power shower instead of a bath and room 4 is another double again with a sea view. These are really tasteful and comfortable bedrooms.

The Food

Home cooked English breakfasts, with endless supplies of fresh and HOT toast and tea and coffee served by friendly staff. The special feature for this meal is the supply of freshly prepared fruits and yoghurts which were a lovely touch.

Evening meals were good, plain English food, with some fish dishes and a few different specialities. The food was well-cooked and presented and there were wines to suit us all.

The dining room is informal and with a relaxed and homely feeling – not perhaps for those wanting an ‘a la carte feel’ to their dining, but somewhere to relax with friends.

The bar is next door and people wander in and out between the restaurant and bar, but as you wind down, this is part of the charm. Locals come and frequent the small cosy bar, along with some of the staff and you soon feel part of the Marazion family.

There is also the coffee lounge serving soups, daily specials and of course beautiful home-made cakes. This is a real treat and one of the best 'tea-rooms' we have ever been in.

The Location

We stayed here for 5 days – a disparate group from a 12 year old to an octogenarian and we all loved this hotel and the place generally. We watched the fresh fish and groceries arrive, heard the Doombar roll in and watched the tide wash in and out over the causeway to St Michael’s Mount.

All the local shops are friendly and there are a number of places to eat with a variety of menus from bar food to modern English haute cuisine. The little town has a unique and almost mystical charm.

The Marazion Hotel staff are really friendly and will do anything they can to help, without ever intruding on your peace and relaxation. This is a really lovely place to unwind and get away from it all.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view and Room 2 is lovely! There is no lift, but the first floor rooms are f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drag0n555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crawley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed in May for 3 nights in family room. Room was good, clean, spacious enough. TV needed attention and WiFI never worked but then we didn't go to Cornwall for TV or internet so no big deal. Food was good and good value for money with sensible portions, including food for our two toddlers (all at no extra charge). The bar was off the restaurant but only used the restaurant (for breakfast and had one evening meal there too). Service good. No complaints at all.
One downside was leaving the room key at reception in clear view (nobody was ever on reception, you had to ring a bell if you needed something - so obvious danger that the key could be taken by anyone anytime).
Car park was decent size and free so was a plus for us too. Would return if ever down in Cornwall again. Bus stops right outside door which is also good if fed up driving.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We stayed a week. Very friendly and helpful staff. Our room had a good view of St Michaels Mount with its ever-changing lighting and magical causeway ( sometimes there and sometimes not!)

There was enough variation in the evening meal menu for us to eat in each night (even though we don't eat meat!). The hotel had a Caribbean event on the Friday night and we were re-located most comfortably in the cafe - with the normal menu but allowed Jamaican bananas in caramel/rum sauce with ice cream as dessert.

Marazion is a good centre with easy access to St Ives and the Lizard peninsula. Go to the National Trust at Godolphin - amazing primroses when we visited.

We would go back to this hotel again

Room Tip: Local traffic is quite noisy if you have the front room window open - however it didn't seem to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robbar47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marazion
2.6 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
798 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
458 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,633 reviews
5.2 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
4.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marazion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marazion Hotel

Property: Marazion Hotel
Address: The Square, Marazion TR17 0AP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Marazion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Marazion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marazion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a stay at our relaxing hotel located in the heart of the beautiful town of Marazion in Cornwall. We have rooms with views over St Michael's Mount and we are only one hundred metres from one of the safest and most fabulous beaches in Cornwall. We offer our guests an informal and relaxed atmosphere with a reputation for high-quality service, combined with excellent value for money. The Marazion Hotel has 11 en-suite rooms, restaurant, bar, coffee lounge, free guest parking and free Wi-Fi internet access. The 'Cutty Sark' is our fully licensed public bar serving local beers and wines. Our restaurant, specialising in local produce, serves lunch and dinner seven days a week. Our Coffee Lounge overlooks Marazion's Square and provides a great place to relax and watch the world go by whilst enjoying freshly prepared coffee and home made cakes or cream teas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Marazion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marazion Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing