We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Marazion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marazion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Marazion
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Chosen because of reports on TripAdvisor and followed recommendation of taking a sea view room. Room itself and the view was excellent over the bay and St Michaels' Mount but level of cleaning could be improved - it doesn't always pay to look up behind the curtains! Breakfast was adequate without being "filling" and dinner in the restaurant could not be faulted for quality but vegetables rather lacking in quantity. Acid test "would I go again?": Yes!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    102
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
65
184
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

My partner and I were originally hoping to stay in Mousehole but sadly fully booked for the weekend we wanted. Having checked 'romantic' hotels I found, by chance, the Marazion Hotel which had availability and a sea view - result!! I was however, somewhat sceptical it must be said ...

Not going into endless reams of detail, suffice to say the hotel, it's staff and owner were brilliant! It's not modern 5* Corporate style but has its own unique charm, most importantly, clean, comfortable, with all the basics and little 'extras' such as toiletries, tea coffee biscuits etc. which is refreshing for a small hotel in these days of cutbacks. The owner made sure we were comfortable and accommodated my requests for flowers in the room when we arrived etc. etc.. We ate both nights at the hotel and found the food to be well cooked, well presented and perhaps whilst not to achieve an automatic Michelin star, was excellent as was breakfast!!

We cannot finish this review without a special mention about our 'waitress' Emma - what a delightful girl, full of character full of charm and even at her 'young' age certainly knows how to deal with the 'public' given said public acts in a reasonable and civilised fashion! Enough said ...

So, a great find in a great location, great staff and was it romantic ... well yes, definitely! Would we go back ... yes definitely!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnJules2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

The staff were very polite, friendly and helpful.
The room was nice and the location really good.
We stayed for 3 nights and the breakfast was consistently good every morning (cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, toast and full English breakfast or vegetarian breakfast or a choice of differently cooked eggs).
We ate in the restaurant for 2 of the nights and the food was to a very high standard and just like the breakfast was served on hot plates.
We want to say thank you to Paul and all his team for making our break so relaxing and memorable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKTraveller090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We were staying at another hotel in Marazion where the food was not good, so we thought we'd try the Marazion. The food was great, the service was superb with extremely pleasant waitresses and the atmosphere was delightful. Can't comment on the hotel itself, nor the rooms

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank varosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We spent four days here last week, the hotel was quite nice & our room was excellent, over looking Mount St Michael, however, we were left without hand towels one day & only one bath towel another day, the third day the toilet paper ran put (good job I had some with us) got a bit fed up asking for items to be provided!
The dIning room & bar staff were friendly & helpful but we weren't very impressed with the management, when I paid the bill when we left, which was over £600, I was barely given a thank you, no hope you enjoyed your visit etc.

The food available in the restaurant was quite good with a varied menu, however the breakfast available was a bit limited, I asked for two boiled eggs one morning, they were cooked perfectly but unfortunately served 15 mins apart!

Would I stay there again? Probably not.

Room Tip: Choose a room over looking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PKn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset Uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We returned in june for are 3 time at this hotel, as I have said above it just keeps getting better each time we visit. We have in the past stayed in rooms 4 and 2 both have good sea views, this time we had room 3 . Personally it was the best for me, perhaps not such a good sea view but the layout of the room suited us.
The staff were as good as ever, welcoming us back and taking care of all are needs, for all of are 6 nights we eat each evening in the hotel, the standard of service and quality of the food could not be faulted.
So pleased were we that we are now planning to return in september.
If you are looking for a hotel were service comes first look no further than the Marazion Hotel.

Room Tip: A sea view room is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 24642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deanshanger, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Called here for a meal as they were able to cater for my partner who has a gluten allergy, we both had the trio of fish which was one of the nicest meals I have had,followed by the the gooseberry crumble yum yum staff were really friendly and also had a cracking pint at a reasonable price would recommend a visit

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marazion
0.5 mi away
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant
2.6 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
5.6 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
3.1 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marazion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marazion Hotel

Property: Marazion Hotel
Address: The Square, Marazion TR17 0AP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Marazion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Marazion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marazion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a stay at our relaxing hotel located in the heart of the beautiful town of Marazion in Cornwall. We have rooms with views over St Michael's Mount and we are only one hundred metres from one of the safest and most fabulous beaches in Cornwall. We offer our guests an informal and relaxed atmosphere with a reputation for high-quality service, combined with excellent value for money. The Marazion Hotel has 11 en-suite rooms, restaurant, bar, coffee lounge, free guest parking and free Wi-Fi internet access. The 'Cutty Sark' is our fully licensed public bar serving local beers and wines. Our restaurant, specialising in local produce, serves lunch and dinner seven days a week. Our Coffee Lounge overlooks Marazion's Square and provides a great place to relax and watch the world go by whilst enjoying freshly prepared coffee and home made cakes or cream teas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Marazion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marazion Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing