We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Selective treatment” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kings Arms

The Kings Arms
Ranked #2 of 19 Restaurants in Marazion
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Kings Arms at Marazion is a small, friendly pub that serves great food every day of the week alongside a selection of real ales from St Austell Brewery. Our menu, created by enthusiastic head chef Andy and his team, features only the best ingredients from local Cornish sources with all meals freshly prepared for you to enjoy. We have a comfortable, intimate bar with a warming log fire for colder evenings. Our outside seating area is a fantastic sun trap in the summer months and a very pleasant place to sit and chat with friends or enjoy a meal from our extensive menu. You will find the Kings Arms right in the heart of Marazion, just five minutes from the beach.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Selective treatment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We went to the Kings Arms on the National Trust 60th anniversary. We tried to order food and were politely declined due to how busy they were. This was fine, this is a busy night for obvious reasons. What wasn't fine is the fact that another group, who were also sitting outside and arrived much later than us, were allowed to order food.

A note to the management at the Kings Arms—stick to the same story for all customers or you risk offending other customers such as us.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    177
    44
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Markfield, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Cracking little place. We were looking for our evening meal (2 adults + 2 under 10's) and this place was just the job. Great menu, great food, great atmosphere, great service (nice pints too!).

Helpful?
Thank nostawnitram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We tried to get in to Ben's Cornish Kitchen for an early evening dinner with two kids but they only serve from 7pm. But thanks to their recommendation we tried the King's Arms instead.

The food at the King's Arms was excellent. I can still taste the crab with chilli talliatelli. Probably the best dish of the holiday.

Service was as good as the food. They found us a table between the reservations in the small dining room that has character.

We would definitely go back there.

Helpful?
1 Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent quality food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Had Sunday lunch today, busy place, not loads of room inside, but plenty of tables outside. I would suggest pre booking if you want to sit inside. Fantastic quality food from what looks like just a normal pub but serves way better food than you would think. It's slightly pricey, but not over priced, but worth the money. Good selection of beers to choose from. St Austell brewery beers.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great pub grub in a great local pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We ate in the pub twice in the last week both occasions with our dog and grand kids. Great fish pies and fish and chips for the kids. This pub has a lovely local feel to it and being a foreigner you are made to feel welcome by the locals which can't be said for some pubs in Cornwall. We really like it here.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DebandJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kings Arms also viewed

 
Marazion, Cornwall
 

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing